Women turn on ‘traitor’ Oprah Winfrey for backing Barack Obama – Oprah fans leave a barrage of negative messages on her official website in response to the talk show host’s support of Obama

Tony Allen-Mills, New York

AMERICA’S favourite television presenter is paying a painful price for her intervention in the US presidential campaign last month. Oprah Winfrey has been dubbed a “traitor” by some of her female fans for supporting Barack Obama instead of Hillary Clinton. Winfrey’s website, Oprah.com, has been flooded with a barrage of abuse since the queen of daytime chat shows joined Obama on a tour of Iowa, New Hampshire and South Carolina in mid-December. Her intervention was widely credited with broadening Obama’s national appeal – especially among women – and with helping him to an upset victory over Clinton in the first vote of the election year in Iowa.

oprah-and-obama_353x249

We hope that our Barbadian audience can forgive us if we digress from writing about all the excitement which has unfolded locally over the past week. The Barack Obama and Hillary Clinton dog fight has intrigued us no end. The fact that Obama has transformed his campaign from that of the underdog to one of a legitimate contender is a credit to his perceived intelligence and charisma by mainstream America. It is no mean feat for a black man to appeal to a wide cross-section of the American vote i.e. Whites and Hispanics.

One of the many side-bar issues which has surfaced in the current run-off for the Democratic nomination for President of the United States is Oprah deciding to throw her influence and money behind the Obama camp. We hate to use terms like liberals and conservatives so we will simple say: people in some quarters are arguing that Oprah Winfrey has betrayed all the women who support her show because she decided to support the man Obama. Have you ever heard such rubbish? Here we have Oprah Winfrey who is reputed to be one of the richest people in the world. We assume that she was able to build her fortune because she would have exercised her brain. She has never given us the impression that she is the type of woman who makes her decisions on her back. Yet we have ‘smug America’ attacking this icon because she has decided to exercise her democratic right to back who the hell she pleases.

Now that we have gotten that off our chest let us bring a more reasoned argument.

As far back as July 2004, there is evidence that Oprah had publicly expressed her love for the IIinois Senator Barack Obama. In other words, the decision for Oprah to support Obama was not made yesterday. A member of the BU household recalls one of the many interviews which Oprah had with Senator Obama when she urged him to inform her if he ever decided to run for President of the United States. She was more than clear then to the world, as she is now, that she had fallen in love with the debonair and smooth talking gentleman from Chicago. For those narrow minded and irrational minds who are saying that Oprah is taking a risk that her predominantly white female following will desert her, we say in a loud voice, WHO THE HELL CARES? The last time we checked Oprah was on the Forbes World’s Richest Magazine list of billionaires for crying out loud.

The BU household would like to ask Oprah why she prefers Obama over Clinton, for the record. Maybe, if we are lucky she or a member of her staff might stumble on our little blog and give us the answer. Back to why we feel Oprah would never endorse Senator Hillary Clinton. Do you remember that little incident when President Clinton got his ‘nuts’ looked after by Monica? President Clinton lied about it until he was forced to ‘come’ clean. Do you also remember that Oprah has told the world about the sexual abuse which she experienced as a teenager? Do you think Oprah can have much respect for a woman who remained married to a man whose exploits as an adulter trail him all the way from Arkansas to Washington? Will never happen!

The reaction by White America to Oprah Winfrey supporting a candidate of her choice, who just happens to be black is insightful in the year 2008. On the day America celebrated the birthday of Martin Luther King, the United States of America which was built from the sweat of immigrants, Black, White and Yellow is still being embarrassed by the racial divide.

44 responses to “Why Can't Oprah Winfrey Support The Barack Obama Campaign?”

1. Oprah will have to back off. Money is one thing but power is a whole different ball game.

2. Hating Your Own Colour Avatar
    Hating Your Own Colour

BU,

Why is any of that your business?

Too malicious, if you ask me.

It has nothing to do with Barbados.

How many American blogs did you seem following elections in Barbados and debating whether it was time for change or not?

What mirror image do you have of yourself?

