david_thompson.jpgTo those political pundits who have determined that Leader of the Opposition David Thompson is too much of a choir boy for the hurly burly of politics got a rude awakening at the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) last night at Haggatt Hall. In a 90 minute presentation, David Thompson betrayed a high level of rascality when he ruthlessly prosecuted a case of corruption against Prime Minister Owen Arthur and his government. At the end on it all, David Thompson may have quelled all the doubts about his leadership caused by the 1994 Queens Park IMF Affair. He gave the stunned crowd the evidence which surrounds the much discussed cheque donation which was deposited to Arthur’s personal account. Again and again, the crowd was bombarded with video presentation of cheques and documents projected on the two big screens to support his charge. The high level of financial contributions by the former Caribbean Commercial Bank to Arthur headed by Mariano Browne at the time (Former Chairman of Enterprise Growth Fund) and the BLP during the 2003 general election was mind blowing. Additionally, the reference to the 4.25% commission demanded in the Eastern Lottery Gambling deal i.e. Barbados Cricket Association lottery which was pocketed by a high ranking government official has thickened the plot. He also introduced the name Hallam Nichols as the man who has been pocketing millions in commissions because of all the government business directed his way. Thompson made the point that Hallam Nichols and the Prime Minister are very close friends. The close friendship was illustrated when Nichols was invited to Arthur’s private wedding over Ministers in Arthur’s cabinet.

the much discussed cheque donation which was deposited to Arthur’s personal account.

The ‘cheque’ which was deposited by Arthur to his personal account and Thompson’s expose of the ‘flyover’ project may have been the performance to date to firmly move the scales in favour of his party.

Bank Statement

To all those present who heard the case leveled by Thompson against Arthur and the BLP, the verdict is GUILTY as charged.

150 responses to “David Thompson Comes Out Swinging”

1. YUM YUM I like it! Avatar
    YUM YUM I like it!

De Gap

Want some work done?

Hire a Guyanese, they work hard!

Ask the folks at Hardwood, they’ll tell you!

2. degap // January 10, 2008 at 10:49 am

Jerome Hinds,

Also if no laws were broken, there is no case to answer…

degap….REALLY ??????

Then why did Owen Arthur…..NOT declare the $ 75,000.00 CHEQUE as part of his ELECTION expenses for the 2003 General Election ????

HE can FOOL you…..but not the THOUSANDS who saw the EVIDENCE in Haggatt HALL !!!

degap……STOP DE CRAP !

3. I am not impressed with thompson and his foolishness—–for the longest time thompson has been trying to pull a tom adams by flashing cheques and letters on a screen–
    it-wont work——-thompson is an
    thompson want a government by default -thats all –thompson is an impressionist thats all
    thompson needs to name a deputy leader
    thompson needs to say who in his party is capable of managing our economy

thompson needs to stop trying to fool people
    i am not impressed

4. I just want to agree with most about Thompson presentation, it was very factual and all. This is the first time I heard facts and not crap. I don’t know if I’d want to vote DLP as yet though because given that information can we say if DLP gets in power they can get us out of this debt also considering these “promises” they made with time frames. Isn’t this digging a deeper hole for all us?
    FRom listening to BLP and Owen he’s isn’t promising much as he said he can’t promise what he can’t give. I can see why now after accumulating such debt and not having much to stand on.

Either way I look at it the country will be no better. Guys lets not forget the US economy is in or about to go into recession and we will feel the backlash.

I can go on but whatever we should we must take into consideration all these elements before voting if voting………

5. if yall peoples are going to so stupid as to vote in the DLP then im sry for yall cause our economy is going to go to pot very quickly ..the DEMS dont have a clue ,,at best our dollar has been devalued in the sense that the US dollar is dropping and with the US heading into a recession we have hard times ahead anyhow but harder under the DLP thats my feeling .

6. Only me
    I would suggest to you that based on the evidence that has been submitted neither does your party of crooks have a clue either.
    So my advice is to VOTE OUT MASSSIVE CORRUPTION AND FRAUD AND VOTE FOR A NEW BEGINNING ON THE 15 TH OF JANUARY 2008.

