PM Arthur’s Tiawan Deal Allegations Exposed As Lies

There is the popular saying that a picture is worth a thousand words. To those of you who are a bit slow this Monday afternoon we have highlighted four areas on the image. Can you connect the dots?

115 responses to “The Games That Newspapers Play”

1. Undertaker, Monique
    People clamour for political office because of the large benefits (particularly money-wise and mileage) that can be derived. Give a party, any party, a fourth term, knowing that they would be all to well aware that a chance of gaining a consecutive fifth would be damned near zero, their members will go on a virtual rampage, extracting what ever they could, for the last. This is the nature of things. Kick backs and preferential tendering of contracts (and jobs) are a norm, but given a fourth term,,, wanna aint see nutting yet.

2. As for victimisation, murder!

3. Sonia Cambridge Avatar

BU,

Now let me give you an example of the games that blogs play.

You made reference to a BLP ad carried on CBC’s website and provided a small image of it.

I visited the CBC website and looked at the same ad. At full size it contained the words “PAID ADVERTISEMENT” in small but clearly readable print.

That’s when I realised WHY you shrunk the ad down and made it so tiny when you presented it on your blog.

These are the games that blogs play.

4. banned – what about a first term, give a man first term he not too sure if he will get a second so he might do some underhand things to supliment his income as well. Most of the PM in the BLP have they pensions at least secure, but lets say the DLP ones get in, they might not want to wager the change of not getting twice and getting a pension, they too might will get tempted – members will go on a virtual rampage, extracting what ever they could, for the FIRST. This is the nature of things. Kick backs and preferential tendering of contracts (and jobs) are a norm, but given a FIRST term,,, wanna aint see nutting yet.

The saint David Thompson did some shady things the last time he was minister of finance, I was in a job that made me privy to certain things, and just before elections alot of favours were given, and a lot of assets were sold cheaply to some mega rich folks in Bim, he might pretend but some of us know the truth…….. Reality is 1st or 4th, or 10th term, desperate people do desperate things. A thief will thief, regardless of what he/she has, and a liar will lie. I do hope that the DLP do vote-out Barney Lynch though he is as shady as they get, that is one seat that I would give away.

David Thompson 2Good2BeTrue 😉

He know that if he does not get in now that his political career is DEAD, 3 losses under Owen (4 in the party) would kill any career.

5. That’s when I realised WHY you shrunk the ad down and made it so tiny when you presented it on your blog.

These are the games that blogs play.
    BU Did you do that? :O

6. Undertaker

Wha’ bout ineffectual (who I used to be like real bad), and Pig Wood, Mia (just as shady as they come), Cheshire cat (Mr Sunshine) Dale Marshall and Mr Smart-Asser (than thou) himself. Why stop with Barney alone?
    Truth is no one wants to be a one term anything, No-One. Teafing and flaunting the rules are less likely to bend the rules in the first term than at any other time. Come on man, you know this. (and I am no D T fan either)

7. ineffectual Liz

8. Sonia
    BU scanned the front page of yesterday’s nations i believe to include the sticker that the BLP has been placing on all Nation newspapers for some days now. It clearly shows the consistent position of BLP first then DLP next to a yes or no vote (if u need it spelt out) not sure what you are trying to imply here

9. I am tatanka yotanka the writer: that is, Gary Cole one half of the writing team with my mother Angela Cole that risked so much a few years ago to document and reveal some horrible instances of murder corruption and intrigue.

If you really want to know how corruption works in our society and why i think it and crime are the two issues of the day, and how you can use an anti-corruption campaign from within either party to win out an election, even a snap election like this ask and i will reveal the strategy for the good man of either political party to take the national debate to a higher more constructive level in the interest of democracy

Just ask and i will give you chapter and verse.

I may not know the most recent things, but that will take a day all the figures and the histories i know. I know them all personally at first hand, in my social life not just my political life.

Just Ask.

10. Sonia Cambridge Avatar

Isabella,

Duncy woman!

Go back and learn to READ.

11. tatanka yotanka

I am asking

Please tell me all…….serious

12. Sonia

I did not realize a nice looking girl like you with such a sweet voice could be so rude!

13. Gary Cole

I askin’, I askin’, I deh

14. Georgie Porgie
    Walas she crass

15. Last night I became aware of a tactic being used by Rudy Grant in St. Michael Central.

He has a number of ladies going around the district with copies of the voters list for St.Michael Central. They are going house to house asking the occupants whether they are “B” or “D”.

If you tell them “B” or “D” then they are putting a “B” or”D” next to your name on the voters list.