3. Hating Your Own Colour Avatar
    Hating Your Own Colour

Oh, maybe now that your DLP government is in power you are trying to divert public attention away from the job at hand. That could be the reason.

4. I live in the northeast U.S. and I think it’s a good thing for people everywhere to be engaged in discussions about our presidential election and the candidates. I will also disclose that I am white and female. I have never watched Oprah’s television show because I don’t watch much television at all. This country has been tested for the last 7 years and we have one more year of being ruled by an administration that makes up the rules as it goes. Having a woman and an African American run for office is a VERY big deal for this country. The world will see first hand just how racist and sexist this country is. I am very sad to say that, but…it’s a fact. I encourage EVERYONE to comment on how they view this election (as I write this I am listening to MLK Jr. on the radio…his “I have a dream” speech…I don’t know what kind of women watch the Oprah show but it is counter-productive for these listeners to criticize her for who she chooses to support….she can support whomever she wants and for whatever reason she wants. Nobody’s business but her own! And thanks for this forum….I love Barbados and will return again next year for our holiday….been visiting your wonderful country for over 15 years….

5. BU You have given the significant piece of info as to why Sister Oprah supports Senator Obama, and next year time like this, when President Obama is president of the US we can say that our little blog was influential in helping him to become the president of the US. I watch Oprah religiously, and I urge everyone to watch her show if it shows in your part of the world. It is worth jammed packed hour fun and information.

6. Adrian Loveridge Rolling in $$$Dough$$$ Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge Rolling in $$$Dough$$$

There is not a thing wrong with making money in Barbados.

Even if you are a white foreigner who comes to these blogs complaining about former government ministers getting PENSIONS!

Of course, we do not begrudge Mr. Loveridge his $135,000+ per month business income. He invested his money and time into the old Arawak Hotel and turned it into Peach and Quiet that most black Bajans cannot afford to stay at.

It’s just that when you yourself are raking in that kind of money, it seems a bit unfair that you should appear to want former government workers (who are BLACK BAJANS) to get nothing.

Maybe that’s because of the policy you have for your own maids and gardeners.

7. BU, some of the people on here can talk so much crap sometimes, that it’s worth framing to see just how stupid people can be.

BU, if u want to divert from talking about Bim, for a while, there’s absolutely, nothing the matter with that. We’ve got the whole of the rest of eternity to spend on events in Bim!

Don’t take any notice of the nutters. I apprecite the little diversion. It gives me a chance to vent my spleen about Oprah, for a while. While admiring her success – mind u, in my opinion she could never have achieved it in the UK, because the standard of education here is so much higher than appears to be the case in the US – her images of herself looking more like a white woman than a black one has put me off, for years!

Her self-delusion and perceived, deluding of others – seeming to be ‘white just like them’, has come back to bite her behind, now. White women are beginning to realise that she really, is a BLACK woman and wishes to see a BLACK man, do well, and are disappointed!

Of course, then there’ll be the sexists who will think she should support Hillary, just because she’s a woman. A very, misguided and idiotic, notion!

Anyhow, fortunately for her, she’s already made her money, so it does n’t, so much matter what anybody thinks!

8. Well said, Sister Baby. Even though I don’t like her ‘white looks’, I have to admit that her shows are among the most enjoyable I’ve ever seen on tv!

9. “we do not begrudge Mr. Loveridge his $135,000+ per month business income”

aside from the accuracy of this income figure ( which I highly doubt ) its not what you gross but what you get to take home after you have paid all the bills and tax ( the net ). A gross figure is not only deliberately misleading its dishonest.

How about giving us Peter Odles gross plus government incentives. The maybe we can compare apples with apples.

10. reality check,

BU has deleted the first comment where it was explained how the calculation was done.

The $135,000 is a conservative calculation, even though it assumes full occupancy, because it is for room rates only and does not include food, drinks, rental of the marriage room etc.

If BU prefers to suppress the information, no problem… Cat P i s s and Pepper blog will take it for sure.

Remember that all this information came from the Peach and Quiet website.