7. Wishing In Vain it will only be a new beginning of ways to take way taxpayers hard earn money and sell all d little land thats left……..

We are doing down either way you look at it

8. I can’t see what new beginning will be gotten regardless

9. You should be thrilled to the punch……that your pet subject _ ABC HIGHWAY project got the attention it deserved in HAGGATT HALL …….following your statement of Dec 4th 2007 in the House of Assembly !

Yuh…..still NEUTRAL ?????
    ………………………………………………………………………………….
    Firstly, of all, I would like to know why BFP continue to put my comments on moderation. This is a tactical move by that blog to stiffle comments that might explain the partisan approach of that blog and the Dems operatives.

Secondly, Jerome I attended the meeting, your exageration of 85,000 is totally outrageous, my observation was about 25,000 and all those people were not Dems supporters. Thirdly, I was not amused with the so-called bombshell as indicated by the press releases. I am putting to you that David Thompson, knowingly allowed the country to be taken for a roller coaster ride since he would have been privy to more information than this writer; and again I am not Mascoll. Everything David spoke about, I had in earlier submissions, I keep questioning why the eerie silence of the Democratic Labour Party in this equation. No answer, even you the partisan writers ignore the cries of people and jump to other areas instead of debating the financial dilemma thrust on the Barbadian public. His five-day response prior to an election is ridiculous and I say without fear, we were carried for a ride by your party for your own selfish means.

10. All politicians receive money from the private sectors. I can assure anyone that I know of politicians receiving money in their own names. Let’s be fair, this is not to defend any particular politician, but encompass all candidates running for a particular constituency. The party DO NOT provide equal amounts to all candidates and that is a fact. Only selective candidates will get fair funding, others have to struggle to even pay the $250.00 deposit. People working in constituency offices feel that nuff money are available and the abuse of food and drinks commence. That mean the candidate must dig into his family budget to satisfy these people. So it is a fact that some candidates receive funding to offset expenses.

11. All comments have been under moderation sorry do not be so petty.

Wishing In Vain it will only be a new beginning of ways to take way taxpayers hard earn money and sell all d little land thats left

No this is the DOMAIN OF THE BLP THIS IS THEIR METHOD OF OPERATION it is NOT the method of OPERATION OF THE DLP.

12. The only ride that you were taken on clown is a rollercoaster ride of your emotions when in your dire LOVE for Owing you were faced with the reality that your much loved (by yourself) PM is a full fledeged crook and his cohorts like HALLAM NICHOLLS are raking in the millions on his behalf.

MY ADVICE TO MR THOMPSON IS TO START LEGAL PROCEEDINGS AGAINST ALL OF THEM WITHIN THE FIRST 100 DAYS OF TAKING UP OFFICE.

13. to david

you think the radio people stupid to repeat foolishness from thompson
    thompson fooling whoever want something to believe in against the BLP

if thompson ever win the government -barbados mash up—no joke
    all he doing right now is creating confusion and lies. -this is one of the worst election campaigns ever in barbados–all because of one desperate man named david thompson who wants to be like tom adams

14. Observing // January 10, 2008 at 8:08 am

I too am highly concerned about the coverage given by teh media. I too was at the meeting and it was high in content, impact, issues and was clearly one of the best contributions by an Opposition to date. I haven’t seen any reporting re. the checks as yet.. Tonight on CBC will tell us once and for al teh bias of the media and give us another reason once again why this government must be given a wake up call.
    …………………………………………………………………
    Observing, I could not agree with you more. It is all about press ownership. Could you imagine what it would be like at this time if Starcom had a tv station? We would we dead.
    Just take a look at the article by George Belle and his foolishness. Does he think that ppl are illiterate?
    Previous trends show that the swing was increasing AWAY FROM the BLP and now he coming wid bare bullshit about reverse swing? Outside of cricket, have you ever heard such s****? Never in the history of polling in Bdos has there ever was any “reverse swing”. Lord have mercy pun we.
    BTW, don’t expect to see anything in the daily rag about any cheques.
    Something has to be very wrong when a ruling party can resort to gutter behaviour to retain the gov’t.
    Can’t wait for the 15th to come.

