2008 BLP Manifesto - Only The Best For Barbados

Click on image to download

Barbados Labour Party (BLP) released their Manifesto 2008 at Eagle Hall tonight.

It was the turn of the Barbados Labour Party BLP) to launch their Manifest.
rmarshall.jpg

• In is the BLP’s turn tonight. Unfortunately we missed most of Rommel Marshall’s presentation who was the first-up because of audio issues with the streaming.

jbostic.jpg

• The second speaker up to the podium was Jeffery Bostic, the candidate for the City. he made the point that the BLP manifesto was produced in Barbados. A reference to the current accusation that the DLP has been importing shirts from St. Lucia and accepting assistance from Taiwan. He focused on the plans to target the youth. This will involve the establishment of 4 Youth Centres across Barbados. There will be a focus on self-improvement with the expansion of the much discussed Project Oasis. Develop Youth Camps. Construct a multi-sport facility for many disciplines e.g. netball, volleyball, basketball etc. Expose the country to the use of computers. Upgrade subventions to community based organizations…

tlovell.jpg

• Third speaker-up was Dalton Lovell who delivered the BLP promises concerning culture. His speech appeared to be more parochial that national. It was obviously decided that he should use the occasion as a sell job. His presentation was also affected by a gremlin.

Ismael Roett is on his way out but was given a slot to say a few words. He used the occasion to defend his decision in the Hardwood Affair. He also reminded the public of the period 1994 when many Civil Servants were sent home by Sandiford Administration. His delivery was an impassioned one as he tried to make a connection to poverty alleviation and the BLP.

rgrant.jpg
  • Next man up was Rudy Grant. The theme of his opening salvo was to remind the audience of the 1994 period i.e. lay-offs and 8% cuts – a case of fear tactics.
cmascoll.jpg
  • Surprisingly Mascoll was next. We were surprise to hear Mascoll batting a that position in the batting order. he reminded Barbadians of the removal of twenty six thousand people from the Income Tax list. He quite rightly reminded Barbadians of the rise of the middle class under the Arthur administration. As a reward the BLP manifesto will give back to them. He used the example of managers in the private sector who have been in place for a long time so why not Arthur. He appealed to the female vote by outlining opportunities where they had benefited under the Arthur policies. He reinforced the idea that the foreign reserves of the country is very strong which now stands ar over 2 billion dollars, Yet another speaker affected by the gremlins…
lthompson.jpg
  • We are back-up in time to hear Elizabeth Thompson outlining energy initiatives in the Budget. We like the idea of Barbadians getting incentives to push them to embrace energy measures in their household and the type of energy saving vehicles they purchase. Ooops here comes the gremlins again!

Ok people this is where we sign-off. When the BLP publishes its manifesto online we will provide the link on our sidebar.

116 responses to “Barbados Labour Party (BLP) Manifesto 2008”

1. Having seen and studied both manifestos I will vote DLP for a few resons:

1. I can no longer take Owen seriously. Having taken him seriously when he said the Dems’ proposals were too expensive and would bankrupt the economy, he has proposed a possibly more expensive package.
    The DLP economic proposals while expensive seem more targeted to deal with specific issues such as housing and land, the cost of living and a bold proposal in teh area of energy conservation with their solar initiatives. The BLP’s proposals read like a wash pan of potential vote winners.

2. If Owen though these policies were appropriate he could have introduced a number of them at his last budget. He could even have had the elections a little later and do another budget.
    In that light I am hard pressed to take these proposals seriously.

I quite like the proposal for paternity leave. Unlike Donald Duck I am interested in serious analysis, not just blindly attacking one side.

2. buppie

david thompson said on march 15th 2007 that the dlp would make all pensions tax free.

why no mention of it in the manifesto

3. Who said “You came to meetings in your thousands, and voted in your hundreds”? and on what occasion did they say it?

…..I can recall my own reasons for going to Political meetings of either party. Apart from my love of politics, it was too reminisce in the nights of the mobile cinema. 😀

attendance at political meetings are nothing to guage an potential election result on. Not even polls are that reliable as Americans are realizing this morning after the polls forcast a thomping for Hillary against Obama. She won the NH primary. It will be about turn out on election day, and the BLP has the best practices of turning out the vote. The DLP should not rest on their laurels or rely on the call for change, they will need a good and effective plan to get their supporters to the polls.

