blp_tv_small.pngdlp_tv_small.png

Many Barbadians listened to and/or watched on the Internet this afternoon in eager anticipation to Prime Minister Owen Arthur’s nomination to represent St.Peter in the upcoming general election. The anticipation was fueled by the speculation that Arthur might announce the date when the country would move to election mode. Unlike our friends over at Barbados Free Press who ran a story today identifying sources that indicated the election date would be forth coming at this evening’s meeting, we have always sided with the idea that the Prime Minister would want the highway project to be further advanced, along with some of the other projects. The Prime Minister is savvy enough to appreciate that as time passes, the robust public debate on some hot and current issues like Hardwood will fade. So the Prime minister is playing his last trump. He will ride it out.

We must compliment both parties for using a non-traditional channel to disseminate information to the people. However, they have fallen a little short because they are using it to provide one-way communication. We detected some amateurism in the production and with some of the speakers on display; no doubt this will improve as time passes. (This comment was not meant to be a criticism) They need to individually interact with people at home and abroad by using the same technology. In the coming weeks, we are looking forward to making this topic our ‘Front Page’ story as election stories surface.

The countdown has started!

Please note the following:

• We have provided a Submissions Page which can be accessed at the top of the page to discuss ANY issues which maybe troubling you.

• We have updated our sidebar to show the BLP and DLP TV

90 responses to “BLP & DLP TV Broadcasting On A Computer Near You”

1. Let me spend a minute to expose how poorly informed and his lack of education on the matter that he is shooting his mouth off about, he states that They used to pull up (boats) at Port St Charles. The Government cannot rely on that.

He is speaking on something that he is not informed on, or rather he is just lying thru his teeth, Port St.Charles Marina HAVE NEVER PULLED OUT ANY BOATS DURING ANY HURRICANE SEASON they may have open and provided a safe harbour but never have they hauled out any boats, they do no have such facilities available to them, I wish that before he rattles on about things he knows nothing about but designed to fool the masses and sound good, and to catch votes but he is a liar on this score and on many other issues as well.

It also seems that it has taken the absence of the Opposition and in particular the absence of the Leader of the Opposition Mr. David Thompson for Arthur to return to the house and say something after 8 months in absence.

2. There is nothing professional about a blog we speak from the heart.

If the views do not mesh with yours so be it, you have choices to make but I will be around as long as the lord gives me the breath to do so, the fact of the matter is this current admistration will go down in history as the most corrupt, dishonest bastards ever to grace the House of Assembly.

If you have any doubts about this fact just take a look around you and you will see many examples of this stealing, the VECO PRISON, DANOS ROAD WORKS are but only two.

3. frankology // December 18, 2007 at 11:19 am

What says you? who will you be voting for? and who would you like to win?
    ……………………………………………………………………..
    Plain and simple. NONE. Both parties have the same ideology and being a small developing country, almost every political candidate are family to one another, eat together, drink together, tell lies together, corrupt together; and finally, laugh at us TOGETHER.

Here we go again Adrain, if I were a gambler I would place a bet that he will be the first at the door step of the electoral station on the morning of voting.

WHY,WHY,WHY, WHY????????

4. frankology // December 18, 2007 at 11:19 am

What says you? who will you be voting for? and who would you like to win?
    ……………………………………………………………………..
    Plain and simple. NONE. Both parties have the same ideology and being a small developing country, almost every political candidate are family to one another, eat together, drink together, tell lies together, corrupt together; and finally, laugh at us TOGETHER
    ==============================

….So am i reading you correctly? that you will not be exercising your franchise, your God given right, a right that many died to make happened, that you will allow the injustice of our two party, first past the post, centralize governance system where the powerfull get all the access, and the masses are confined to 2X4 space to participate in democracy so doing every 5 or so years? Well if you are not going to participate, then the GoB has no reason to listen to you, and quite frankly me neither. If i am correct that you intend to be so caveliar about an important fuction that all age appropiate citizens must attend too, then i hereby tender my resignation from ever responding to anything you have to say. I would urge all others to so do. What would be the point? Are you serious? It is noted however that a low turn out at the polls would advantage the BLP. Is there a position that you will not take in the interest of the party that you so clearly want to win while claiming to be independent until the last moment? schhhuuuupppsseeee.

5. frankology // December 18, 2007 at 11:29 am

Adrian, you must be saying that I am on WIV’s case, but this culminate with his constant negativity with the Owen’s lot. We know that certain dealing with certain ministries are questionable, but we must not cloud people with constant bombarding of his political diatribe, yet he refuse to deal with certain issues that might question the Opposition leader political and professional involvement.