15. I hope that after Tuesday we will be able to find out if the BLP ever paid for the ads on CBC (both radio and tv).

16. My real concern is the story that has been saying that our PRIVACY is under threat by this disgusting adminstration in the form of WIRE TAPPING, INTERNET INTERCEPTION, CELL PHONE TEXT AND VOICE CALLS.

This is a serious position to find ourselves in at a time of an election, our liberties are under serious threat, we need to wake up and take note.

17. I promise to leave all this talk alone. Seems very few persons can make decisions for themselves. Excuses are being sought as to why one should vote in one particular way or another. At the end of the day the majority vote will count and we will go on with our lives as best we can.
    One person thinks that they are the whole world. Another knows they are just like a grain of sand on a beach. People you are individuals. You get to control your personal space, your wallets or purses, your homes if you have any or will ever get any, but after a time we cannot even control our children since they discover that the life they have is their own to live in whichever way they see fit.
    I submit that you do not want to take responsibility for yourselves. You want another person to do it for you. Hence insisting on being led.
    I can understand those who are partisan because they have chosen to be that way, but indecisiveness is a poor reason for inaction. The world does not stop for you. Whether you vote or do not vote, time is constantly marching on.
    The real question is not about the politicians, the real question is about you the individual since you get to live where you live, eat what you can buy, decide if to live a life based on credit and a host of other decisions.
    If you trust the BLP government to take you where you want to go then go with them and keep going with them. If you believe that at this time a change would be good for the country then go with the DLP.
    To have come this far and still remain undecided is a manifestation of someone who is running away from reality.
    At some point the country is going to have to come to terms with what it represents for its people and how it is viewed by the world and not merely what it thinks of itself. At some point the bills are going to have to be paid, but obviously we would rather someone else pays up. There are no free drinks, somebody has to pay.
    But we must first ask ourselves these questions. Do we want to go where we seem to be going? Do we like it? What kind of country do we want to leave for our children and grandchildren? Are we going to be branded by history as the generation which sold out because we loved our illusory comfortable lives too much to tolerate the need for self examination and change at different times of life? Regardless, January fifteenth is going to be judgement day for this country as I see it.
    A BLP win suggests to me that we are going to let someone else pay for our ‘needs’/’extravagances’ while we get to run up the bills and ignore the issues all around us. The proverbial ostrich. We do not want to deal with the issues now so let us keep going. So the consequences of that we will take unto us and our children.
    A DLP win would suggest to me that while we have made some strides in the last 13 years especially in beautiful infrastructure and big homes which would make anybody feel great, there are issues that must be dealt with as a matter of urgency in order that our children come into the game of life with a better chance than us. So the consequences of that we will take as well.
    You who may be wondering change to what must surely see that regardless of if one sits still or walks, the world continues to move on. So we can buck against change but change is happening all around us. Things I never observed twenty years ago I am seeing now and with great prevalence too. So kid yourself if you want, but change is a constant and not necessarily for the better.
    Who knows, maybe tomorrow there will be some problem that makes us respond in human ways instead of pretending that we are all powerful. An earthquake for example, a tsunami, a category 5 hurricane. How will a politician, or the economy be able to help us then?
    Ponder on these things and then do what you will because regardless of what you do, some of us will wake up the next day and the next and the next.
    This real long doh!

18. what got me is if these cheques are the “real deal” why not bring them up in the house? bajans love talk, and bring those cheques up on a platform, was a song and dance… a good one because it serve it’s casue. TALK!!! de same way he wanted to talk about hardwood in the house, he should of don’t the same with that…. but it’s all a game from BLP and DLP. they don’t carry about me john doe. i guess the saying is true “friends and family 1st”

like some one here say, the DLP promise all kinds of in the 100 days. yet Eskwick sing and shouting about our financial dilemma… that makes good sense to me. i would vote for dem… to go in the mental.