4. Buppie you say “The DLP economic proposals while expensive”

Where is the dlp proposing to get the money from when it says they will “Give priority to achieving and maintaining a balanced budget while allowing for small manageable fiscal deficits where necessary to facilitate the development objectives of the country.”

Is the dlp proposing to raise taxes and send home people???

5. maybe thompson is willing to listen to advice and exercise fiscal prudence.

in his thirst for a third term owen seems willing to abandon all fiscal prudence.

6. ppl that vote for the BLP ignoring all the BS thats happening in Barbados will deserve what they get.

7. I have no reason to hide after all it is you and your party that has done all the rape of this country’s treasury and has run up cost overruns on every project to the tune of $ 750 MILLION dollars.

Jevan tell me how much this contract is worth you from the BLP to blog your load of crap on these sites, you did say that you were paid by that BLP to blog and give them a good look, your style sort of negates the feel good look good aspect for the party.

I trust that your company RED ADVERTISING is now preoccupied with trying to spread the lie according to the BLP, what a job to take on by a non national !!!

8. Jevan tell me how much this contract is worth you from the BLP to blog your load of crap on these sites, you did say that you were paid by that BLP to blog and give them a good look, your style sort of negates the feel good look good aspect for the party.
    …………………………………………………………………….
    I look and I reach my conclusion. WIV, let the public know your real position or do you prefer me announcing your true identity. Viewers will see that unlike others, your statement are right from the horse mouth, you give Public Relations coverage on things DLP and you do not miss one element of the subject. You surely deserve your salary. Anyway, that is politics, to be reactionary, and fast at recreating stories to benefit your party.

9. Lets us understand the extent of the ARROGANCE of Arthur and his clan of crooks.

What does he feature on the front page of his Manifesto a picture the Oval, a location that has drained the resources of our nation for a single event, and has not been put to any useful purpose other than to host a funeral for Steven Alleyne the same person that Arthur blistered in curse the night before he killed him with his nasty abuse.

10. No, A loyal BLP supporter would suggest that it was only a little tussle a love fight!!!!!

Meanwhile they are at each others throats and wanting to rip them apart.

Does it have anything to do with St.Peter Development Fund account? Or does it have more to do with the DANOS 3 S ROAD WORKS SCAM, or does it have more to do with that GOLDEN SHOWER? Or does it have to do with the VECO OVERCOST PRISON ? Or does it have to do with Owing and his drunking statements about nevr wanting to see the DLP hold office EVER AGAIN.

11. frankology your threats are both vulgar and sickening.

I do not get paid I am a Barbadian with a passion to return this nation to honesty in office, something so sadly missing from you and your clan of criminals.

12. frankology your threats are both vulgar and sickening.
    …………………………………………………………………….
    In all of my comments. Have you ever seen one vulgar word posted by me, have you ever seen any name calling in my articles regarding individuals personal preference, have you ever seen me calling anyone degrading names. WIV, you are the main culprit that use insulting names and remarks.

That is your political philosophy that you do not plan to change since you are qualified in that subject.

13. WIV, please not again,…why can’t you ignore this doppelganger? It has been ineffectual in gaining traction with it’s false arguments, but has been able to detract by gaining undeserved attention to it’s self. No more please.

14. I agree Adrian, it seems to me that its understanding of the word vulgar has one meaning to them.
    Maybe they should open their minds and their eyes and their brain and attend the DLP MASS MEETING TONIGHT AT JULIE’N COMPLEX.

15. WIV. One of your bosses commanding you to refrain from exposing yourself. Please adhere to the rules and gag orders. Your grouping are hogging the blogs with your partisan writing and hate positive confrontation from commenters like me. You talk about aggressive, please read all your submissions and you will see the determination for power. Based on reality, the Dems should not be on the defensive, It is ‘a time for change” and the odds are for you.

The more you refuse to debate issues, but prefer to attack this writer, the more viewers will see how bad you need power.

See you tonight at Julie’N carpark. I attend three Dems meetings and one Bees in Carlisle Park. Stop attacking people ypu might sway voters. A word to the ………..is enough. I refuse to fill the space due to my doubts.

