Ideas & Suggestions

David….a Suggestion.

The role of the blogs in uncovering for the public the real ‘goings-on’ behind the scene at the political level has been mind blowing -and good for the country.

However, that letter referred to by Adrian, as well as some feedback from Water works Department and more recently the Fire Service leads me to believe that there is an even greater role for the blogs to play, in exposing the gross inefficiencies, graft and complete lack of integrity in most of our businesses and institutions.

This would also enable us to see those organisations that are well run and that operate with high levels of integrity. This is important because it does not make sense to me, to expect that we will be able to produce top class leaders nationally when we allow a culture of dishonesty, graft and nepotism to bloom throughout the country.

Here is my proposal.

Every month, we select 6 organisations and invite specific analysis of their performance and operations. The CEO or whoever the organisation determines, would be invited to write the lead article (failing which we will invite anyone to do so) and the blog would be open to public inputs. Schools, Government Institutions, Public Utilities, Private Enterprises etc would be included. As comments phase out on a particular organisation, another one would be added. Special moderation approaches may need to be implemented to avoid persons using the opportunity for personal petty purposes – but this should be no problem. I think that this would provide a valuable national tool to promote excellence, deter mediocrity and ferret out dishonesty.

Submitted by Bush Tea

Do you agree with the Bush Man?

If so, can we have some suggestions on the entities we can discuss?

Other suggestions are welcome as we all play our part to safe-guard our democracy.

BU wish to offer the additional suggestion. Many visitors to BU and BFP are former journalists, politicians et al who no doubt are blessed with ideas, observations, theories and other forms of contribution acquired over the years; here is an opportunity to make a difference. Why depart this earth and take those ideas with you? The success of some of the world’s richest cultures are those which embrace knowledge. Students of philosophy may want to expand on the importance of sharing knowledge in the ancient societies.

“An idea that is not dangerous is unworthy of being called an idea at all.”
Oscar Wilde

14 responses to “Ideas & Suggestions=Solutions”

1. VERY GOOD IDEA

2. “The CEO or whoever the organisation determines, would be invited to write the lead article (failing which we will invite anyone to do so) and the blog would be open to public inputs. Schools, Government Institutions, Public Utilities, Private Enterprises etc would be included.”
    ~~
    The idea is GREAT. It would definitely make for more interesting reading. However, I have my doubts if a CEO or his and/or her assistant would write about the org for this type of media/forum. I hope I am proven wrong.

3. I suggest tenders in the local gazette and plans be made publicly available for any and all public works in excess of 50,000 dollars.

Any takers or all too interested in stealing?

4. Most efficiently run organizations of today recruit Communications Specialists or Marketing Executives whose role is to respond to public concerns. Sapidillo it is for this reason that any organization which finds itself in the public eye would want to use whatever avenues to clarify the issues. The old way of Caribbean companies operating as if they should not be obligated to the public in any form or fashion is an outdated way of thinking.

But when the dust is settled you maybe right but let us test it shall we?

PS. From now on, anyone can email us with a submission on any company that she or he wants to critique or compliment. Please submit to: barbadosunderground@gmail.com.

5. If we aim at nothing we will certainly hit it.

These blogs allow the public to open up cans of worms and to examine thier contents.

If we maintain high standards of argument and discussion we will command respect, and the general purpose of this forum will be achieved.

6. I am willing to start with communication giant Cable & Wireless. I have a fundamental problem in the way this organisation is abusing the people of Barbados. This is a company that is making millions in profits, this is a company that refuse to pay a fair bonus based on profits to its employess, this is a company that can control your telephone by a single switch on the compound, yet consumers have to pay absorbent reconnecting fees,

This is a company who collect millions from consumers but recently started a massive restructuring of staff, restructuring sponsorship of sports. Its competitor is spending millions in sports, entertainment, culture, education and things that cement a better Barbados and more than ever a better people. Should profits erode asocial ethics?

Frankology we look forward to getting your email if C&W is not responsive to your request for specific information

7. Stupid confused blogidiots.

You fools need to end your delusions that the ability to post comments on internet blogs gives you some special right to govern politics in Barbados or any country.

8. Blogidiots // January 1, 2008 at 4:41 pm

Stupid confused blogidiots.

You fools need to end your delusions that the ability to post comments on internet blogs gives you some special right to govern politics in Barbados or any country.

==============================

ha ha ha ha ha ha yuh see simply for calling me a fool i will not cease and desist as you wish :D……but what a string of meaningless words? How does one “Govern politics”????

9. So I am here listening to the DLP cultural extravaganza and during John Boyce speech the streaming was interrupted, when it finally came back on it was a repeat mix of music. Makes no sense to me, anybody knows what went wrong?….at this moment the streaming is on but there is silence.

10. Someone cut the wires to the sound system and everything went down.

At the same time a young man in that general area was taken away by the police with blood streaming down his face.

Semms like some kinda sabotage.

11. Oh well. If Thompson would only promise not to investigate Owen and his band of thieves, should the DLP win the government, he might graciously accept the will of the people. 😀

12. “Other suggestions are welcome as we all play our part to safe-guard our democracy”
    I really have no interest in safe-guarding what ever it is that we have. If you want to interest me you must speak of “changing”, radically and not “safe-guarding.

13. Alright, here is an idea. Of all of the private sector candidates that will be selected for this campaign, they must all be required to state if the contribute financially to political parties, and if how much. Let’s solve this problem at source shall we. If they are not prepared to participate at that level, well then they should be placed in a special pile and appropriately labelled.

14. […] Ideas & Suggestions=Solutions […]

Leave a Reply to BlogidiotsCancel reply