Congratulations from the BU team to David Thompson and the Democratic Labour Party on their victory. May God inspire your government to chart a path to our continued prosperity for Barbados — both on the economic and social fronts.

David – BU

Note: The results captured below are the official results.

Political Leaders Of Barbados

David Thompson

Owen Arthur

Welcome to Election Coverage 2008. Join us here at Barbados Underground as we count the votes and discuss the issues which have emerged in the lead-up to Elections 2008 and other related issues. We invite you to discuss your expectations of the new government and hear what others, including local broadcasters, have to say.

• Should Barbadians be concerned about the functioning of a system of government that has served us well in the post-Independence era?
  • How important are the roles of the Auditor General, Director of Public Prosecutors, Ombudsman and the Publics Accounts Committee to a well functioning democracy?
  • How can Barbadians demand accountability from our politicians after they are elected?
  • How will Barbadians enforce promises that government makes from time to time: Do we, the PEOPLE, need to legislate the power of recall?
  • What about term limits: Is this important given the concerns some Barbadians have about the effect which Arthur’s politics of inclusion has had on the Opposition Party?
BLP
DLP
IND
TOTAL

10 20

Constituency

Candidates

Votes

City of
Bridgetown

Jeffrey Bostic
blp_c_logo_19x12

Jeffrey Bostic

patrick todd
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Patrick Todd

winner

St. Michael
South

Noel Lynch
blp_c_logo_19x12

Noel Lynch

fruendel stuart
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Freundel Stuart
New
Attorney General

winner

St. Michael
East

Trevor Prescod
blp_c_logo_19x12

Trevor Prescod

kenny best
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Kenneth Best

winner

St. Michael
South Central

David Gill
blp_c_logo_19x12

David Gill

richard sealy
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Richard Sealy

winner

St. Michael
Central

Rudy Grant
blp_c_logo_19x12

Mr. Rudy Grant

stephen blackett
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Steve Blackett

winner

david commissiong
pep_logo_90x12

David Commissiong

St. Michael
South East

Hamilton Lashley
blp_c_logo_19x12

Hamilton Lashley

winner

undene whittaker
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Undene Whittaker

St. Michael
North East

Mia Mottley
blp_c_logo_19x12

Mia Mottley

winner

patricia inniss
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Patricia Inniss

St. Michael
North

Richard Toppin
blp_c_logo_19x12

Ronald Toppin

winner

depeiza
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Francis Depeiza

mark_adamson_pdc
pdc_logo_19x12

Mark Adamson

St. Michael
North West

Clyde Mascoll
blp_c_logo_19x12

Clyde Mascoll

chris sinkler
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Christ Sinkler

winner

akil_umi_pdc
pdc_logo_19x12

Akil Umi

St. Michael
West

Joseph Atherley
blp_c_logo_19x12

Joseph Atherley

michael carrington
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Michael Carrington

winner

rosita_broome_pep
pep_logo_90x12

Rosita Broome

St. Michael
West Central

Rommel Marshall
blp_c_logo_19x12

Rommell Marshall

james paul
dlp_c_logo_90x11

James Paul

winner

robert_clarke_pep
pep_logo_90x12

Robert Clarke

Christ Church
West

William Duguid
blp_c_logo_19x12

William Duguid

winner

taan abed
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Mr. Taan Abed

Christ Church
West Central

Joseph Edgehill
blp_c_logo_19x12

Joseph Edgill

113px_ashley.jpg
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Stephen Lashley

winner

Christ Church
South

Jerome Walcott
blp_c_logo_19x12

Jerome Walcott

john boyce
dlp_c_logo_90x11

John Boyce

winner

Christ Church
East Central

Tyrone Lovell
blp_c_logo_19x12

Dalton T. Lovell

112px_jones
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Ronald Jones

winner

Christ Church
East

Reginald Farley
blp_c_logo_19x12

Reginald Farley

denis lowe
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Denis Lowe

winner

rodney_nurse_pep
pep_logo_90x12

Rodney Nurse

St. Philip
North

George Griffith
blp_c_logo_19x12

Mr. George Griffith

michael lashley
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Michael Lashley

winner

St. Philip
South

Anthony Wood
blp_c_logo_19x12

Anthony Wood

adriel brathwaite
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Adriel Brathwaite

winner

douglas trotman
ind_logo_90x12

Douglas Trotman

St. Philip
West

Lynette Eastmond
blp_c_logo_19x12

Lynette Eastmond

david estwick
dlp_c_logo_90x11

David Estwick

winner

St. George
North

Gline Clarke
blp_c_logo_19x12

Gline Clarke

winner

colin spencer
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Colin Spencer

St. George
South

I-Gill-l
blp_c_logo_19x12

Ian Gill

esther byer-suckoo
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Esther Byer Suckoo

winner

St. John

TPower
blp_c_logo_19x12

Tyrone O. Power

david thompson
dlp_c_logo_90x11

David Thompson

winner

St. Joseph

Dale Marshall
blp_c_logo_19x12

Dale Marshall

winner

112px_rouse
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Randal Rouse

St. Thomas

Cynthia Forde
blp_c_logo_19x12

Cynthia Forde

winner

113px_dottin
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Haldene Dottin

St. James
North

REastmond
blp_c_logo_19x12

Rawle Eastmond

winner

112px_husbands
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Austin Husbands