16. Buppie // January 9, 2008 at 10:21 am

maybe thompson is willing to listen to advice and exercise fiscal prudence.

in his thirst for a third term owen seems willing to abandon all fiscal prudence.

You have that wrong, I think you really meant 4th term.

17. WIV, knowing you, using vernacular terms in your statement would be new to you, being a manipulator of political suasion.

18. Maybe they should open their minds and their eyes and their brain and attend the DLP MASS MEETING TONIGHT AT JULIE’N COMPLEX.

With the rain now and due into tonight, I wonder what type of crowd the DLP will be able to garnish tonight, I think they might want to postpone it, but they won’t they would want to prove that they too, can pull a Rain Crowd – by the thousands. But seeing the crowd at the manifesto launch some how I just don’t know.

As said earlier, you can’t always judge voters by an election crowd – though it is a good indication on the ground.

19. Crowds at political meetings mean nothing it is the feeling on the ground that really matters and this feeling is certainly PRO DLP they are so many blp converted to a DLP vote it is unreal.

The source of this movement is at the hands of owing with his DICTATOR WISHES and NEVER TO WANT TO SEE THE DLP EVER HOLD OFFICE STATEMENT, and HIS ONGOING FIGHTING WITH his former cabinet including that of mottley for the cause of ASSCOLL another loser.

He certainly set out to demoaralise mottley, and this he has done in no small measure, to the point that it has caused serious fist fights at Headquarters.

20. Boy you politics in Barbados is so funny. Dennis Kellman and Rommel Marshall seems to have semething in common. I cannot find and instance on any political platform in this campaign season where Kelly or Rommel call their leaders name in the manner of “bigging up” the leader that has characterize election politics in the Caribbean. Kelly likes to talk in the language of being a denfender of the DLP, and Rommel has this thing of starting a speech with “where there is a leader, there is a party, where there is no leader there no party” and we know that his preference for leading the BLP is Mia Mottley. Can any of you find instances where either of these two have spoken of the leader in a manner that suggest they are “bigging them up”?

21. The issue of voting pattern, can be felt by the massive movement of support from the blp towards the DEMS, the winds of change are blowing a gale thru this island, with it some will be blown away lets hope that the main thief and culprit Owing See Thru Arthur is taken out and destroyed by Mr Benn, nothing would be more fitting for his share in this corruption.

22. My comment in relation to the Royal idiot

No wonder our systems are in such dire need of a overhaul, having been left in hands such as yours there was only one direction for it to go and that is downhill.

Why not tell us why the US STATE DEPARTMENT HAS CLEARLY STATED THAT AIM MOTTLEY CANNOT BE ALLOWED TO REGAINING THE POST OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL OR DEPUTY PRIME MINISTER, DOES THIS HAVE A DIRECT RELATIONSHIP TO HER MANIPULATION OF THE POLICE FORCE AND MR .DOTTIN, OR DOES IT HAVE MORE TO DO WITH THE DRUG HAUL THAT SHE WAS PARTY TO???
    TELL US ROYAL IDIOT, YOU WOULD HAVE US BELIEVE THAT SHE IS HONEST AND SHE IS CLEAN , SHE IS FAR FROM EITHER.

23. ……No body except for maybe one Radio commentater predicted a Win in NH for Hillary, and he did so because he would not allow himself to believe that Barack Obama could become the president of the U.S.A as he puts it, he has not been tested, he is not comfortable with his name, he is not comfortable with the views of Barack’s spiritual leader, etc. Not even the Clinton thought that they could have won. Polls are polls folks and if a politician is willing to work hard up the very last minutes as the Clintons did, you can get your results against all the odds. I am not a Clinton fan but as a follower of politics this was a really great win.

24. We must agree with ADRIAN HINDS that neither Dennis Kellman or Rommel Marshall call their leaders name so as to magnify or extol or give adoration to them as is the manner of their party colleagues. I admire them for it. Such worship is meant only for Christ. I go to a Church at which, every Sunday morning we have a service at which the men will stand and from the Bible extol the matchless worth of Jesus. When I hear the politicians talking about their leaders the way they do, they turn me off, and I see them as less than they are. I too do not bow the knee before any man.