I don’t know exactly which property he owns, but it was not Peter Odle who came on this blog complaining about the pensions that former MPs/ministers are to receive.

11. Adrian Loveridge Rolling in $$$Dough$$$ // January 21, 2008 at 10:45 pm

We do not know what the expenses are but….

Peach and Quiet Hotel Rates

http://www.peachandquiet.com/

22 rooms in total

Ocean View Rooms = US $109 per day (VAT not included)

Garden View Rooms = US $99 per day (VAT not included)

DAILY MAXIMUM AT FULL OCCUPANCY

22 rooms @ US $109 = US $2,398 (BDS $4,796)

DAILY MIMIMUM AT FULL OCCUPANCY

22 rooms @ US $99 = US $2,178 (BDS $4,356)

At full occupancy, Loveridge is raking in around BDS $4,500 PER DAY from room rates alone. That’s a whopping BDS $135,000 a month (30 days).

Note: Accra Beach Hotel allows FREE CHARGE for children under 12 years sharing a room with 2 adults.

Peach and Quiet does not allow children under 12. (This reduces hotel cost because there are no children to feed.)

Methinks that more black Bajans should pool together and open a hotel. Very lucrative indeed, nuh?

12. reality check,

BU has deleted the post with the calculation where it said that the EXPENSES are unknown. But remember that this was only the room rates and the hotel would have other income.

22 rooms

Some at US $109 a day.

Some at US $99 a day.

Use an average of US $104 a day (BDS $208), multiply it by 22 rooms, and multiply it by 30 days in a month.

$208 x 22 x 30 = $137,280

No need to get any exact figure… we know that we are dealing somewhere in the region on $135,000 a month… the itself website says they are fully booked.

13. If you want to use the lower figure of $99 then the amount is…

$198 x 22 x 30 = BDS $130,680 per month.

Loveridge is making good money.

Certainly his hotel is pulling in more in ONE MONTH than any of those former government people will get in pensions for a WHOLE YEAR.

14. People will come and tell you that these blogs are for free speech.

But when black people start to point out the amount of money that rich white foreigners like Loveridge are getting, what do you think they will want to do to us except silence us… perhaps for good?

What happens when you mix these three elements?

VINDICTIVENESS + MONEY + POWER

Only the last one is lacking.

15. I would love to work at Oprah’s house as her cook. I would make for her salt fish fried up with onions and tomatoes served with a nice side of fou fou. For desert sapodilla ice cream topped with goose berry syrup. I love Oprah, and it makes me sad that people would take it upon themselves to call her a traitor, but consider had she supported Mrs. Clinton then some people would have come out and said that she had forsaken her race. I pray that the Lord will protect Senator Obama and his lovely family. I have seen the Senator and his lovely wife Michelle on Oprah’s show and I can tell Michelle is a concerned as any wife would be for her husband.

16. […] justjudith wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptWomen turn on ‘traitor’ Oprah Winfrey for backing Barack Obama – Oprah fans leave a barrage of negative messages on her official website in response to the talk show host’s support of Obama Tony Allen-Mills, New York AMERICA’S favourite … […]

17. […] Kyle Drennen wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptWomen turn on ‘traitor’ Oprah Winfrey for backing Barack Obama – Oprah fans leave a barrage of negative messages on her official website in response to the talk show host’s support of Obama Tony Allen-Mills, New York AMERICA’S favourite … Read the rest of this great post here Posted by […]

18. Obviously those women who oppose Oprah are stupid. If a “black” can get elected then, women would be in a better position. Why you may ask?? Well with a black as president a women in any of the major positions would easily follow, psychological the idea is “a black man became president why can’t I be…” Doesn’t quite work the other way around if a white women is president, sure it’s great for women, but is unlikely to make it easier for minorities.

So to stretch it further….A gay,female, minority, 1st generation American for president. That’s what I call knocking down barriers.

