unknown-96.jpgI wish to say that Bush tea is not politically a partisan. (This is for personal, selfish reasons. I am already committed to a national cause much higher than any party, group or friendly society. I would equally have wished Owen Arthur well and offered genuine advice for his success as PM….(and I actually did, but that is another story.)

My instincts are that PM David Thompson will be the best Prime Minister that Barbados has ever had (and this is even without any advice from Bush tea). He has all the requirements, he has been well prepared through his time ‘in the wilderness’, he has matured excellently and he has a great family structure.

(… oh wait, did I mention that he is a full 100% Combermerian? As is his wife?)

SERVICE

Remember that you offered to serve Barbados when you applied for this job. There are two points here :SERVE is the OPPOSITE to rule. Every morning, when you wake up, remember that the great power you have is solely for the purpose of empowering this country, especially the weak and poor.

Second point- serve ALL Barbados.

-DO NOT LOOK at the ballots to see who voted for you. “BARBADOS” DID!

-Use ALL of this country’s BEST brains- and you do not need to buy their political loyalty or bribe them to do this. Use Commisong and let him stay in his PEP. Use the best of the BLP performers – and let them remain BLP (You have the wisdom, self confidence and tact to do that…It will be well worth the effort.)

DELEGATE

You have a GREAT team with you. USE THEM. Leave yourself free to do the REALLY important things

– like walking around and seeing for yourself what is happening.

– like communicating with your various publics and LISTENING to their (foolish) concerns

– like making sure that your ministers, Boards and other delegates are operating according to you and your party’s philosophy – especially that they are Honest, Fair and impartial in their dealings.

– Like developing and selling a VISION for the future. One that Bajans can buy into and join you and your team.

DISCIPLINE

Set high standards for your people and ENFORCE them. Be quick to show intolerance for wrong-doing and dis-honesty.

The Higher the level of Authority you have given, the less patience you must show for dishonesty, graft, bribery and all unrighteousness.

…but be patient with your foes (‘cuddear’…you must know how Liz and dem must feel, you went through it…) Give them some slack, even listen to their curses and respond if they actually have good points.

DEVELOPMENT

David, you have taken the mantle when Barbados and the world is about to undergo the most difficult times that have ever been experienced… believe me.

All those promises about lowering the cost of living, providing opportunities etc should have been premised with “if the world situation remains stable”.

This country’s chance to go into this period of difficulties in a healthy position was squandered in cost over runs, Millions spent on CSME, years of neglecting AGRICULTURE and LOCAL INDUSTRY etc.

The BLP opted instead for prostitution in the form of selling ourselves to the highest bidder (that always works for a while if you are pretty…)

Your Job is to restore PRIDE IN BARBADOS FOR BARBADIANS and those who choose to come here and BECOME 100% Bajan too.

Do not make promises about being ‘first world’ – Promise to restore pride and independence (pay a visit to ‘Lowdown’ and carry long a pork –cutter and some mauby for details on this philosophy.)

FINALLY FOR NOW

Life on earth is nothing but a temporary sojourn – the real purpose is so phenomenal and beautiful that these issues pale into insignificance.However, Putting God first helps you to place many things into proper perspective. Your public Thanksgiving service this Sunday is a brilliant start. Don’t be afraid to continue to seek God’s guidance in all you do…and when things get rough –sing quietly to yourself the school’s anthem (I don’t mean the school song as you know, but “To be a pilgrim”.

“….mighty undertaking here, up and on, up and on..”

Bush tea

January 18, 2008

Other Bush Tea Articles

Ideas & Suggestions=Solutions

Barbados Electoral System Comes Under The Microscope

What new QEH What?!?

A UWI Student Offers A Comment On The Vision Of Professor Hilary Beckles For The University Of The West Indies

The Basic Problem With Barbados

Bush Tea Is Fed-up With Richard “Lowdown” Hoad!

UWI Expansion Plans Misguided~Need To First Address Relevance.

90 responses to “Bush Tea’s Advice For P.M. David Thompson”

1. The Governor General of Canada is black and from Haiti. I just thought Maureen might want to know.

2. Another incumbent political party bites the dust

Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur (Photo: Barbados Ministry of Foreign Affairs)
    By Peter Ischyrion
    BRIDGETOWN, Barbados, January 16, 2008 – The winds that swept out the incumbent governments in St. Lucia, Bahamas, Jamaica and the British Virgin Islands in the past 13 months returned with a vengeance on Tuesday and upended the administration of Prime Minister Owen Arthur in this small Eastern Caribbean island.

