bp50133.jpg

Source: Nation Newspaper

On Tuesday, the Opposition Party in a show of protest boycotted the sitting of the Lower House. They have indicated that they will be taking their message about the Hardwoods Factory Housing Affair to the streets of Barbados for the people to decide. Their decision stems from what they perceive to be inequitable treatment in parliament by the government controlled Lower House. With the DLP committed to the boycott, Denis Kellman made the personal decision to take his seat in parliament. According to reports, his stay did not exceed two minutes. He has given the reason for breaking ranks with his colleagues his commitment to attend parliament whenever he is in the country.

We commend Denis Kellman for taking the job of Member of Parliament so seriously.

On the flip-side to this position is the notion of collective responsibility which we wish to explore. The Leader of the Opposition is about to lead the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) into an election battle and as part of a strategy, he has decided to keep his party from attending parliament for the rest of the year. It’s his strategy and we don’t have to agree. The concern which we have is the decision by Kellman to override the party position based on his personal position. We again commend Kellman’s willingness to be committed to a personal goal. We wonder if in this case he shouldn’t have exercised better judgment. To continue to feed the public perception that he is not part of the team by insisting that he should sit in parliament for a useless two minutes appears to have been a farcical decision. For a man who has spent over a decade on the opposition benches, Kellman should be amenable to adjusting his ‘lone ranger’ behaviour for the collective good of the party he claims to serve. This is an issue where he had to weigh the benefit of attending parliament for two minutes, compared to the goodwill his Democratic Labour Party is expected to receive from the boycott.

In the back of our minds is a question mark which we have about Kellman and his loyalty to David Thompson. Has he forgotten what transpired when he and David Estwick were critical of David Thompson during the tussle for leadership of the party? Kellman will have to make some important decisions, and very soon, if he does not want to derail party plans.

85 responses to “Is Denis Kellman A Loose Cannon?”

1. 1994sept6-1999jan20 4years 4months 2weeks
    1999jan20-2003may21 4years4months
    2003may21-2008sometime = >4years7months

The BLP sure seems confident of victory! *sarcasm*

2. MOORE = OSSIE MOORE = O. SEYMOUR (say it quickly) .. Barbados biggest idiot ….

3. Makaveli // December 17, 2007 at 3:19 am

1994sept6-1999jan20 4years 4months 2weeks
    1999jan20-2003may21 4years4months
    2003may21-2008sometime = >4years7months
    …………………………………..
    4 yrs, 7 mths and counting…..
    Sure doesn’t seem like confidence to me.
    BTW, who are the ones that are confident? They all frightened and it is showing. One only has to check the behaviour of the members of the governing party.

4. Such Stupid Comments Avatar
    Such Stupid Comments

We look forward to seeing DENIS in the House of Assembly today….. Afterall he is the only remnant of Barrow’s DLP

5. A year ago I felt the Bees had a good shot at winning by about 19-11.

Now……I don’t know. They need the swing to return to under 5%….5.5% is a dice game and if it approaches 7% in a system of first past the post…they gone through the eddoes.

It is more difficult for a 3term incumbent , they have had 23 or more MPs since Jan 1999. All those junior ministers expected promotion eventually, they probably think the sooner the better. BLP would be worst off with a squeak pass victory 16-14 or even 17-13 than an outright defeat.

Both sides will be desperate in this election. If Barbadians are satisfied with the last term of the BLP government then they will be returned to office, if the people are dissatisfied, as long as they don’t have “battered wife” syndrome then they’ll vote the DLP into office. Young people don’t vote in large numbers in Barbados, but it is important to remember that there is an entire generation of voters that only know of BLP government and vaguely remember the DLP or Sandi or the 8%.

In Jamaica, JLP benefited from young voters who voted because they didn’t have any hang ups about the past, Seaga as PM was a distant memory, so they gave them a chance. Its hard to get much closer than that election.

When the numbers are close, and your political base is consolidated, it is all about bring out the undecided voters and the youth who absentee. The party faithfuls do not decide an outcome because their staunch support neutralizes each other.

6. I agree with you.

I’m still predicting a victory for the BLP. 19 seats confirmed already. Others will be very very very very close.

Lynette is giving David a run for his money. She’s tipped to win. so is David Gill and Dalton Lovell……but who will the BLP’s casualties be?

7. Who is Dalton Lovell? Don’t you even know your own candidates Jay? How can you “confirm” a seat. This is dangerous BLP stuff like the statements of Owen on Sunday about the Dems. Only the Lord knows the outcome of the next election. And I firmly predict the Dems will win by a landslide.

When a government changes in Barbados there is always a landslide. The Dems have shown much strength and character.