19. […] David wrote an interesting post today on Why Can’t Oprah Winfrey Support The Barack Obama Campaign?Here’s a quick excerptWomen turn on ‘traitor’ Oprah Winfrey for backing Barack Obama – Oprah fans leave a barrage of negative messages on her official website in response to the talk show host’s support of Obama Tony Allen-Mills, New York AMERICA’S favourite … […]

20. Why would you vote for anyone based solely on either their colour or sex?? The whole premise is ridiculous.

21. TIGI says:

Having a woman and an African American run for office is a VERY big deal for this country.
    ===========================

Why would this be a big deal? what is a big deal?

TIGI SAYS:
    The world will see first hand just how racist and sexist this country is. I am very sad to say that, but…it’s a fact.
    =============================

….are you making the case that America is the only country where racism exist? Do you think that other countries have a legitimate right to point fingers at America for racism?

America does not need a Woman or a Black President, America needs a competent President, as any other democratic country needs a competent Leader, whatever the sex or colour that competent person comes in. King/queen making on these frivolous reasons hardly ever gets us the person that may be best suited to the job. What really is the Job of the President of the United States?

…..I would say this, I believe the Clinton Campaign is the source of these angry emails to Oprah for her support of Obama. The racist stuff that has been comming from her campaign and supporters both black and white gives renewed credence to those who believe that white liberal democrats always talk a good game of being supportive of blacks, but can never ever deliver the results.

22. The reaction by White America to Oprah Winfrey supporting a candidate of her choice, who just happens to be black is insightful in the year 2008. On the day America celebrated the birthday of Martin Luther King, the United States of America which was built from the sweat of immigrants, Black, White and Yellow is still being embarrassed by the racial divide

Please do not condemn ALL of WHITE AMERICA. Obama as a relative new comer to politics in America is enjoying unpresidented support all across America. His successes so far and the buzz he has created is phenominal. Is race and issue? of course it is but it’s not the only issue nor is it the biggest issue. I have maintain that Obama is where he is only as a result of the relative success of the “Surge” in Iraq which has significantly lowered the number of US casualties there to the point that Iraq is at this point not front page news in America. If he wins the Democratic primaries you can bet that the republicans will orchestrate either and uptick in voilence in Iraq or bring about a skirmish with Iran, to force that region back into the news, and use that opportunity to question Obama on his foriegn policy experience and intent. The Clintons are not and have never been nice people, these people believe that the white house belongs to them that will do whatever it takes to defeat Obama.
    What we are seeing is the entrenched attitude of Washington inside democrats, they don’t care for people, black, white or democrat who threathens their hold on power, and Barak is doing just that by attempting to deny Hillary her coronation. Things are changing across counties in America, blacks are progressing, Black Enterprise says that Blacks have a combine speding power of over 50-60 billion dollars making them a strategic market for corporate America, ignore them at the expense of your company’s botton line. The State of Massachusetts with it’s storied past last year elected a black govenor who won in every voting district and won handsomely. Governor Deval Patrick who is supporting Obama and is actively campaiging for him, there are both from chicago, has called the Clintons whom he worked for during Bill Presidency to inform them of his decision, ….they have not return his called and recently we have seen Clinton democrat supporters in the Massauchsetts state Democratic party and who are part of the state legislature starting to make life difficult for the govenor. They are over 4 million marriages in this country of mixed race, so don’t condemn all Whites it simply is not true and not fair. This is a Democratic party fight at this stage between Obama and Hillary, and what you are witnessing is the real attitude of liberals who talk a good game only of inclusiveness. Why blacks continue to put all their eggs in the Democratic basket while other ethnicities, and minorites spread their support between the Republicans and Democrats continues to amaze me.

23. I agree that we need a competent president but it is STILL a big deal that a woman and an African American are running because it is a first! By no means are we the only racist country. There is still a lot of work to be done all round. And…racism is a two way street. Minorities come in all colors….all colors

24. ….are you making the case that America is the only country where racism exist? Do you think that other countries have a legitimate right to point fingers at America for racism?

America does not need a Woman or a Black President, America needs a competent President, as any other democratic country needs a competent Leader, whatever the sex or colour that competent person comes in. King/queen making on these frivolous reasons hardly ever gets us the person that may be best suited to the job. What really is the Job of the President of the United States?