Arthur had sought to follow in the footsteps of Patrick Manning, his counterpart in Trinidad and Tobago, who last November appeared to be the exception to the rule by leading his ruling People’s National Movement back into the corridors of power.

Most importantly, Arthur, a 58-year-old economist, had sought to secure a spot in Barbados’ political history as the first prime minister to win a fourth consecutive term in office. He failed, and perhaps now more than ever, he will understand the phrase “those who ignore history are doomed to repeat it”.

In the end, the electorate not only condemned his Barbados Labour Party (BLP) to the opposition benches, but also possibly signaled the end of his political career in the island.

Insisting that he was not about to engage in an “instant judgment” regarding his future, Arthur, who led the government since 1994 for “13 exhilarating years”, said he would seek to ensure that the 69-year-old BLP “remains one of the premier political institutions in the region”.

“I have not left a party that is politically bankrupt. ‘The party can cope beyond me’ is the assurance that I give the party. It has people in it who can qualify to be leaders in any institution in the world,” he added.

Arthur had entered the general election on Tuesday hoping to achieve a feat that had proved beyond many prominent politicians here, including Errol Barrow, who led the island to political independence from Britain in 1966 and is considered the founding father of the nation.

But Arthur’s Barbados Labour Party (BLP) was trounced by the DLP, led by David Thompson.

Arthur said that his BLP had conducted a “good campaign” for control of the 30-seat Parliament, but acknowledged that the electorate’s desire for change proved insurmountable, resulting in the DLP reversing a 24-6 BLP majority in the last parliament to 20-10 in its favour.

“Change is a natural human instinct and I fully respect it. I want to merely say that I thank the people of Barbados for the opportunity to be prime minister. I tried my very best for the country and I leave office with no rancour,” Arthur said in his concession speech.

The 2007 Human Development Report issued by the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) supports Arthur’s contention that his tenure had brought relative prosperity to the island.

The UNDP ranked Barbados, which is mainly dependent on tourism and international business services for its revenue, at 31 out of 177 countries with respect to its human development index, “which looks beyond GDP (Gross Domestic Product) to a broader definition of well-being”.

In fact, the U.N. body ranked Barbados at the very top among 108 developing countries regarding its human poverty index, which measures the proportion of people below an income threshold but which also includes “living a long and healthy life, having access to education and a decent standard of living”.

The opposition DLP, however, found traction with its platform to transform “the nation to meet the real needs of the people”.

“My vision of Barbados is centered around the idea of our people enjoying a significant improvement in living standards,” said David Thompson, the 49-year-old prime minister-elect, who was successful on his third attempt at winning the government.

“I have a vision of Barbados in which our arts, architecture, industrial policy, economic policy and social policy promote the concept of island living that is socially empowering, highly productive and allows us to meet both our internal and external obligations,” said Thompson, an attorney.

The change of government is not expected to result in a drastic change in the island’s foreign policy, although one of the main controversies of the campaign was Arthur’s allegation that Taiwan had contributed to the DLP’s campaign in return for a switch in allegiance away from China.

Bridgetown and Beijing established diplomatic relations 30 years ago, and while Thompson and Taipei publicly rebuked Arthur’s claims, the outgoing prime minister contended that an allegedly similar strategy had been followed in the case of St. Lucia, where the ruling United Workers Party had severed ties with Beijing in favour of Taiwan after a 10-year period.

In its manifesto for the election, the DLP said that Barbados would “continue its longstanding policy to be friends of all and satellites of none”.

“It will continue to defend the interests of its citizens at home and abroad. We will respect those treaties entered into by predecessor governments and seek new alliances conducive to the achievement of our goals,” it said.

As lead prime minister within the Caribbean Community (Caricom), Arthur had played a high-profile role in the quest by regional states to create a single market and economy (CSME) by 2015 that includes the free movement of goods, skills, workers and services.

But while saying he would “work towards the realisation” of the CSME, Thompson has already signalled that a new DLP administration would also embark on a major public education programme to sensitise Barbadians to the “challenges and opportunities that free movement of labour, goods and services will bring”.

“It will then prepare Barbadians for taking a leading role in the development of the wider Caribbean Community,” the DLP said.

Another concern for the new administration will be the recently negotiated Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA) that Caribbean countries reached with Europe at the end of last year.

The full details of the accord have not been published in the region despite numerous calls from civil society groups, even as regional leaders are preparing to sign the trade deal on Mar. 15.