St. James
South

Elizabeth Thompson
blp_c_logo_19x12

Elizabeth Thompson

donville innis
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Donville Inniss

winner

St. James
Central

Kerrie symmonds
blp_c_logo_19x12

Kerrie Symmonds

george hutson
dlp_c_logo_90x11

George Hutson

winner

St. Peter

Owen Arthur
blp_c_logo_19x12

Owen Arthur

winner

haynesley benn
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Haynesley Benn

St. Andrew

George Payne
blp_c_logo_19x12

George Payne

winner

irene sandiford_garner
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Irene Sandiford-Garner

St. Lucy

PPhilips
blp_c_logo_19x12

Peter Phillips

denis_kellman
dlp_c_logo_90x11

Denis Kellman

winner

216 responses to “Barbados Election Watch 2008”

1. YUM YUM I like it! Avatar
    YUM YUM I like it!

Arrogant big-head Dale Marshall has demanded a recount – what a surprise!

Will he throw his toys out of the pushchair if he loses?

Correction it is Rouse who has demanded a recount.

2. BU check ur winner for St. George
    North

Thanks we will change.

Just so much to do here. The bottom line though is that we have a landslide. Again hats off to Wickham.

3. […] would have preferred swept under the carpet were brought to light. Congratulations especially to BU and BFP for their amazing coverage of the news and the elections. […]

4. Dale Marshall says he’s won and will continue his good work, we’ve only seen him once since the last election!

5. YUM YUM I like it! // January 16, 2008 at 12:36 am ,

“Arrogant big-head Dale Marshall has demanded a recount – what a surprise!”

LIAR!!!!

Rouse has demanded a recount after her was narrowly defeated by Dale Marshall.

B F P E

6. Sundowner // January 16, 2008 at 12:38 am,

“Dale Marshall says he’s won”

The RETURNING OFFICER said he won.

7. Wasn’t it Randal Rouse who asked for the recount!!!???

8. Thanks for clearing that up B F P E!! Ignorance is at an all time high tonight boy!!!

9. BFPE
    Dale Marshall said he’d won NOT the returning officer, he can’t announce the winner till the recount is over.

10. Where is WIV or is he on TV representing the DLP? Anyway congrats and I will keep your identity secret.

11. Look at these BLOG-LYING yardfowl commentators already, even though BU has displayed the figures for St. Joseph.

That is why we have to be vigilant to guard our freedom and democracy in this country.

B F P E

12. Sundowner // January 16, 2008 at 12:42 am

BFPE
    Dale Marshall said he’d won NOT the returning officer….

You mean you can’t even stop LYING even in victory?

Must be force of habit, you yardfowl.

B F P E

13. Liz Thompson gone……..

14. BU thanks for doing an excellent job in continually updating the stats to keep all viewers up to date as well as those listening.

Great Job!!

BFPE – will you be positioning your tail for these licks that you were so eagerly awaiting to dish out ? 🙂

15. Wisdom outweighs any Wealth Avatar
    Wisdom outweighs any Wealth

B F P E – You are never in worse company that when you are “beside yourself”

16. YUM YUM I like it! Avatar
    YUM YUM I like it!

On to a more important issue.

When are we having the customary day off work?

EH?

We are sure that David Thompson will address this in his victory speech shortly.

17. BFPE sorry to upset you so, I’M not lying, Dale Marshall interviewed on CBC channel 8 said that he’d won, but that there was to be a recount, get your facts straight.
    Thanks BU for keeping us all up to date, job VERY well done.

18. Political parties and their leaders tend to take on the ordain-by-the-almighty approach after they have been in power for longer than two terms. The Bajan people have spoken loud and clear!

19. Sapidillo,

“BFPE – will you be positioning your tail for these licks that you were so eagerly awaiting to dish out ?”

3 to 1 is no big blow.

But I really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, REALLY wanted that FOUR LOVE!!!

I really did!

Oh well, we would just gotta start all over again…. Let’s see… DLP till 2013, BLP till 2018, BLP till 2023, BLP till 2028…. next FOUR LOVE due in 2033!!!!

🙂

B F P E

20. Daniel said:

“Blessed be the name of God
    From age to age
    For wisdom and power are his.

He changes times and seasons,
    Deposes KINGS and sets up KINGS;
    He gives wisdom to the wise
    And knowledge to those
    Who have understanding.