25. The BLP should be voted out for the simple reason that they used their clout to cancel all national tv debates. I don’t care what no one tells me, this is how a coup takes place. They take out the means of communications first. Are these BLP folks trying to kidnap the Barbados Government and set themselves up as Dictators for life?

This is scary nonsense. But I hope that bajans do not sit back and take this crap from these BLP folk.

A time of retribution is coming to them on Jan. 15 I would hope. And after that a severe purging of the scally wags at CBC, Starcom, Nation News etc.

26. What’s wrong with Taiwan anyway? The BLP has sold us out to mainland China already?

27. Cat Piss,

I arrived when the speaker of the house was at the podium. There were three other DLP Suppoters with me. Maybe you should mingle among the crowd some more. There are many BLP Supporters who had decided to go with THOPY. They havwe lost faith in Owen and some are annoyned because he brought over Mascoll and has elevated him above others who have been faithfull for a long time.
    They also remarked that Owen has been looking like he under a lot of stress and are concerned about has drinking. Even Liz Thompson expressed some concern about his dunken stake on the platform last saturday night. He is a disgrace.

28. frankology,
    Jevan..you better keep quiet or I will tell the world why you were fired and had to start your own company in Barbados. You know that there is no way you could have started in Trindad.

29. Georgie Porgie // January 9, 2008 at 1:35 pm

We must agree with ADRIAN HINDS that neither Dennis Kellman or Rommel Marshall call their leaders name so as to magnify or extol or give adoration to them as is the manner of their party colleagues. I admire them for it. Such worship is meant only for Christ. I go to a Church at which, every Sunday morning we have a service at which the men will stand and from the Bible extol the matchless worth of Jesus. When I hear the politicians talking about their leaders the way they do, they turn me off, and I see them as less than they are. I too do not bow the knee before any man.
    ==============================

GP i am agreement with you. There is no requirement in West Minister for this behaviour. This “bigging up” of the so called leader has most likely evolved to what and where it is as a result of the socialist mentality of many in the BLP. West Minister is design to enshure at all times good government, so that if the first or prime minister or first amongst his equals loses the confidence his parliamentary collegues he is voting down and another replaces him within the same parliament; what Sandi did after his no confidence motion, calling elections should never have been allowed. It made it seems as if those parliamentarians who on the outside of parliament had a political party relationship with Sandi, had done something wrong, they did not. Sandi thought that the cabinet was a Prime Ministers cabinet when West Minister dictates that the cabinet should at all times be a parliamentary Cabinet. The concept of the Political party is not suppose to interfer or to feature in this process.
    The people of Barbados may not fully understand the details of what we have for a system of governance, but they do know enough to conclude as is captured in the Constitutional review document on page 11 that the Office of the Prime Minister has to much power and that there is a need to decentralize government. This whole concept of a Leader in Barbados is being made popular by what pertains in America, but there can be no such leader in Barbados until Barbadians are able to popularly elect THE LEADER. Until such time all this grand standing by Owen Arthur needs to be restricted to the constituency that he is seeking to represent in parliament. Leader my foot.

30. Truly Amazing !

Dr. Jerome Walcott just announced to Barbadians on the BRASSTACKS programme…….that the BLP gov’t was un – a – BULL to lay the St. Joseph Hospital Report in PARLIAMENT because the DEMS boycotted Parliament during part of DECEMBER 2007 !

Now Owen Arthur said it was during this same time that the DEMS boycotted Parliament during part of DECEMBER 2007………..that the BLP was able to PRODUCE & PASS significant pieces of legislation in PARLIAMENT !

Truly…….UN – BE – LIEVE – A…..BULL….Dr. J. WALCOTT !

31. Jerome

I enjoyed your puns! What fun.
    There is a saying that IT IS UNBELIEVABLE WHAT PEOPLE WILL CONTINUE TO BELIEVE TO REMAIN UNBELIEVERS

32. Well said again ADRIAN HINDS

As far as I am concerned ONLY JESUS IS TO BE ADORED LIKE I SEE THESE POLITICIANS DOING. That is why it sickens me.

We must respect each other, and our selves but not worship folk. No way!