DLP general secretary Chris Sinckler, the executive director of the Caribbean Policy Development Centre, had been critical of the accord and now, as a front-line member of the new government, could be in a position to agitate much more successfully for a review of the agreement. (IPS)

3. notbajan,

Yes, I know of her, Michaelle Jean.

Once again, that’s Canada and this is Barbados.

There are matters of RACE and NATIONALITY which many Bajans are afraid to voice or confront or speak about.

If any prime minister of Barbados, Thompson or Arthur, tried to appoint a black Guyanese or an Indian Guyanese as minister of tourism you would hear Barbados Underground behaving in the worst way possible. Why should we look down on black foreigners but accept WHITE ones like Loverage as being better than ourselves?

What sort of mirror image do we have of ourselves?

4. Wishing in Vain,

Are you on crack or something?

Why do you keep posting those lengthy pieces of rubbish on this blog? Bajans already know about it so what’s the point?

5. maureen you are a stranger to the truth, you know that Mr Loveridge is not the
    Minister but in your warped effort to spread mistruths you persist.
    The sooner you resign yourself to living under the rule of the DLP the better for you just ask the vast majority of Bajans and rest assured that we will not divide and rule as you did when arthur was the beast in power.

6. Wishing in Vain,

I never claimed to know who the Minister is. You are the one who came here running your mouth.

I’m more convinced than ever that you have some sort of mental problem.

Do you check under your bed every night before going to sleep to make sure no evil BLP agent is hiding there?

7. owen arthur had a white man as minister of health maureen now give the new pm a chance to his jop fa god sake

8. owen arthur had a white man as minister of health maureen now give the new pm a chance to his jop fa god sake

9. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar

WIV

I guarantee you that if loverage is made minister of tourism we will suffer such a down turn in tourism we would welcome back barney

10. I wish to weigh in on this subject of who the minister of Tourism is/will be.

Has he/she been formerly announced?

Was not Peter Morgan a former minister of Tourism in the Barrow cabinet?

Why all of a sudden the xenophobic, rasists rants in this forum?

Please explain for our general education.

11. Son of the Soil,

“Why all of a sudden the xenophobic, rasists rants in this forum?”

Ask the same people here who are always ranting about Guyanese and Chinese in Barbados. Surely what is good for the blacks (and the yellows) is also good for the whites.

12. Surely what is good for the blacks (and the yellows) is also good for the whites.

Some like David of BU resent the presence of Guyanese in Barbados, yet he is ever ready to lick Loveridge’s backside like a house slave.

I say you can’t have it both ways. You either hate the Guyanese and hate the whites, or love the Guyanese and love the whites. The DLP has committed itself in its manifesto to protecting the rights of the “foreign worker”.

We will soon know who the new minister of tourism is.

13. WIV
    It is pointless engaging persons such as Maureen and Frankology. Maureen first of all is bent on causing strife, nothing you say will divert “her” from her agenda ignore her.
    Frankology has been claiming to be neutral but I am yet to see him critical of any specific thing or things done by the BLP administration. Yet he manages under the veil of neutrality to find all things wrong or suspect about the DLP. I say again his slip is showing.

14. who cares who the minister of tourism is, once her can do the job and bring the foreign exchange to this island without being corrupt.
    We had BLACK BARBADIAN MPS of the previous government riddled with all sorts of corruption. Fear of these people was so intense they were hardly any voices crying in the wilderness. Lo and behold government changes now suddendly the sickness of laringitis has been lifted from this island. Where were the lot of you all this time during the last administration.
    Prime Minister Thompson choose who to the best of your knowledge is best suited to assist you in taking this country forward. when success comes even the nay sayers will benefit.

15. For those who would seek to misrepresent our position on Chinese and Guyanese coming into Barbados we want to repeat. Our position is that like the developed countries a small and heavily populated island like Barbados cannot afford to have a open door policy to immigration. It is well known that Barbados at this time is overrun with illegal immigrants. This situation highlights the fact that our immigration system is faulty and additionally the illegals serve to put pressure on our social services and other infrastructure in a way which makes it impossible to plan as far as managing our resource allocation. There is also the need to ensure that the country is emotionally managed as we transfer to a more multicultural society.

We can go on but I hope those of you who continue to cause mischief by misrepresenting BU position will stop.