Errol Barrow – great man that he was – didn’t get four terms and I doubt Bajans will give Owen four. The Dems lost lat time only because of disunity. Keep it together guys and Jay will eat his or her vomit.

8. One but can only dream as the ones like Jay and clan are doing, it is clear to me that these people are living on another planet, I have been around many elections going back to the ones in the 60’s and I can safely state there has never been a time leading into an election that the mood has been so energised and angered by the actions of the ruling party and just looking, waiting, and hoping for the date to be called to dismiss this gang of corrupt gangsters from the halls of the House of Assembly.

9. Such Stupid Comments Avatar
    Such Stupid Comments

Leviticus Chapture nothing, verse foolishness wrote …. “The Dems lost last time only because of disunity. Keep it together guys and Jay will eat his or her vomit.”

The DEMS lost last time …. TRUE
    Because of DISUNITY ……. TRUE

Disunity created by TOM PEE and his disgruntled fraction ……. TRUE

“Keep it together guys…. a desperate plea ….. OH yes TRUE

Will be defeated again ……. TRUE
    Because of DISUNITY ……..TRUE
    Because of TOM PEE.. again….. TRUE
    WILL remain DESPERATE ……. TRUE

Here endeth the reading.

10. May I say that I find it disgusting when people such as the one above can find the time to make fun of the bible and the church as was done in the above posting.
    Grow up you idiot and have some respect for things religious even if you have none for yourself!!!

11. Such Stupid Comments Avatar
    Such Stupid Comments

The Church is one Foundation
    Its Jesus Christ our Lord

…. I don’t worship man..

You request that I have some respect for things religious. Does TRUTH feature in religion and if so shouldn’t you also have respect for TRUTH? I am just wishing in vain

12. That misquote above reminds of a speech by Lionel Craig in the 1970’s that Errol Barrow had to correct. He said, that Barrow attacked the church but, “the Church is one foundation!”

Errol Barrow had to remind him that the hymn is, “The Church’s one foundation is Jesus Christ, her Lord…”

But no one would expect that clown SSC to know that! Like Lionel Craig, Cap/SSC is as dense as a mahogany tree.

13. Such Stupid Comments Avatar
    Such Stupid Comments

You request that I have some respect for things religious. Does TRUTH feature in religion and if so shouldn’t you also have respect for TRUTH? I am just wishing in vain

14. Such Stupid Comments Avatar
    Such Stupid Comments

The Church shall never perish!
    Her dear Lord to defend,
    To guide, sustain, and cherish,
    Is with her to the end:
    Though there be those who hate her,
    And false sons in her pale,
    Against both foe or traitor
    She ever shall prevail.

Long Live the Church
    Long Live Owen Arthur
    Long Live the BLP

15. On page 3A what do we read in the Nation newspaper today? The House of Assembly adjourned today and the DLP boycotted like they said they would. Here is the punch though, NO KELLMAN!!!!

What is responsible for Kellman’s no-show? Is he overseas?

16. Long Live Such Stupid Comments Cap Durant … on other peoples earnings!

17. Sally Anne Mottley Avatar
    Sally Anne Mottley

I am amazed that contributors to this post will get themselves sidetracked from the issues before us. The Barbados Labour Party must do everything to hold on to the government. Otherwise the filth which would flow from the revelations hidden in many documents would cover this country. The density of corruption will make us all scream. Ask Owen Arthur how he amassed his tens of millions in such a short time. He will soon be going offto Nigeria to full up his campaign bag to the tune of $5,000,000.00 dollars. He will also be given permisson for the establishment of a Nigerian Bank in Barbados. You all watch and see. Barbadians have grown careless in their analysis and understanding of political realities. It is not about David Thompson or even Owen Arthur. It is about our ability to think critically and usee our eyes and ears to see what is going on in our country. May all of you be blessed

18. Sally Anne Mottley Avatar
    Sally Anne Mottley

Denis Kellman is an study in psychological profiling. He is a proverbial loner who must listen to himself and therefore his antics usually come from the outfield. His drop in on parliament says that he is just as scared as most people in Barbados. He simply wanted to play it safe. Kellman needs to grow up and stand for something in his life. He needs to stop sounding off about his intellect and knowledge. He needs to act as a member of the team. That is a major part of life.

19. Such Stupid Comments Avatar
    Such Stupid Comments

When we look for leadership we look towards OWEN ARTHUR, when we want leadersh@t we look toward the LOO

Towards a new bebigining with the BLP and OWEN ARTHUR

20. Such Stupid Comments Avatar
    Such Stupid Comments

maine beckford // December 20, 2007 at 3:07 pm

A New Beginning

Owen Authur has shown us that you not only have ideas, but you reinvent ideas and constantly re-gear yourself for the changing times. Our Prime Minister is an intellectual genius whom has never seems to amaze the public with his ept display of modernity and continually retooling himself and the country to be abreast of the times so as to deal with the many challenges that will face us in the age of the 21st century.