I asked the lady why she was doing that and she said that when they got back to Rudy”s office they will then count the number of “B’s” and “D’s” and this will give them an idea how many votes Rudy Grant will get.

This happen last night.

16. Not necessarily very accurate, but it might give him an idea of how much longer he should keep trying, or if he should give up now for this election.

17. as long as the funding is not coming from a source who is known for drugs n gun dealings like nigel “bounty” pinder, i dont feel it should be a matter of interest, the main matter is that all funding should be accounted for by the special branch of de rbpf, as to how the funds are spent after and during elections.

when bounty funded campaigns we only heard of it behind police doors, and no one made it an issue, but i guess it has to do with being desperate for votes now that the race is tight.

the press can print what they feel like printing, and the blogs can publish what they feel like, but it all comes down to integrity.

people love scandal and thats what gets publish.

if you owned a publishing company, would you not publish what you think may draw more readers to buy a newspaper or would you publish who you favour.

people its a money thing and competition with the other newsprint just like when something serious happens in bim, whoever publish the article more in detail actually sells more. think openly

18. Anonymous // January 8, 2008 at 1:11 pm

Last night I became aware of a tactic being used by Rudy Grant in St. Michael Central.

All politicians “count their votes” so that is nothing new, most know they supporters and non, so they minus/add and just look for the rest of votes, also lets them know if to expect a defeat/win as the case maybe.

19. I would be good, if BU and BFP would ask every poster to give themselves a “name” so that if you want to reply to a poster you would do so by name instead of copy & pasting for the “Anonymous” ones. Or you have to refer to them as Anonymous 12:30pm etc. A little name calling don’t always hurt.

20. The DLP, despite Thompson’s claim that he was ready since late 2006, seems to have been caught partly unprepared and unready.
    ———————
    To make this statement shows your inability to grasp reality.

Anonymous // January 8, 2008 at 10:59 am

the CBC advertisement I would assume is a paid ad in much the same way that political ads on other CBC Media are.
    ————————
    Then why is it the only NON-CBC related ad on the site, and why is there no web page spelling out advertising rates and costs for anyone else who may want to advertise online. And why oh why is the ad alternating with CBC’s election coverage ad??? Spare me. It’s clear that the government is influencing CBC.

21. anonymous // January 7, 2008 at 8:17 pm

Who is funding BLP? Communist China?

Anonymous,

You got to be a fortune teller !

Read below about the $ 1 Billionsweet heart deal !

The BEES already have the money to burn !

From CHINA a country that :

TORTURES it’s citizens !

FORCED ABORTIONS of it’s women folk !

NO NEED FOR OPPOSITION PARTIES in it’s political process !

So you see why there was the beating of journalists at QEH ( TORTURES ) ?

So you see why George Griffith from Barbados Family Planning in the BLP camp ( FORCED ABORTIONS ) ?

So you see why Owen Arthur is ” Specially motivated to see the DLP party removed from the face of BARBADOS ( NO NEED FOR OPPOSITION PARTIES ) ?

http://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2007/09/21/mia-mottley-returns-from-china-with-promises-of-money-in-exchange-for-continued-silence-on-laogai-slave-labour-camps/#comments

22. Sonia

I am sure you would agree that all commentors can have an opinion on any and all comments, and I am sure that you would further agree that civilized individuals can resist the urge to attack commentors over comments.

23. Sonia Cambridge Avatar

Anonymous,

“Would you be able to manage $200 per week as a single mother with three teenage chidren at a secondary school?”

Nonsense! Any single mother with three teenage children who is living off $200 a week would have to be a real fool if she thinks that she is going to get a rich husband, three less children, or a bigger salary after the elections.

24. Though accusing other countries of

MEDDLING into another country’s politics

is a very serious issue, it is often

said that LAUGHTER is very good

medicine…

Take a read…..

Dumbest Kid in the whole of Barbados ?

A young boy enters Broad Street and Owen

Arthur says to the onlookers, ” This is the dumbest kid in the whole of Barbados. Watch while I prove it to you.”

Arthur puts a $ 50.00 note in one hand and a

$ 100 bill in the other, then calls the boy over

and asks,

“ Who ACCUSED the DLP of taking money

from TAIWAN…….Owen Arthur or David

Thompson , my son ? ”

Owen Arthur further explained , that the

$ 50.00 bill represents Thompson and the

$ 100.00 represents Arthur.

The boy takes the $ 50.00 bill and leaves.