16. I agree with David whole heartedly, we cannot have a propper system in place to deal with illegal immigrants. For too long it has been allowed to continue in the hahazard fashion that it has and when the people speak out and say something “red herrings’ are thrown saying how we it is a personal vendetta. For some it may be but for others such as I it is the desire to see my country able to progress without the backwash of another. We don’t get the best of these people but those who are willing to do anything to further rhemselves. Some of them actuall seem to be pretty desperate in their goals. We can’t afford to just let them enter and reamin here as they so desire. What will become of us? Of our children? This island is already greatly populated as it is with declining social services and amenities.

17. Bush Tea

I am very curious, not being rude, but why do you not develop your own Blog? The Broken Trident had a great chance and wasted it, you can take up where they left off!

18. On the topic of immigration. As constuction continues to boom here i have to wonder. Are immigrants starving in the streets with no where to go? From what i see they are WORKING .”Taking Bajan jobs” is the cry. ..but why is that?
    Could it be that most Bajans are simply lazy? Strolling in at late hours, taking long lunches and more importantly, lacking in work skills and still expecting to earn a full days pay! I could go on but very few seem not to want to face these things and would rather take offence to this statement.
    I do however believe, that the Immigration Department must adopt stricter policies but as it stands now construction companies need an efficient work force, so here we are..

19. One of the best Ministers of Tourism we ever had was from England – Peter Morgan.
    I guess that was before BFPE’s time.

20. more,

Actually, we know of Peter Morgan.

21. YOU SAID: “I am 110% male and Bajan.”

What are you trying to say? That you like boys too?
    ……………………………………………………………………..
    You seems to have a problem with percentages. But I would not cry down yur intelligence. Hava a nice day, my friend.

22. The sooner you resign yourself to living under the rule of the DLP the better for you
    …………………………………………………………………….
    The above language is not diplomatic. It more look like a threat. Be careful with your statements.

23. Frankology has been claiming to be neutral but I am yet to see him critical of any specific thing or things done by the BLP administration.
    ……………………………………………………………………..
    You seems to understand posts based on gossip rather than posts based on truth lined with realistic reasoning, thus your failure to read all my articles on the highway, I can tell you that over 50% of the posts was from this writer. I was critical of the installation of flyovers, the lack thereof with the tendering process, the award of a contract to an inexperience contractor, the BOLT agreements, the failure of submitting the Environmental and Impact Studies and the composition of our limestones and caves. I can go on and on. Just type in “Highway in the right hand search engine, and presto, you will see the posting. Give thanks my friend.

24. ~ B ~ F ~ P ~ E ~ Avatar
    ~ B ~ F ~ P ~ E ~

Ian Bourne,

YOU SAID: “I am very curious, not being rude, but why do you not develop your own Blog?”

And why don’t you try to develop YOURS?

It needs help!

25. Educated Bajan ~ please do not stretch the point which we are making. If Thompson and his team wishes to build a new economy built on services and he feels that a Singaporean would bring that expertize why should he pigeon hole himself into recruiting someone who fits some stereotype?

Time to wake up and smell the coffee!
    ————————————————

Um is you dat need to get up and smell de de coffee cause you don’t know de caliber of people de PM got to deal wid in Barbados, or yah pretending.

An’ ah hope de PM don’t tek your advice causing if he does, he gine be a 1 term PM.
    Leh he go outside de country to hire foreigners for de ministries in dis xenophobic world we live in.

Tek care David and don’t mind dis David here nad he nonsense yah hear!

26. David // January 19, 2008 at 6:24 am

For those who would seek to misrepresent our position on Chinese and Guyanese coming into Barbados we want to repeat. Our position is that like the developed countries a small and heavily populated island like Barbados cannot afford to have a open door policy to immigration.
    ______________________________David:

For once I agree wid you on dat point. Comparing Barbados to Canada, de US or any other country is ridiculous. Our sheer size alone should be a factor of us having strick immigration policies.

27. Bush tea,
    You never mind ’bout how educated I is, common sense prevails here. And I stand by what I said earlier. De BLP can not be trusted so de PM should stay clear of dem folk. Dis goes to all dem other parties as well. Lukka David Comissiong, how he up pon de new PM, riding he like a thong asking he to disclose de names of he financiers.

You talking bout embracing all dem people. Bwoy every man for heself, especially when um comes to power.

28. DLP Manifesto Promises Avatar
    DLP Manifesto Promises

From the Manifesto of the DLP

Stipulate that in order to qualify for state
    funding of constituency offices, each
    Member of Parliament must identify one
    day per week as Constituency Affairs Day,
    where the member is physically present
    at the office or visibly involved in constituency related activities.