He reveals deep and hidden things;
    He knows what is in the darkness,
    And light dwells with him.

(Daniel 2:20-22)

“The Lord gave, and the Lord has taken away;
    Blessed be the name of the Lord”

(Job 1:21)

21. Sundowner // January 16, 2008 at 12:54 am,

We heard it all on the radio. Results first come from the returning officer, not any candidate.

Just stop lying, alright.

22. One love one heart,lets gettogether an feel alright.nutcracker says allover barn a shout.my fellow ocmrades justice has been served.

23. Can we all move on?

Let us discuss the issues under a DLP government with the same scrutiny and vigour going forward. There is a new dawn about to birth. Let us move on.

24. “I will smite the head and scatter the sheep.
    I have seen the arrogance in the heart of those in authority.
    I will cause disarray to take place.

Man will not account for friend or family.
    A NEW ARROW shall arise and what was
    Shall be no more”

(Midnight Call pge 53)

25. Sandra Husbands came to the fore as a teenager sitting with Thompson on CBC tv destroying folk . They were both good debaters then way back in 77.
    Any one remember her then.
    She still chatting good. HOw come she aint married yet?

26. Son of the Soil Avatar

Very interesting to hear the explainations from George Belle and Prof Boxill ‘explain’ how they got it so very wrong. They are so ridiculous… Owen has claimed two more ‘victims’! 🙂

Mr. Wickham has been thoroughly vindicated. Three cheers for Peter!!!

27. So David,

We have won that battle. Educating Barbados and putting us in a position to vote INTELLIGENTLY. This would have been IMPOSSIBLE without you and BFP.

next battle:

What we going do about the public media – especially the Nation and Advocate now?

It is NOT fair that you do this vital work while they collect advertising revenue etc….

What will be your role if the DLP operates a transparent ship? (and there in no need to hide or to ferret out vital information?

These are some of the new ground rules that we need to articulate and agree

These two BLOGS deserve national honors for what you have done.

28. Wisdom outweighs any Wealth Avatar
    Wisdom outweighs any Wealth

Well, I am really happy that we all found this site tonight and had the opportunity to share our opinions of the day.

To all goodnight and enjoy the national holiday whenever it may be!!!!!

To you as well B F P E

29. WHAT happened in St. Andrew?

The seat was declared for Payne by a narrow 44 votes. A recount has been called. Counting starts at 10AM tomorrow.

30. YUM YUM I like it! Avatar
    YUM YUM I like it!

We want our holiday!
    ………
    Altogether now!

I want to know if I can sleep in tomorrow.

Hurry up David Thompson I tired!

31. YUM YUM I like it! Avatar
    YUM YUM I like it!

Oh my god!

Blogs were mentioned on CBC!

It HAS to be 2am!!!!!!

32. BU…great report on the breakdown. Please check the posted result for St Michael North. Frances has the greater # of votes, but Toppin is showing as the winner. I know it is a typo, but please correct.

Thanks!

33. Georgie…she is married. Her name is hyphenated…married name very difficult to pronounce

34. YUM YUM I like it! Avatar
    YUM YUM I like it!

Friday it is!

Off to bed

35. First member of the cabinet is Fruendel Stuart who is Attorney General designate.

36. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Remember fellow bloggers, the DLP said in their manifesto that they will

_ Immediately introduce integrity legislation
    requiring
    a declaration of assets by public officials,
    a Code of Conduct for Ministers,
    a new Freedom of Information law,
    amendments to the Defamation laws and
    new constitutional provisions to rationalize the powers of the Prime Minister

The word used was immediately, not in 100 days but immediately

37. Barbados, in the only opinion poll that counts, has reminded all politicians where real power really lies.

The BLP has suffered for its arrogant disconnect from the electorate.

Lies, pompasetting and intimidation are not leadership and they have been made to pay for their self–delusion.

Politicians are not elected for their talents, but are given power by us to manage the country to the best of their ability.
    They are on a 5 year probation and will be judged by their “bosses” at the next election on their actual performance not a divine right to rule.

This applies just as much to the incoming government as guidance, as to the BLP looking for an explanation.

The promised Integrity, Transparency and Accountability legislation must be given the teeth necessary to make it truly effective.
    Any fudging on this will cast doubt on the whole exercise, and the removal of this doubt and suspicion is the whole point of this crusade against secrecy.

As to the results, I welcome the change of administration, but perhaps perversely I wish the margin of victory could have been smaller.
    Democracy requires a strong and effective opposition to work to the people’s benefit.

My teeth grated each time Roett pronounced “ methinks the Ayes have it” after no informed debate.

After Arthur resigns as Leader of the Opposition and joins Payne in the northern wilderness, both being reluctant to make the long journey to Parliament, Mia will be left with a only a handful of working MPs, and a pretty poor hand at that.