Leadership will play a decisive role in the deciding of our fate. We need to have someone whom is bold in will and not just words. This country needs someone who truly cares about the interest of the people and takes the plight of the next generation to heart. The prime minister in all his excellence has set high standards for the office and has definitely shown us that the one who now parades on and off as an opposition leader is not even close to being a quarter of the man that Owen Arthur is. If you compare, on will and guts and conscious negotiating experience, with a crude and inhumane developed culture, hats must be taken off to the Prime Minister.

“If the future leaders are listening tell them come forward, tell them of a new beginning.” Barbados has developed more over the last thirteen years than in any other time throughout our history. Taken on the heels of a complete breakdown of our economy and rampant depression throughout society, as a result of a former destructive malice with no conceived sense of reality, Owen Arthur has taken this country from being almost full followers of places like Haiti ,Jamaica and Guyana to a country that is known from crease to crease as the number one developing country in the world , to the extent that if time prevails and the almighty lets it be Owen Seymour Arthur will have engineered this economy to full development. That is worth applause.

This development has not been easy and everyone has not always been happy, but one thing cannot be denied, we are proud of our country and where it has come from and where it is going. if we as a people continue to work together and avoid the destructive lying and pertentitious individuals whom only intent is to wreak havoc on this country and leave the people, especially those young innocent children whom deserve a future in Barbados, one that can only be afforded under the wisdom and common sense of a man so remarkable in his honour, Owen Seymour Authur.A new plan has been drawn, things have been set in motion, we have all benefited and will continue to benefit. The experience lies only within. Our country needs serious leadership and policy makers, not people begging for sympathy and having issues that seem to be termite infested. At a glimpse you cannot even determine the real 30 candidates of the opposition. A house divided is bound to fail. We do not need them to fail at our expense, we are moving, let us keep moving forward .Thompson will only murder this country, all its resources, our valued economy and leave the system in social decay as he exits to his true homeland

21. Such Stupid Comments Avatar
    Such Stupid Comments

Have anyone notice that it took Denis Kellman only 2 minutes to whip TOM PEE and Break his Facade

22. Denis Kellman is an ass. The Dems missed too many opportunities to rid themselves of that clown now he believes he is untouchable. Kellman is a big Owen Arthur ass licker. Both are four feet eight inch miserable midgets and excuses for men who believe they are God’s gift to the universe. Why would anyone in Barbados want Kellman to lead anything? The man is a humbug who hallucinates about his importance all the time. Like I said he is an ass.

23. Such Stupid Comments Avatar
    Such Stupid Comments

Have anyone notice how the DEMS take delight in attacking each other and in the most insulting terms. Yet in the next breath they will tell you they are united. United in what, in a desire to destroy, friend foe annd country?.

To A NEW BEGINNING.

SSC can we use your argument and ask for examples?

24. SACKIE,
    I cannot agree with you more and so are many many more people in his constituency.
    Yes there are comments being made about the legacy of the late Errol Barrow doing his ‘bit’ for the poor plantation workers. Some have said, “We never cross the floor.” One explained to me as not voting for the other party.
    Mr Kellman is aware of this obsession and perhaps believes that those same could pull him through every time.
    I firmly believe that if a third party was in the running, that member of the third party would have a very good chance of wining or perhaps running a close second.
    Mr. Kellman has done absolutely nothing for St. Lucy but only to make St. Lucy the ‘joke capital of the North.’He is an embarrasment to those he represents and perhaps to his party.He has to go.

SSC,
    I am sorry. Do you really believe what you have written above?
    Under this last BLP government, a great deal of changes have taken ‘root,’ but not for the good of Barbadians, now or the future.
    This administration has sold off our ‘Family Silver’. Barbados now belongs to the ‘Non-Barbadian’. Now the majority of the population must live in hope .
    The Opposition has had time enough to show the people they are serious and determined on making a change for the better; they have failed.
    What is left now?
    The choice is between a rock and a hard place. To vote for change and have a name changed is not what is needed.
    Three weeks before an election and the public is no near knowing the policies of the Opposition. It has let down the voting public in a similar manner as that of the current member of Parliament for St. Lucy.
    Again I will resort to the statement that ‘if another party was in the running; the 2 known parties would not want to come third, hence the urgency to inform the electorate of policies’.
    Now the question is!—-What future is there for the majority young?
    Servants/maids/gardeners for the ….
    F or the next 20-30yrs will be pay back time; to those monies were borowed. So ladies and gentlemen, tighten your belts.
    Mr. SSC, the country is already decaying. Methane is in the AIR. It can be detected far and wide.