Unlike you, although you are a DLP supporter, your behaviour is professional.

The people of Barbados don’t need to you to parse political commentry for them. We all had access to the same educational facilities and means of education that you may have been expose to, and so we too can discern for ourselves what is and what isn’t. I like choice,…..choice in the retial sector and as well as sources of information, from which i can determine the most likely case of truth. You state your case, and let WIV state his and i will pick sense from it all.

So sayeth the people. 😀

….BTW there is a difference in my mind between being a DLP supporter and being a voter that will place his x for the DLP candidate in my constituency.

6. Adrian thank you for you defence but I really have no need to discuss or argue any issue with this person, I have formed my opinion on this one from his previous comments on another part of this blog where he was clearly exposed to be a liar and in my books has no creditability to address me you or anyone on this blog on any matter, therefore my plan is to continue to ignore it.

Thank you for your support anyway, Happy Christmas to you and your family.

TIME FOR A CHANGE AND NEW DIRECTION IN THIS ISLAND.

7. Adrian. Democracy is the right of a person to do what ever that person please, once it is not a crime against the state or others. No country in the world ever had above 80% voters, I am just a fraction of the undecided or may I say deliberate avoidance in voting.

I have the right base on my observation to refuse to endorse any party (veto). Voting is not a God given right, neither having a child. It is that person’s right. If I had to vote, I will just get 10 cents and see if it will fall on either heads or tails, but I would not loose any sleep in deciding who to vote for.

8. Here we go again Adrain, if I were a gambler I would place a bet that he will be the first at the door step of the electoral station on the morning of voting.

WHY,WHY,WHY, WHY????????

9. #
    Wishing in Vain
    December 18, 2007 at 1:32 pm

There is a copy of a motion befoore the house and it was placed there by the DLP on the same day as the Motion of no confidence was, where is the one from the blp?

BFP Comments

Hello WIV,

You’re a DLP insider. Please post a copy of the new legislation/motion here on line for all to see an evaluate.
    …………………………………………………………………
    I did not say it, your affiliation has been confirmed by the same blogs you write for.

10. As I said before, I write when I see injustice and will deal with Dees, Bees, PEP or Political-would -like-to-be.

You all write because you might be paid for your PR mouthing. Simple.

11. My PR mouthings are simply mine not paid not hired not connected.

Simply a very concerned citizen by the massive unabated corruption that is the trademark of this admistration.

I know some of you hate the subject but it is real it is in your face and for you to look the other way while they continue to shaft you that is a matter for you.

For me I will continue to speak out about this corruption and the role the PM has played in fuelling the fraud against the taxpayers of this island.

12. The people of Barbados don’t need to you to parse political commentry for them.
    …………………………………………………………………….
    Your bias is showing, Who is the biggest culprit in the one-sided disbursement of politics on these blogs. WIV of course!

But again, all of you might be working for one cause, and maybe occupying the same room for the same cause. Just remember Antigua and St. Lucia and St. George with political propaganda that backfired.

13. So much said, nothing accomplish. We might meet on the other issue where are concerted minds will mesh and deal with other corruption that confronts this nation. I still stay this is what democracy is all about. We will never see through the same cornea at the same time.

14. So much said, nothing accomplished. We might meet on other issues where our concerted minds will mesh and deal with corruptions that confront this nation. I still stay this is what democracy is all about. We will never see through the same cornea at the same time.

15. At least I have chosen to take a stand and I am supporting the DLP and I am willing to state my concerns truthfully and honestly.

Unlike you that try to say one thing and do something different, be a man and stand up and say I am a loyal party supporter trying my best to eke out a vote for the party on this site and the BFP site rather than to be hiding behind the closet door and peeping out.

I previously voted for both parties but this time around my vote is firmly with the DLP and its able Leadership in Mr David Thompson, and the vote will be against the corruption that has plagued Owing and his gang that make up the BLP.

16. Plain and simple. NONE. Both parties have the same ideology and being a small developing country, almost every political candidate are family to one another, eat together, drink together, tell lies together, corrupt together; and finally, laugh at us TOGETHER.
    #######

Frankology, so you just engage in intellectual jousting? Well, I for one will not waste my time with you anymore.

17. Two down and counting he is have a good day.

Adrian thank you for you defence but I really have no need to discuss or argue any issue with this person, I have formed my opinion on this one from his previous comments on another part of this blog where he was clearly exposed to be a liar and in my books has no creditability to address me you or anyone on this blog on any matter, therefore my plan is to continue to ignore it.

Thank you for your support anyway, Happy Christmas to you and your family.