33. Donald Duck, esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, esq

Is thompson using the same gimmickry to get people to a meeting as he did in 1994 to get people to queens park when all was supposed to be revealed about a secret deal with the imf

34. Donald Duck, esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, esq

bajanboy

China is the only country recognised by the UN to be the representative of the chinese people. Why then should we recognise taiwan

35. I Wid David & Dem!!! Avatar
    I Wid David & Dem!!!

LMBAO at all the silly comments by the BLP supporters. The BLP, whose only retort is the alleged Taiwanese funding, with backing from ‘mash mout’ Mascoll in today’s newspaper. Now if that aint a sign of DESPERATION, I don’t know what is!!!

Anyway, not getting in any debates with ignorant people. Going and get ready for these bombs that will be dropped by Bussa roundabout tonight.

See y’all there! 😉

36. Donald Duck, esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, esq

I note that the dlpites on this site have nothing bad to say about the blp manifesto

37. Donald Duck, esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, esq

Harold hoyte is quoted as saying “Similarly, with the removal of VAT from Light and
    Power Bills, I don’t think that has been thought through either and in my view there is too much extravagance in the Democratic
    Labour Party’s giveaways.”

38. Donald Duck, esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, esq

On the issue of price controls recommended by the dlp, harold hoyte is quoted as saying
    “I think that the problem that the Democratic
    Labour Party has found itself in is that it is trying to be all things to all people. And that is the trap that they are now in because they want the public to believe that they are
    going to bring down prices and the public has the conception that if you have price controls prices drop.”
    Hoyte did not think that the Democratic Labour Party thought through all aspects of the proposal

39. Donald Duck, esq // January 9, 2008 at 4:33 pm

I note that the dlpites on this site have nothing bad to say about the blp manifesto
    =============================

Well i am not a dlpite, but nevertheless my veiw on manifestos is to hold onto them to view the incumbent with next election season, as part of the tools to help me decide whether to say with them or vote them out. However, in some cases I wouldn’t even look at it, in particular cases where issues of a lack of good governance are raised and are of concern, where levels of corruption superceed the the way too normal levels of patronage, where persons are obviously tired, not annoucing a sabbatical but never the less being absent from parliament of close to 8 months. When such occurance are before me as an elector, i will not look to the incumbent manifesto but that of the opposition. 😀

40. Donald Duck, esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, esq

The following is a quote from the section of the blp manifesto on telecommunications. nothing can be found in the dlp manifesto on the issue

“Telecommunications offers tremendous opportunities for new investments, growth
    and job creation. for Barbados to launch itself completely into the information age, the development of and access to
    telecommunications is a key stepping stone.
    Barbados has successfully commenced its liberalisation in telecommunications. The
    results are strongest in the mobile cellular
    market and that of internet access.
    The World Bank, international Telecommunications unit has assessed Barbados as number three in the hemisphere
    in respect of internet penetration, surpassed
    only by Canada and Bermuda.
    The remaining aspects of the agenda for liberalisation must now be urgently completed.

We will
    Provide for basis access to the internet at 128kps islandwide
    Strengthen the linkages between
    telecommunications, information
    technologies and the other sectors of the
    economy
    Promote access to basic telecommunications and information services.
    Provide choice to the domestic market as to who should be their international service provider
    Promote the development of e-commerce, e-government and e-business facilitate greater competition, development and innovation in
    telecommunications in order to expand
    the range of services and to increase value
    for money in the sector through reduced
    costs to consumers improve the institutional and human resource capacity of the
    telecommunications sector”

41. Did they promise to rob us blind again too?

42. The Barbados Labour Party is asking us to re-elect them, but they have given us no choice other than to elect the Democratic Labour Party.

Even if the DLP is incapable I still cannot bear to be subjugated under the rulership of the BLP and so I have no choice than to vote how they have forced me to vote

43. Folks the truth about telecom liberalization is to be found at http://www.barbadosforum.com. Where i and others at the height of the secrecy sorrounding the contents of the MOU between the GoB and C&W would show that
    1:GoB had agree to metered rates with C&W clearly stated in it’s green paper on Telecom liberalization
    2:The the primary reason for creating the FTC at that time was give appearances of C&W having to seek what was agree to in the MOU
    3:That base on the facts at the time it was predicted that the FTC today would be a toothless tiger
    4:That liberalization would amount to C&W being more profitable, and still being the dominant player enjoying all the benefits it did as a monopoly. A mere change on name and not of scene.