“What did I tell you?” said Arthur. “A little child shall lead them! ”

Later, when the crowd left the scene, they

saw the same boy coming out of Days

bookstore . ” Hey, son! May we ask you a question?

Why did you take the $ 50.00 bill instead of

the $ 100.00 dollar bill knowing that

Thompson NEVER made that

ACCUSATION about TAIWAN ????

The boy holding, very closely to his chest, his

book entitled, “ Lies, Damn Lies …” replied,

“Because the day I remind Owen Arthur of the TRUTH, the game’s over ! ”

Remember, Barbadians every skin TEETH ain’t no…..Laugh….

Have a nice DAY !!!!!

25. Sonia Cambridge a.ka Royalrumble,

It is a crying shame that Royalrumble had to give up MANHOOD to post a LIE on this blog !

The BLP has a LEADER & COUP LEADER !

The BLP said this election is about LEADERSHIP !

David Thompson from day one says he wants 3 LEADERSHIP debates !

If the BEES have moved their leadership base to 2 persons then…..that is a matter for DEM !

The public is watching……!

26. Sonia Cambridge // January 8, 2008 at 12:38 pm

Isabella,

Duncy woman!

Go back and learn to READ.

=============================

You can always tell a BLP supporter and or member. They sure know how cuss and put down people, when they question their weak arguments. 😀

27. i wonder why my comment from 1:35pm still under moderation?

28. Mia mottley is now the standard in Barbados (and the entire region, according to Sonia) for debating prowess???? LOL right….

29. NO TV Debates. What the f***. I don’ buy any of the crap excuses for discontinuing this laudable initiative.

30. I THINK I WILL BE VOTING FOR THE DLP, SEEMS TO ME THE BLP LOST THEIR INTEGRITY.

one thing i hate is people who dont face truth and spread propaganda for positions

31. Kadri,

What business is it of anyone who you vote for or whether you vote at all?

You don’t seem much different from Adrian Loveridge’s BFP with its fraudulent pretense of preaching integrity but coming at the end of the day to dictate to Bajans who they should vote for.

I respect common self-declared yardfowls like Wishing in Vain more than I do false pretenders who seek to deceive the electorate.

Ding Dong Dell of ~B~F~P~E~

32. Ding Dong Delli say wa i want sonny boy, if u dont like what i type, scroll to something else.

stupid poppits you BFPE people are, if wunna dont like what people comment and say when they show support of another party, keep up de stupid comments like urs, only display to de world what type of people we have in bim

at least i am not scared to use my real name either and back it up with real pics.

when u get a real name and pics to back up who u are, then u can step to my level u arrogant imbicile

33. […] The Games That Newspapers Play [image] There is the popular saying that a picture is worth a thou […]

34. Kadri,

Heh-heh…. boy you must HATE free speech REAL BAD!

Sorry fuh you!

35. na, i dont, i love it, thats why i love coming on BU. but what i hate is people who dont respect other peoples opinions without acting their own shoesize

36. Kadri I telling you, nuff respect.

37. Everyone ready for the Chapo/Boxil poll on Sunday showing the BLP way out front?

38. “Everyone ready for the Chapo/Boxil poll on Sunday showing the BLP way out front?”

Sarcasm????

39. i really hope that all of you in this chat room really and truly understand the state that the MAJORITY of people are in…Monique you sound like a lesbian…therefore i know where you’ll be casting your X.
    Internet access does not mean a damn thing…cause i struggle to pay for it monthly.
    I am a 22 year old citizen and it pains me the way that this current gov’t has run the country…filthy…for lack of nastier word.
    I hope that you all know…if the BLP for some strange reason under the sun had to retain…our sweet b’dos will get very bloody…ppl like monique will have to run and hide not from criminals but from ppl who are very hungry..

a hungry man is an angry man..
    a hungry bajan will kill you!!!!

FOOD FOR THOUGHT!

40. can anybody tell me why bigwood lock off smallwood neck after the B.L.P PRESENTED there team in bay steet and went back to there headquarters in roebuck street and malik stood up in a corner like a loopy dog?

41. lol….lol….thats a good question..

they both got dirty secrets…she can treat him anyway she wants…but unfortunate for her… or him…whatever she or he really is..
    time has run-out…malik really and truly int got a clue what he put himself in…when de real juicy corruption scandals hit de fan..he going be just as surprised as the rest of us…

Corruption is very high game…the BLP played it well for the past 10 or so…their only mistake was being arrogant…bajans hate that…shame on bigwood…(lmao)

42. […] The Games That Newspapers Play There is the popular saying that a picture is worth a thousand words. To those of you who are a bit slow this Monday afternoon we have highlighted four areas on the image. Can you connect the dots? […]

43. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Just listened to the PM ranting about the President of Taiwan’s planned visit to St. Lucia.
    Of the ‘100’ persons included in the President’s party are ’50 journalists’ according to the St. Lucia Star.