TIME FOR A CHANGE AND NEW DIRECTION IN THIS ISLAND

18. Well, I am ready to play and I would not allow anyone of you with political agendas to stop me from dealing with issues that affecting Barbados. All of you are of the same ilk and I will not allow you to stifle people, so brothers, the game is on.

19. Wow!. My writing just hit someone’s jugular vein. We do have some truth from my statement and the attackers are drawing weapons to defend their territory.

20. Frankology, so you just engage in intellectual jousting?
    You all are famous for it, so heck! I can join the game.

21. Nothing wrong with intellectual jousting. It is written IRON SHARPENETH IRON.

So joust on friends!

22. frankology // December 18, 2007 at 12:19 pm

Adrian. Democracy is the right of a person to do what ever that person please, once it is not a crime against the state or others. No country in the world ever had above 80% voters, I am just a fraction of the undecided or may I say deliberate avoidance in voting.

Frankology, I will limit my comments to you. I am not that inclined to talk too people who have no interest in exercising their franchise. I think it is the pinnacle of ignorance to be in one instance talking about abstaining from voting, and in the other to be relishing in your democratic rights. The latter does not exist for very long without the former.

23. if I were a gambler I would place a bet that he will be the first at the door step of the electoral station on the morning of voting.

24. Democratic rights also deals with abstaining from voting and with my stubbornness, the elections will come and go without my vote.

25. WIV, if you know who I am, you will realise that I am a stubborn character and elections will past without my ‘X’. My one vote will only affect a constituency unless it is a tie and possibly, my vote would surely be missed. But that’s the gamble I will have to take my learnt friend.

26. But what are the issues Frankology deals with? Frankly, I find him to tedious. He just splits hairs and, with an inability to conjugate, just plays with words. He is neither B nor D. He doesn’t vote. Does he breathe?

27. What crap am I hearing about leadership and Owen Arthur? Tell me what has Owen led as a youngster? To what group did he belong?
    He did not belong to a club, a youth group a church group.He did not organize any community group.
    In fact in Mile&Quarter where he lived, he did not mix with the youngsters. At school and at UWI, he was a wimp. Except for drinkin binges at Mona.
    At the political level, he was also a wimp, crying on the floor of the House when, he was down and out and was pleading with the selfish leaders of the BLP – Forde and St,John to give a piece of the action. He had NO EXPERIENCE.
    So what about this tact that they are trying on Thompson. Thompson is a natural leader. At school, Thompson dispalyed his leadership skills -debating, Youth Club activities, Organizational skills and he was a UWI Scholar – I Think.
    We all have to start ferom somewhere. If we continue with this nonesense, what would we leave young people to do? They would not stand a chance of ever getting a start,
    So stop this crap about lack of experience.
    GO AHEAD DAVID THOMPSON BARBADOS IS BEHIND YOU!

28. Such Stupid Comments Avatar
    Such Stupid Comments

And so we start anew with TOM PEE, 20 years after being a member of parliament.

You said that Owen HAD,, nb. HAD no experience. Well we are in the year 2007 almost 2008 and Owen has proven to be an astute leader at the local, regional and international levels. He has been thro’ the hottest fire and has proven his mettle.

So when people talk about TOM PEE lack of experience they are really refering to the fact that he has 1 year experience 20 times. They are also equating lack of competence with lack of experience. TOM PEE is simply, immature and incompetent.

When we look for leadership we look towards OWEN ARTHUR, when we want leadersh@t we look toward the LOO

Towards a new bebigining with the BLP and OWEN ARTHUR

29. But what are the issues Frankology deals with? Frankly, I find him to tedious. He just splits hairs and, with an inability to conjugate, just plays with words. He is neither B nor D. He doesn’t vote. Does he breathe?
    Issues – ALL
    Too tedious – SORRY – that’s my style when
    ensuring all my facts are vented.
    Conjugate – Too many questionable
    variables to combine.
    Bee or Dee – Same ideology, different name.
    Don’t Vote – My democratic right.
    Don’t Breathe – Yuh got me dey!

Anyway, I am still able to make at least a 1% contribution, some people cannot even make a half percentage.