Their mettle as true politicians will be put to the test. I hope they come through for the country’s sake.

At least she will be rid of turncoat Mascoll, last laugh Lynch and charlatan “ Reverend” Atherley.

Particularly pleasing to me is the rejection of Liz Thompson’s and Prescod’s attempts to promote racial prejudice.

Another plus is the election of James Paul.
    Agriculture, long a backwater in Bajan politics, has to be given absolute priority in our efforts towards food security if we are to survive in the face of coming world scarcity.

Finally my commiserations to Taan Abed and Irene S-G ( if the recount goes against her), I have been impressed by both of you, how you have handled your campaigns, sometimes in the face of disgraceful tactics.
    I know you will live to fight another day successfully.
    Best of luck for the senate seats you deserve.

38. Oh, could not have said it better myself StraightTalk. Well said and I second every line.

Cheers to you.

39. Yes, three cheers to Peter Wickham!!

40. Straight Talk
    I agree with your statement, also if it is that Irene Sandiford-Garner has not made it, that is a sad loss, as I have always felt she was a young lady of merit.

41. TheViewFromHere Avatar

So Happy the Blood Suckers are gone!

42. ill wait and see but i still think we will regret the change of goverment

however congrats to the DLP

while i am a BLPsupporter im glad mascoll lost serve him right …he contributed to the downfall

43. Can anyone comment on the rumour making the rounds that Mottley (practically the only BLP heavy hitter still with a seat) deliberately ran a half-rate campaign in order to pave the way for a leadership bid ? Owen finished. Mascoll finished (forever hopefully). Mottley cruised through. Even if it ain’t true, I like the idea.

44. What should be done about the Advocate, CBC, and the Nation?

45. “We are undone!”

The king is dead; the king is dead; long live the king! And my god have mercy on as all…

46. Let’s talk about what we want for Bim.
    I want to see the following in place within a year: 1: strong integrity legislation.
    2: a second tv station
    3: a privatised CBC
    4: freedom of info., the defamation laws revisited
    5: more openness from the gov
    I have a lot of other expectations but these can be said later.
    But you know what I want to have ASAP, the real state of the nation.

47. What happens now that the crooked BLP has lost? Were policemen guarding the gov’t offices yesterday so that prev. Ministers or their lackeys could not go back in and destroy or kidnap files/correspondence with evidence of corruption? I’m sure the BLP did not expect to lose and I hope the DLP had put things in place to protect their inheritance. Anybody who knows how this process works, please enlighten me. I feel a serious weight off my shoulders.

48. Georgie Porgie // January 16, 2008 at 1:21 am

Sandra Husbands came to the fore as a teenager sitting with Thompson on CBC tv destroying folk . They were both good debaters then way back in 77.
    Any one remember her then.
    She still chatting good. HOw come she aint married yet?
    ……………………………………………………………………

Lady Anon // January 16, 2008 at 2:00 am

Georgie…she is married. Her name is hyphenated…married name very difficult to pronounce
    ……………………………………………………………………..

I not sure if I am spelling it right but her surname is Husbands-Nurubakari, something to that effect.

I remember her as a young woman hosting a Christian programme

49. Wuh Law! Uh wumman call me outta my bed dis mawning tuh tell me dat tuhday is uh working day. Wuh um is now 9 a’clock and I now get outta muh bed and ain’t feel like wukking atall (IF uh still got muh lil govvament pick). Anyway, de holiduh is Friday now.

I hear Chris Sinckler pun de radio seh he want tuh get de housing units transfer tuh de (Deacons Farm?) NHC tenants within de nex 100 days.

But den I hear (Attorney General) Freundel Stuart pun de same radio seh dat de first ting de govvament got tuh do is fine out de real state o de country and ONLY THEN DETERMINE WHAT IT’S PRIORITIES WILL BE.

Wuh dem two statements doan sound MUTUALLY COMPATIBLE wid each other tuh me.

Anyways, I would like tuh see de DLP DECLARATION OF ASSETS dat we get promise, cause I gine only believe dah when I see um.

B F P E

50. Straight talk,

YOU SAID: “After Arthur resigns as Leader of the Opposition and joins Payne in the northern wilderness, both being reluctant to make the long journey to Parliament, Mia will be left with a only a handful of working MPs”

You like you did drinking a lil bit too much since las night, yeh.

You bewitch aw wuh? De BLP got uh BIGGER OPPOSITION now than de DLP had befo.

20-10

23-7

And wuh “long journey to parliament” and “northern wilderness” piss you talking bout? You tink anybody in Barbados living in donkey cart days? Kellman from St. Lucy and he don’t come to parliament too?

Yuh could only be trying to divert attention away from discussion about the “100 days” promises.

The only thing dat matters now is FULFILLMENT of the PROMISES we were given.

We waiting.

B F P E

Leave a Reply to Clyde MascollCancel reply