It is true by mY own reading that Sandiford did us a deservice by selling our charge in BET to C&W and that Owen Arthur didn’t do any better. Owen Arthur followed a strategy that demonstrated fear of disrupting the profits of C&W.

44. When I read some of these comments I really have to laugh. In a day when we are suffering as a country and decadence, rot and decay has set in could somebody still be so blinded as to feel sweet bout how many people waiting for a manifesto in the rain, wunna mekking real sport at this thing yuh.

Half no…. wait…. three quarters of those people will not going to read it cause they are going to be running up and down behind every campaign truck.

They are not going to sit down and “figurate” that their sons and daughters – unless well connected cannot even own a field or a hill – they are no longer our own.

They are not going to stop and study that the pensioners for years could not afford proper meals and the middle class suffering and can’t afford to but food but instead have to wait on the few office parties to take a little something in foil.

They have not stopped to consider that this election was strategically planned because it is well known that it takes a little while to come down from the Christmas euphoria and so we just keep going and going and going not knowing that it all gone.

And finally, BLP manifesto is no gospel according to anyone. If they continue on this path as setting themselves up as gods and moving heaven and earth, God will slap them in their faces plain and simple

45. I’ve been following the comments from all ends of the political spectrum, and with all the opinions going back and forth from both the BLPites and the DLPites, I am still waiting to hear or read what are the MOST IMPORTANT ISSUES that the MAJORITY of our CITIZENS are concerned about.

If we fail to cast our vote based on primary issues that could affect us positively as a people, we could find ourselves in the sea and want a bath.

46. Anonymous // January 9, 2008 at 2:28 pm,

“I arrived when the speaker of the house was at the podium. There were three other DLP Suppoters with me. Maybe you should mingle among the crowd some more.”

LIES won’t help you on Tuesday.

47. This is madness!! I just finished watching CMC caribvision news and this political yardfowl Dr.George Belle on my tv saying that the BLP is out front in the poll that is to be release this weekend……….If that the case, lawd help bim.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

48. Ayub,

Read em an weep, Ayub. Read em an weep.

WE WILL CRUSH YOU.

cat piss @ b f p e

49. Donald Duck, esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, esq

Chris sinckler said at a meeting that was covered on tv tonight that the dlp will pay the full cost of land that they are going to make available to the public. Their manifesto however states that they will

“Provide 500 lots of land in five (5) months
    at $5 per sq foot for first time homeowners.
    These lots have been identified and land will be acquired by private treaty where necessary to speed up the process.

Provide 2,500 house spots for sale to low
    and middle income wage earners in the
    first term of a DLP government.

Commit to building 2,000 housing solutions
    per year in the first term of a DLP government. These will include rental
    units, terrace units and starter homes.”

What are we left to believe?

50. People & Places – No holds bared!
    Published on: 1/9/08.
    by Peter Wickham

rumours of my demise have been greatly exaggerated.
    – Mark Twain

http://www.nationnews.com/editorial/380351180585200.php

===========================
    Well Peter Wickham articles are back in the nationnews paper. One has to wonder what role this video at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wACPASjT_C0 played in this turn around of events. Indeed one has to wonder what role the attitude reflected in the video played in banning Peter’s Article in the first place. IN ONE WEEK THIS VIDEO WAS VIEWED 1,068 TIMES.

===========================

———taken from the Wickham’s article———
    The initial appearance that the DLP “brought down” the government was enhanced by a catalogue of unforced errors made by the PM, starting with the statement that he was motivated in a special way to ensure that the DLP never returned to office. The PM has argued that he was misquoted; HOWEVER, ARTHUR IS FORTUNATE THAT NO REPORTER CAUGHT A SIMILAR SPEECH WHERE HE BOASTED OF BEING THE SECOND LONGEST SERVING LEADER IN THIS REGION, SECOND ONLY TO FIDEL CASTRO. (BLP campaign launch, Wednesday, January 2, 2008).

Peter and all the video is still available to been seen and heard at http://wm.z1.mii-streaming.net/media/blp/windows/Launch of Party Campaign – Bay Street – 2nd Jan 2008/Launch of Party Campaign – Owen

fast forward it to 8:00 minutes. the exact comments are between 8:24 and 8:34.

Leave a Reply to WarriorCancel reply