Why would he object to the visit of a democratically elected President from a MULTI PARTY state?
    I suppose the red carpet would be put out for the non-democratically elected leader of a communist single party state where people are beaten to death for filming human rights abuses!

44. ADRIAN, THERE IT GOES AGAIN
    back to de leaders of the caribbean or should i say followers.
    i am still yet to see a true leader of the caribbean who display leadership and not people who are influenced and intimidated by other world leaders and their policies.
    sorry to say but the caribbean like its the only region without policies.
    if osama bin laden had to visit bim, i feel they would give him the red carpet treatment too, and then bush would call owen or one uh dem and say arrest that man, yes he would be arrested.
    then after bush may say let him go, stupid people here will listen, then few days after we will be invaded by washington for harbouring a terrorist.

the moral of the story is that our so called heads throughout the caribbean are like arrows, other leaders use them to aim and strike us hard and deadly.

45. I hope Mascoll checked first to see whether anyone in the BLP had ever been approched about establishing relations with Taiwan.

CLYDE MASCOLL said yesterday he had reason to believe Prime Minister Owen Arthur’s charge that the Opposition Democratic Labour Party (DLP) was negotiating with Taiwan for election campaign financing.

Mascoll, a former DLP leader who is now running on the Barbados Labour Party ticket, told a Press conference at the BLP headquarters: “When
    I was Leader of the Opposition I was approached to consider visiting St Vincent, and I got the impression that the Taiwanese wanted to get my position with respect to whether the Opposition supports the relationship between Republic of China or the Taiwanese.

“I made it quite clear that on this matter that the Opposition was seeing eye-to-eye with Government with respect to where our loyalties are.

“I cannot say that they were seeking to buy me, but what I can say is that I was in no position to sell Barbados and I remain firmly committed to the view that foreign policy is something that has to be taken seriously by an opposition… .” he said.

There was reason to believe that the DLP was contacted and may have “succumbed to such available financing,” he added.

Mascoll, the BLP candidate for St Michael North West, said he truly believed Arthur’s statement last Saturday night that he had intelligence indicating that the DLP’s campaign was being funded by the Taiwanese embassy in St Lucia.

Meanwhile, Opposition Leader David Thompson has vehemently denied the charges, stating that “the DLP to date has received no campaign funding from either China and Taiwan and the issue of diplomatic relations with either has not surfaced in any of the councils of the party.

In addition, Joseph Chang, a Taiwanese diplomat in St Kitts, said in a BBC Caribbean Report that Arthur’s charge was “ridiculous” and “groundless”. (TM)

46. Adrian Loveridge // January 9, 2008 at 7:41 am

Just listened to the PM ranting about the President of Taiwan’s planned visit to St. Lucia.
    Of the ‘100′ persons included in the President’s party are ‘50 journalists’ according to the St. Lucia Star.

Why would he object to the visit of a democratically elected President from a MULTI PARTY state?
    I suppose the red carpet would be put out for the non-democratically elected leader of a communist single party state where people are beaten to death for filming human rights abuses!
    ==============================
    Utterly amazing. There were many BLPites that believe that Richie Haynes was a communist,….don’t asked them to back it up with any evidence, they just believe what they were told by their poltical masters in the BLP. This willingness of Barbadians to never question the statements and actions of BLP members has got to be the root cause for Owen and his band of thieves to be still in power. How can a man do as many dictorial things as he have done and escape the label of being a communist is simply amazing.

47. In today’s Nation on page 8A, you will see the Peter Wickham’s article. Where are the Forth Estate critics?

48. From the Advocate online, Jan 9/08:

“He [Arthur] explained that given the current development path of Barbados, it would be beneficial to Taiwan to try to land the biggest fish in the Caribbean and as such, he too was approached by the Taiwanese Government back in 2003.

There is no harm in the DLP acknowledging that they have tried to get them to switch too, and that meetings have been arranged because they met with me too, to try to get me to switch. And I told Taiwan, under no circumstances will I do other than recognise the Peoples Republic of China, as the legitimate representative of the people of China. ”

So, would it be correct to say that the BLP have been having secret talks with the Taiwanese as far back as 2003? (just kidding)

Leave a Reply to Georgie PorgieCancel reply