19. God help us if we give those bastards another term

20. At the meeting last night, Mr. Thompson mentioned Mariano Browne and cheques written. What he failed to say is, Mariano Browne worked for CCB which is owned by Clico. You know that Duprey the head honcho Clici is the financier for the Panday party, that’s a fact; and his top official Monteil is the treasurer of the Manning Party. Browne as head of CCB was close to Arthur, whilst Parris is associated with Thompson. The wicket now becomes tricky with Browne resigning from CCB/RTBB to become the Minister in the Ministry of Finance in the Manning cabinet. This is where the bombshell was activated. It is a calculated effort to align the cheques shown last night and the Owen Arthur government. What is missing is the cheques made out to the DLP party. This is was just a “Shell” the bomb was defused since 2003.

21. A copy of a copy of a cheque that has not been authenticated, even under the broadest definition, is not evidence. The learned QC’s case has its foundation in quicksand. Again, who wrote the cheque, how did it come into the position of the learned QC, and what law is the PM accused of breaking?

22. frankology

” and again I am not Mascoll. Everything David spoke about, I had in earlier submissions, ”

FRANKOLOGY,

You LYING again….David Thompson on 9th JANUARY , 2008 quoted from a
    ” CONFIDENTIAL ” document prepared after 20th DECEMBER , 2007 !

This was long after……your BRILLIANT display on 4th DECEMBER , 2007 !

We gine RIP you & Owen CRAW out of
    place !

CRAW…..( a word Owen Arthur used on nomination day…31 December 2007 ) !!!!

Owen just SUMMONED all the technical staff of Public Works to his office in Bay Street !

If Owen was dealing with the people issues…..he would NOT now be trying to play catch up !

BARBADIANS……MOVING FROM OWEN !

SMOKE DE BEES ! CHANGE !!!!

23. When Owen, who cried 14 years ago, that he couldn’t pay his bills ,is now rated one of
    the nine richest men in Barbados , I think all right thinking Bajans should should sit up and take note.

This man said recently that all his ministers were squeaky clean. As it turns out, he is the biggest crook of them all… he Hallam Nicholls and David Shorey should be named as last year’s piggies at the trough.

Whether Bajans vote them back in or not would not make them pure. And you B>F>P>E criminals are just like them… probably waiting for the crumbs from their table

24. IF BAjans let OWen blindfold them with a Taiwanese issue we deserve what we get. He done sell us out to the Chinese. Look around Barbados and see how many Chinese businese interests springing up. Soon from now bout here is going to look like one of those crappy Chinese towns. He sell us out to the Guyanese too. We need to take back Barbados and tell Owen and the BLP to go to hell and if David do foolishness when it is his turn we do the same with him too but we need to send this Government a strong message. We ain’t taking no more shite.

25. ” CONFIDENTIAL ” document prepared after 20th DECEMBER , 2007 !
    …………………………………………………………………….
    Nonsense Jerome, I was dealing with the issue of the highway in the press and on the radio way back in 2006 when the highway first started. You say that David was speaking from a ‘confidential document’ prepared which if he was doing his job, he would have realised this talk was in the public domain for months. Again I say, he refused to speak on the subject due to his association with the Clico powerplay.

26. Wishing in Vain // January 10, 2008 at 2:11 pm

All comments have been under moderation sorry do not be so petty.
    ……………………………………………………………………
    A man should know when something is moderated and when it has been stopped.

27. Andrew.. you said

“….probably waiting for the crumbs from their table”

Don’t you know there are lots of crumbs falling from the table.

Don’t you know many make a meal of the crumbs.

Too bad if you can’t get any!

28. When Owen, who cried 14 years ago, that he couldn’t pay his bills ,is now rated one of
    the nine richest men in Barbados
    ……………………………………………………………………..
    You know if a sickness is in the air, we bajan are so gullible that we will catch it. Did you ask the person who said it what is his position or even Parris in the equation. Maybe, we will have a millionaire Prime Minister taking up the realm of Government.

29. Adrian H asked if it would have been more strategic for Thompson to wait until weekend to release last night info. It is a good question and no doubt they have their strategy. We suspect that they felt they had to respond asap after the Taiwan accusation to stop that story from getting momentum. We also suspect that Thompson has more info at his disposal for the final going down.