Adrian do you disregard how someone like Tiger Woods and Michael Jordan have been able to uplift the black race through their performance of sustain excellence? In the case of Obama it is a big deal that he is black as well as competent. A black man in the White House could act as a watershed for the black race of the WORLD.

25. […] Airways being forced to carry surfboards, Barbados Underground is running with a story about Barack Obama and Oprah Winfrey . It’s too early for the government to have done anything stupid yet so they aren’t […]

26. David says:
    Adrian do you disregard how someone like Tiger Woods and Michael Jordan have been able to uplift the black race through their performance of sustain excellence? In the case of Obama it is a big deal that he is black as well as competent. A black man in the White House could act as a watershed for the black race of the WORLD.

I don’t agree that Tiger wood and or Michael Jackson has uplifted anyone. If you say that their achievements provide the impetus for others to strife and reach higher then i will agree. Do you think that these black atheletes only serve to inspire blacks? The answer is no, then why after all this time and education we must continue to believe that only Blacks can inspire blacks? not that it is a bad thing or something not to be desired, I just think that to have a black president for the simple reason of inspiring other blacks, trivialize the position and it’s importants to all Americans. Anyway we can stop discussing Obama run because as we speak the Clintons and the democratic party that so many around the world and in America loves, is set to destroy Obama. The only use the white liberal democrats have for Blacks is to be hte group for which they can have photo ops to show that that they care when they don’t. Blacks are only invited to the democratic party as hired help, how dare they attempt to act as invited guest or the Host.

27. Adrian do you disregard how someone like Tiger Woods and Michael Jordan have been able to uplift the black race through their performance of sustain excellence? In the case of Obama it is a big deal that he is black as well as competent. A black man in the White House could act as a watershed for the black race of the WORLD.

Once again, I find myself agreeing almost, completely with Adrian. To me it’s a myth that the mere fact of the president of the US being a black man would inspire anybody to being better at anything!

If that were the case, we already have eminent black people but it has n’t stopped far too, many of our people being mired in crime and a whole host of unsavoury matters!

I think it’s a nice, comforting thought which we like to embrace but in reality, would make no difference at all. In fact, quite often we’d probably be in disagreement with whatever action he implemented or was proposing and would wonder why on earth we ever put him there!

No, as Adrian said, and I have stated as well, before, the important thing is to have an intelligent and competent, President, the right person for the job! That’s not to say that he could n’t be a black man, or woman, but let’s not elect a person just on the basis of his colour. That would be a very, bad mistake.

I voted for Maggie Thatcher just because she was a woman and have regretted it, ever since!!!!

28. a lot of famous Americans are supporting Senator Obama in bid to become US President. Of course, Sista Oprah, and then there are Halle Berry, Matt Damon, Will Smith, Eddie Murphy, Jennifer Anniston, Scarlett Johanson, George Cloney. Well Bimbro I always vote according to the person’s ancestry, in Guyana I am a PNC, in BGI I am a BLP and in Trini I am a PNM and in America it’s Obama, YEAH but then again I am Guyanese.

29. And while you are talking about Senator Obama’s competence and his beautiful blackness, lets not forget the woman behind this man, his lovely wife Michelle. Michelle trained as an attorney at Harvard University and worked for a prestigious law firm, before become head of University of Chicago’s office of financial management. And besides, Tiger and Michael, lets not leave out Dr. Charles Drew, the inventor blood plasma, the late Mr. John Johnson founder of Ebony/Jet and his lovely wife Eunice, who founded Fashion Fair Cosmetics, and Mr. Johnson founder and head of BET, Mrs. Mary McLoud Bethune-foundress of Bethune Cookman College, Diane Carroll first black American to have a TV show—and the thousands of African Americans who have led the way for all of us, and I mean all the people in America, because if it was not for Dr. Drew there wouldbe no blood plasma.