30. Such Stupid Comments Avatar
    Such Stupid Comments

It is my esteemed pleasure to congratulate the officials whom are responsible for the implementation and monitoring of the much talked about Project Oasis. I had heard much talk about this project but it is on investigating and researching the project that I really understood what it was about.Mr Wood I must say that that it was a very good initiative not only for the ‘boys on the block’ but also for society as a whole. This project seeks to correct and deal with a trend and a problem which mainstream society seemed to have lost control on. I believe strongly that if we say we embrace free education for all, then all of us as Barbadians should be proud of this initiative. The conceptual thinking of this project seeks to train and retrain our at risk youth ,aspects of self development, life ,education and most importantly, allow these youth to realize that they have potential and are not just rejects or social deviants .Through this project many individuals whom otherwise may have fallen through the cracks have been afforded opportunities in both job and entrepreneurship. Others have also benefited from the life skills components which have been taught. As a society which is so conscious about our moral status I think it should be interesting to note that personal self development is an important tool to achieving social cohesion within society.

We now have a system in place to deal with a problem and I would like to call on all Barbadians to put their backing behind a project such as this Project Oasis. Remember, we should be our brother’s keeper. It is our duty to look out for one another and if the ‘boys on the block’ as they are regarded are willing to work with this project and make a positive change then by all means support it. This project will help shape some of our future minds and will be instrumental in our future, societal development.

(Jermaine Beckford is a university student with an opinion on everything)

31. I would suggest that the outgoing representives ought to have followed the style of the idiot ASSCOLL and to give each and every member of the POOR BLACK BOYS of the community a $ 2 million donation to help them, that is representaion for you, ASSCOLL did it.

32. Wishing in Vain // December 20, 2007 at 11:41 am

I would suggest that the outgoing representatives ought to have followed the style of the idiot ASSCOLL and to give each and every member of the POOR BLACK BOYS of the community a $ 2 million donation to help them, that is representation for you, ASSCOLL did it.

ha ha ha ha ha you too bad, but i actually glad that something, anything has been attempted to turn these guys away from their idleness. It is to be lamented and castigated that we did not seek to deal with these problems as they were being manifested in an educational system that is becoming more and more North American, by way of sexy nouveau concepts that are loaded with promise not met, as best practices of these initiatives in their native NA school systems and districts will attest. That these ideas and progressive promises are being and indeed have been introduce to our society with devastating effect, only to be met with a stubborn unwillingness to rethink, and return to approaches that did not have all the unintended consequences we have seen, for in spite of all these changes to our system we can still talk of person dropping through the cracks.
    ….Now that the failed results of these new educational approaches have matured to adulthood their negatives have also been magnified in all manner of anti-social behaviour. So it is from this view point that i welcome any initiative such as Project Oasis which seeks to put to work idle hands. I will not however be rewarding this Government for this initiative, as i see this project as a patch solution in keeping with the naked pragmatism that is rampant in Barbados, where things must first occur, and occur consitently, and beyond any shadow of doubt for this GoB to attend to it, and by then it is usually to late, for any meaningfull and or sustained turn around. So, Inspite of my positive view of this late stage programme, I cannot help but note the similarity it holds with a past generation of men and mainly women along side our roads weeding, and hoe-ing, the difference being impliments/tools of the job, and view of not being employees of a government department, but one of being young entrapeneours. Is this progress?

33. Such Stupid Comments Avatar
    Such Stupid Comments

When we look for leadership we look towards OWEN ARTHUR, when we want leadersh@t we look toward the LOO

Towards a NEW BEGINING with the BLP and OWEN ARTHUR

34. You are right Barbados Underground – the countdown has started.

Barbados Free press has just announced that the first vote has been cast

35. There is a lot of comedy in politics. 😀

36. ssc you are struggling terrilbly when you have to use the DLP slogan and alter it, then again the leader of the opposition has been running this island for some time now right down to the calling of the election.

37. frankology // December 17, 2007 at 12:48 pm

I made the submission that the Owen Arthur’s Government will call election not earlier than June 2008. First, the so-called price reduction would have to to show up in consumer’s shopping cart, the widening of the highway would have to be functioning with the various infrastructure in place and finally the results for the n0-confidence motion should not overshadow the election.

FRANKOLOGY,

When you reflect on your words above you will see how often….Owen tricks you !

Just like he in did January 2006 when he said ……” Come hither and toil ” !

38. frankology // December 17, 2007 at 12:48 pm

I made the submission that the Owen Arthur’s Government will call election not earlier than June 2008. First, the so-called price reduction would have to to show up in consumer’s shopping cart, the widening of the highway would have to be functioning with the various infrastructure in place and finally the results for the n0-confidence motion should not overshadow the election.

FRANKOLOGY,

When you reflect on your words above you will see how often….Owen tricks you !

Just like he in did January 2006 when he said ……” Come hither and toil ” !

39. barbados labour party is no good. it is only filled with whores and lesbians like Owen and Mia

40. i hate blp with a passion f… them all

Leave a Reply to frankologyCancel reply