30. Andrew // January 10, 2008 at 4:24 pm

When Owen, who cried 14 years ago, that he couldn’t pay his bills ,is now rated one of
    the nine richest men in Barbados….

You sound like a real idiot.

Who are these “nine richest men in Barbados”? Give us their names and their wealth in Bajan dollars.

Any idiot can come on the internet and talk crap as you do.

B F P E

31. David,

“We also suspect that Thompson has more info at his disposal for the final going down.”

Maybe we at B F P E are overly cynical, but why does it seem to us that you really wanted to say “We also hope that Thompson has more info at his disposal for the final going down.”

All Thompson is serving up is wonton soup and cold soup.

Have you driven on the highway lately? …. It’s beautiful.

B F P E

32. Wuh happen tuh de promised “bomb”?

Wuh I ain hear nuhbody in Barbados talking bout um. It was business as usual tuhday.

33. “Tony // January 10, 2008 at 10:07 am

Barbadians better wake up. I am here in New York.”

Then you should stay in New York and mind your own damn business.

B F P E

34. frankology,

Again I say, he refused to speak on the subject due to his association with the Clico powerplay.

FRANKOLOGY,

You clutching at straws !

35. Grandfather Rat @ B F P E //
    As far as many persons are concerned the DLP is on the right track. Many of us believe that David is the man for Barbados at the moment. He is more than capable. He sure leadership potential from very early. He has more experience than Owen did when he became PM

36. Anonymous,

“He has more experience than Owen did when he became PM”

One of them has never won an election in Barbados.

37. I gone.

I gine an visit de DLP-TV site tuh see if it wukking yet.

And 10 seconds aftah dat I gine an spen de res o de nite watching BLP-TV…. ’cause BLP tings does wuk!

B F P E

38. David you still think that the DLP portrayal of Owen as “lil fidel” is overboard?

😀

39. policeman you stupid or what wake and see whats going on around you,you live in mile and a quarter or what

40. I was all for the BLP party until I went to the meeting last night in Haggatt Hall. I know that elections was not going right as my party (the BLP) was not dealing and seem not to want to deal with the issues. I am a person who deal with facts and after tonight I AM CONVERTED TO A DLP SUPPORTER.

We don’t know what Mr. Arthur is going to say concerning defending this issue but my mind is made up. Thank you DLP for looking at the issue of cost-of-living as it is very hard for me, my family and friends trying to survive month to month.

MAY GOD BLESS BARBADOS and there is indeed the need for change.

41. I just finish my own poll ..
    DLP 23
    BLP 7

Owen … Goin … Gone …

There cant be any better justice then Owen at Dodds .. the US can send the VECO man to stay there too ….. ya make ya bed ..then lie in it..

42. Dear B F P E,

You are a true BLP supporter and you need a clap for that. If some one is hurting your family but you love that person who is hurting your family, I can tell that you would clearly leave out your family and go with the person causing the pain.

Maybe you are not going through any thing as you might be a person reaping the sweets from kick-backs from the BLP but as for me me and my family we are hurting and calling me a stupid DLP fraud just tells me what kind of person you are.

Look at what is happening to poor Bajans, as GOD to take the blinders off your eyes, give some of YOUR money to the poor and let me know how it feels. People are robbing and looking to possibly kill for money and food.

You are just for party. I am for facts. Study it.