30. Sister Baby // January 23, 2008 at 8:06 am

a lot of famous Americans are supporting Senator Obama in bid to become US President. Of course, Sista Oprah, and then there are Halle Berry, Matt Damon, Will Smith, Eddie Murphy, Jennifer Anniston, Scarlett Johanson, George Cloney. Well Bimbro I always vote according to the person’s ancestry, in Guyana I am a PNC, in BGI I am a BLP and in Trini I am a PNM and in America it’s Obama, YEAH but then again I am Guyanese.
    ==============================

A lot of famous Americans like the entertainers you refer too, are also famously stupid.

31. Adrian Hinds // January 23, 2008 at 10:56 am

Sister Baby // January 23, 2008 at 8:06 am

a lot of famous Americans are supporting Senator Obama in bid to become US President. Of course, Sista Oprah, and then there are Halle Berry, Matt Damon, Will Smith, Eddie Murphy, Jennifer Anniston, Scarlett Johanson, George Cloney. Well Bimbro I always vote according to the person’s ancestry, in Guyana I am a PNC, in BGI I am a BLP and in Trini I am a PNM and in America it’s Obama, YEAH but then again I am Guyanese.
    ==============================

A lot of famous Americans like the entertainers you refer too, are also famously stupid.

Got to agree, with Adrian there, Eddie Murphy bieng but, one!

Not sure how much it’s in his true interests to have some of those people allied with his campaign!!!!

32. The US already has had a woman and a black woman at than run for President. That woman was also born to a Bardadian mother and a Guyanese father in Brooklyn NY and that woman was Congress woman Shirley Chisholm. There was also Geraldine Feraaro who made an attempt in the 80’s. So no big deal.

33. let me ask you a question of national importance. Can you imagine a Barbados with out flying fish, pot fish or any of the small fish that are caught off our coral reefs.
    what about a barbados where every fishing boat and every pleasure boat is pull up on the beaches because the owners are bankrupt.
    what if they are bankrupt because shell was drilling off our coast and polluted the reefs like they did the farmlands of Gibbons Boggs.

Maybe you can stop it, you can lend a voice. you can help us to maintain the ecological balance of this small nation

what if all of this is because Shell

34. Arrindel // January 27, 2008 at 11:52 pm

let me ask you a question of national importance. Can you imagine a Barbados with out flying fish, pot fish or any of the small fish that are caught off our coral reefs.
    what about a barbados where every fishing boat and every pleasure boat is pull up on the beaches because the owners are bankrupt.
    what if they are bankrupt because shell was drilling off our coast and polluted the reefs like they did the farmlands of Gibbons Boggs.

Maybe you can stop it, you can lend a voice. you can help us to maintain the ecological balance of this small nation

what if all of this is because Shell

What’s this nutter, going-on about, & did he suddenly, need to run to the loo i.e. toiltet!!!!

Some people!!!!

35. […] Why Can’t Oprah Winfrey Support The Barack Obama Campaign? […]

36. Like Ophra Winfrey, Mahatma Gandhi, Martin Luther King Jr, Nelson Mandela, and Mikhail Gorbachev, Barack Obama is a man of passion, integrity, vision, and love.
    Remember this:

————————–
    no dream + no hope + no faith + no self-knowledge + no mindset change + no integrity + no passion + no trust + no love = NO SUSTAINABLE CHANGE
    ————————–

Also Remember this:
    ——————————
    Dream it, hope it, believe it, fix it in your mind, visualize it, accept it, respond to it with love, passion, and integrity, give your peak performance to it and you will achieve it
    —————————–
    .. >>read more at http://rampersad.wordpress.com/2008/02/23/46/

37. If you want to see funny animated skits with Oprah And Obama Go to http://youtube.com/watch?v=W5Kboa7kSjU

38. I couldn’t possibly understand the latest talks coming from the Clinton camp about Obama running as Vice Pres.

I think this is a clear move by the Clinton campaign to say “okay we know we will loose the election” nut because Obama ‘lacks experience’ it is best for the party to have Mrs Clinton run for Pres and Obama for VP. What utter nonsense.