Immediately introduce integrity legislation
    requiring
    • a declaration of assets by public officials,
    • a Code of Conduct for Ministers,
    • a new Freedom of Information law,
    • amendments to the Defamation laws and
    • new constitutional provisions to rationalise
    the powers of the Prime Minister.

Note the use of the word “immediately”.

~B ~F ~P ~E

29. Jinx:

Lazy Bajan is always put forward to justify de greedy contractor rationale for hiring emigrants and paying dem less than Bajans to help some investor get rich. But de said emigrant you are claiming is more efficient than the average Bajan will become a burden to de country once de construction boom is over, cause most of dem don’t leave.

Now, you gine have to weigh in on 2 points: helping de investor build gated communities or hotels and making lots of money by hiring de emigrant who gine put a strain pon de social network like schools, hospitals versus de so called lazy Bajan. As far as I’m concerned um is all a numbers game, while trying to control de population.

30. Wishing in Vain
    The 2007 Human Development Report issued by the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) supports Arthur’s contention that his tenure had brought relative prosperity to the island.
    —————————————-

If Peter Ischyrion had done his research he would have also indicated that Barbados become the number one developing country under Erskin Sandiford and that we were ranked at number 20 compared to 31 under Owen Arthur.

Using therefore the argument of the HDI as an indicator one would also have to agree that in 1994 when Sandiford left office, he like Arthur had also brought relative prosperity to the island.

Indeed the BLP were so greatful for what Erskin Sandiford had accomplished that they gave him a knighthood…
    Will the DLP give Owen Arthur a knighthood?

31. Jinx
    Are you Bizzy or Cow? I am certain at the very least you look like them. Your statements about lazy blacks would not be out of place in Land of Boers or Deep south.

32. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

DLP manifesto promises

The following promise that you highlighted cannot be implemented by ministers who have to travel and be away from the country for weeks at a time since it stipulaes that the candidate must be physically present in the constituency

“Stipulate that in order to qualify for state
    funding of constituency offices, each
    Member of Parliament must identify one
    day per week as Constituency Affairs Day,
    where the member is physically present
    at the office or visibly involved in constituency related activities.”

33. Rev. Atherley D.D.?

Just wondering.

34. “Mr. King”, have you found my registration at the Personnel Administration Division? No worries, I ready to turn up for work bright and early Monday, 20th January, 2008. I’ll need a clothing grant for work attire, not too much, or a coupon would do:)

35. The interview panel which is chaired by Mr. Bush Tea awaits your arrival Mr. Superlative1!

36. Delbert,
    I think um is Bizzy. He jinx de Bees wid de tripe he write to de Nation.

But listen, you think all dem so gine thru de eddoes? Or dem gine keep dem pon de projects dem started?

37. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar

IMMEDIATE ACTION PLANS OF THE DLP as taken from their manifesto with relevant pages

Labour rights legislation ( page 36)

Anew DLP government will move to immediately enact a comprehensive national Labour Rights legislative compendium which will include the following:

 A Full Employment Rights Act
     An Alternative Disputes Settlement and Arbitration Committee
     A Sexual Harassment in the Workplace Act
     National minimum wages legislation
     Legislation fully recognizing Trade Unions.

Approval of capital account transactions (page 25)

Immediately review the current Central Bank procedures for approving capital account transactions with a view to simplifying and speeding up the approval (or denial) process for restricted transactions.

Port charges (page 33)

The DLP pledges to immediately re-examine the Port charges with a view to significantly reducing these to manufacturers as they consider them to be a burdensome cost. They say that tonnage dues are charged twice; – on raw materials when imported and again on finished products when being exported.

Integrity legislation (page 48)

Immediately introduce integrity legislation requiring

 a declaration of assets by public officials,
     a Code of Conduct for Ministers,
     a new Freedom of Information law,
     amendments to the Defamation laws and
     new constitutional provisions to rationalize the powers of the Prime Minister.

Health issues (page 11)

A new DLP Government will immediately embark on a health promotion campaign to sensitize the public to the dangers of unhealthy lifestyles

38. Have you realise that we have a 16-member cabinet.

39. Just let me know when and where and I’m there. Except Tuesday morning, I have an 8am class in International Politics.

40. delbert,

A pity you had to draw the race card isnt it?

The “lazy bajans” ( most , i said) were given a colour by you ……
    but i expect such comments from those who can not accept constructive criticism.

Leave a Reply to BapsCancel reply