43. I have decided to describe the meeting for those who did not witness it through their own peculiar circumstances but would like to have an idea.
    Now I have never seen so many cars nor people assembled in the same vicinity. (Bear with me, I am a homebody) Countless; I guess because the crowd was made up of Bees and Dees. But you know what I found astounding? That in the midst of this contentious election run, when the National Anthem was played every one resorted to being pure Bajan.
    It started late. Ronald Jones was the MC/preacher. His English for a teacher was not the best. Branford Taitt was tight den! The night was about Thompson, Estwick and Chris for me. Estwick and Chris were humorous and hard hitting. Has anyone ever heard of a political peachink? Or a squeezy pooch?
    The highlight of the evening was obviously Thompson’s speech. At one time there was an eerie calm during the speech; I think it was the shock of what was said at that point, for everyone went quiet.
    I do not understand how people can say with a straight face that the DLP’s candidates can’t match the BLP’s candidates or anything to that effect. I think most of them are even better than what the BLP are offering. Most of the DLP’s candidates are young, energetic, sweet and fresh looking and academically armed to the teeth. But I digress. Back to the meeting. Chris spoke last. The meetings these days are too long. it finished just after 1 a.m. I was in Julie N’s carpark away from the main crowd, but there was a crowd there too.
    There was one point where, I can’t remember who asked, the crowd was asked if they were going to vote for the Bees and there was the response from the Bees who openly declared yes but then obviously when the question of voting for the other side was put, the response was overwhelming and expectedly so since it would have been a mostly partisan crowd.
    It was fun but serious at the same time. I too sleepy now. Hope that retelling may have helped somebody.
    I got the feeling that the people are tired and want a change. Of course I am human so I could have misinterpreted the response of the crowd.

44. One thing I will say is that everynight I can sit before my computer here in Orlando FL and listen to the BLP meetings. Two days later, I can see the speeches posted online.

On the other hand, I cant see the DLP meetings, or even hear them on the annoying virtual radio that comes on when you visit the site, nor can I see the speeches posted. Im concerned. Is this a portend of how these guys will run the government?

If they are not faithful in small things can we expect them to be in big things?

45. I forgot one….

Or like in the story of the Emperor’s new clothes.

David Thompson promised Barbados that he would step out last night in fine new clothes.

We are only waiting now for the little boy who opens his mouth and says “But the Emperor is wearing no clothes.”

Hmmm…. Did I just say it first? No…. someone on BFP wrote this morning about how she was “underwhelmed”.

Maybe it was spill-off rain from Tuesday night in Eagle Hall that turned Thompson’s “bombshell” into a damp squib.

B F P E

46. B F P E There is no fool like a fool who fools himself. But then again I think everyone on here realizes that you are basically just doing a job, not very well mind you, but I hope you are getting well paid for what you do cause after Jan 15th, it done!!

47. Anonymous, i appreciate your honesty in reporting what pursue last nigh in Haggatt Hall. This is the type of behaviour of a debater. Removing partisan from politics. I agree with you that the crowd was massive, I agree with you when the crowd were asked about voting pattern and I agree the it had Bees within the mix.

48. Looks like Mascoll is cutting down everything Thompson said last night.

This is a VERY RAPID and ROBUST RESPONSE.

All the graphs and the plans for the highway and the flyovers are on the screen. The FACTS (they look very genuine to an ordinary voter like me) are being put out and Thompson is being made to look like a clown.

Poor Thompson. Mascoll must be relishing this moment of revenge.

49. BFPE you really happy with your gov’ts behaviour and favouring a 1 party state so bad? You are not for real. You have to be the country’s first angel because you aren’t from earth.

Georgie Porgie get some time off and come home neh. You will do better for it.

Rachel, don’t let BFPE rattle your nerves. Pray for the person. He could be living next door for all you know.
    Please know that you are child of the universe, with every right to be here like anyone else so let not your heart be troubled.

50. frankology,

Yes the crowd was massive but you can be sure that most of them (D or B) went there to hear the “bombshell” he had promised to deliver.

Where’s the bomb?

He FAILED to deliver.

Just like he failed to deliver DLP-TV. Remember what happened when their promised LIVE STREAM was first supposed to be launched? They said that it was unavailable due to “industrial action at Cable and Wireless”.

He has also promised to deliver a lot more things in his manifesto within 100 days.

Now if he can’t even deliver his own party’s manifesto at the manifesto launch…. and if he can’t even deliver DLP-TV when he promises to deliver DLP-TV…. and if he can’t deliver a bombshell when he promises a bombshell…. why the hell should I vote for him when he promises the sun, the moon and all the stars in 100 days after taking power?

B F P E

Leave a Reply to AnonymousCancel reply