Obama is a teacher of law / public servant / senator / and well versed in management of the public service……………obama is charismatic, articulate and forward thinking……….Obama is my man for Pres of USA.

Is Clinton the same lady who was married to the former Pres who shagged Lewinsky in the White House? and still married to the man who blatantly lied through his teeth about the affiar with Lewinsky? Is she still married to the man who lied to billions of TV audience on live television?

Common wake up Ameria! It’s time for a change as Obama says.

Vote Obama………..he is the man who can beat McCainne……………….republicans know that Mrs Clinton is incapable of beating John McCainne……..but Obama will easily walkover McCain.

39. I think that Obama is arrogant…and this will be his downfall amongst educated, well-rounded, mature and informed American voters.

I also believe that websites like the one listed below could ultimately determine why more and more Democrats will defect to John McCain’s camp.

Unfortunately for Obama, there is little about Obama that a website like the one below says that can be refuted…that is, unless you’ve flunked Philosphy 101 in college,or never got to college in the first place.

Check it out: http://www.chilkootmarketing.com/index.htm

What can be done?

Sooner or later all of us will have to reckon with our conscience and higher intellectual powers and when this occures we will invariably be forced to choose between either ‘principle’ or the physical attributes of the other candidate.

Which candidate is traveling down the wrong road on critical issues?

Which do you think will win out, come November?

‘Higher principles’ or the ‘physical’ attributes of a particular candidate?

Predictably, older voters will vote in favor of ‘principle’… obviously, because they are more concerned about what happens after death and the legacy they will leave behind.

In contrast, the younger voters, since they have more time left in life to recant, are more likely to be reckless and procrastinate with any decision in favor of principle, and will likely vote in favor of ‘idealism’…

…and these are the young and youthful voters that Obama appeals to and also why a lot of us older folks see Obama as ‘the Pied Piper of the niave’.

However, (which is the next question that begs itself): ‘When does Barack’s own conscience begin to bother him?’

Personally, I think Obama needs to start thinking about what he can do to ‘remake’ his image if he wants to win this election. I’m not sure that he’ll want to be that person he’s beginning to look like against John McCain…who today represents everything that America stands for.

BUT, if Obama thinks he can win going the way he’s headed, then let him go for it.

But, as for me and many like me who sit on the fence until election time in November, we’ll still be thinking about having to live with ourselves long after this election is over in November and maybe these are the thoughts that the new young voters haven’t entertained yet…

…and, there’s still a lot that can happen between now and November…

…and, this probably means that Obama faces a huge political swamp ahead…one that he has created for himself by being too impetuous on some very important issues…

…which has already gotten him into trouble with some of the very wise old parents of the younger generation. – Jim Carder

40. I commend this blog! And your others that are geared toward the USA Presidential race. The world is watching, including the USA..dont let the trolls bring down your work of art. You are right on POINT! And everything that the United States does…affects the world…some people dont understand the depth of politics. Anyways..kudos for this..

41. American blacks are the the most racist people in america, out of ALL races. It always comes down to race with blacks. Lots of white voters for a black candidate. Blacks would vote for the black version of Charles Manson as long he’s black. I’ve noticed where the ignorance comes from in this country.This is obviously a black racist forum.

42. Great blog, reading it through RSS feed as well

43. Oprah, you are alright in my book. I always dream of being rich but sometimes I wonder about that because now people actually feel they have the power to tell YOU!!! how to live, who to hang out with, how to dress and if you don’t they will do everything in their power to make you FALL!!! I think Oprah its your life, do what the hell you WANT!!! YOU WORK HARD TO GET TO THIS LEVEL OF LIFE ,CONTINUE TO SHINE!!!!!!

44. I just read how much money adrian Loveridge make back in 2008 and now he is crying about how much he lost, he has the hotel closed, yet he is renting it out, now all that money he make in barbados will be going with him back to England. Good bye from inch Marlow, please take your bolders with you so we can walk the sea shore and not have to go over you bolders.

Leave a Reply to Adrian HindsCancel reply