25. Such Stupid Comments Avatar
    Such Stupid Comments

Read this blog and see the many examples where DLP Bloggers are cussing Kellman in the most detestable manner. Check it out and get back to me

26. Such Stupid Comments……..before we in the BLP can talk about a NEW BEGINNING……help muh answer the question below.

You and the rest of my BLP colleagues like wunnah running from muh !

Look what I asking you pun we BLP blog :

DE BUMBLE BEE // December 26, 2007 at 2:50 am

Such Stupid Comments …….you still ain’t answer me

Why a portion of our BLP party leader’s speech has been pulled from BLP TV ?

If we BLP people & Owen refuse to repent

Then come the 15 of Jan 2008 , BAJANS gine mek we pay for………SUCH STUPID COMMENTS !

” No DLP gov’t ever again ” line ?

Follow the speech below :

http://blp.org.bb/blptv/speeches

27. Such Stupid Comments……..before we in the BLP can talk about a NEW BEGINNING……help muh answer the question below.

You and the rest of my BLP colleagues like wunnah running from muh !

Look what I asking you pun we BLP blog :

DE BUMBLE BEE // December 26, 2007 at 2:50 am

Such Stupid Comments …….you still ain’t answer me

Why a portion of our BLP party leader’s speech has been pulled from BLP TV ?

If we BLP people & Owen refuse to repent

Then come the 15 of Jan 2008 , BAJANS gine mek we pay for………SUCH STUPID COMMENTS !

” No DLP gov’t ever again ” line ?

Follow the speech below :

http://blp.org.bb/blptv/speeches

28. Such Stupid Comments…….I tell wunnah already that KELLIE strategy ain’t wukking fuh de BEES this time out !

Bajans & the DEMS got we original BLP TV tape about what Owen really say down in Alexandra school hall .

Is it true that Mia Mottley give it to David Thompson ?

LET WE EXAMINE WHERE THIS DIVISION ISSUE…..REALLY IS !

29. Such Stupid Comments…….I tell wunnah already that KELLIE strategy ain’t wukking fuh de BEES this time out !

Bajans & the DEMS got we original BLP TV tape about what Owen really say down in Alexandra school hall .

Is it true that Mia Mottley give it to David Thompson ?

LET WE EXAMINE WHERE THIS DIVISION ISSUE…..REALLY IS !

30. Oh Lawd, Bumble bee, bee, I didn’t realize we were being taped, Ah hope ah didn;t cause yuh much grief… You know these people wicked, they don.t let a man do what he want to do in piece….. Anyhow call me 246-thom-pee

31. Such Stupid Comments Avatar
    Such Stupid Comments

Bumble BEE, you jackass, if you have the Original tape why are you asking about it? Why can’t you simply ask TOM PEE who he got it from?

………………………………………………….

………………………………………………………
    What OWEN said at Alexander School was
    1. Thank you to the thousands who attended the meeting in support of the BLP.
    2. Thank you to Barbadians for thier support over the past 13 years.
    3. He highlighted the importance of having and appreciating one’s social background
    4. He expressed a willingness to continue to serve Barbadians with distinction.
    5. He echoed the sentiments expressed by both Clyde Mascoll and Mia Mottley that the economy is in good hands.
    6. He expresed his appreciation to his cabimet colleagues for thier qulity service to nation.
    7. He showed his appreciation nd love for his nation, constituents, party, family and even the opposition.
    8. He diliberated on the issues confronting us on at the local, regional and international levels.
    9 He espoused a vision for Barbados
    10. He indicated his immediate mission.

I can go on, but even someone as dumb as you would get the point….. I hope

32. David & Barbados Underground personnel……now that the news have broken where are the congratulatory remarks ?

Denis St. Elmo Kellman has been elevated to the ESTEEMED position of Ambassador to CARICOM !

Kudos to Ambassador Kellman and His Most Honourable , PM , David John Howard Thompson for demonstrating ONCE again such……VISIONARY LEADERSHIP !

33. Yes Jerome where are the Kellman shouters. Thompson accumulating and displaying political savvy faster than any previous PM. No one is reading him and he placing the ball in all the right areas.

Kellman has a high profile international pick. He and his apologists cant bicker. The spotlight is on Kellman. Is he the loose cannon many of us believe or a misnundertood fellow? Kellman we are watching you closely. Over to you.

34. […] Barbados Labour Party (BLP) controlled parliament was partisan throughout the whole affair. BU have written voluminously about these matters. There is no doubt that the BLP sought to manipulate and frustrate […]

35. […] comments by Minister Sealy is part of a plan to pander to the unpredictable Denis Kellman. Much was said when he did not get the ministry he wanted back in January. Barbadians have become very uneasy at […]

Leave a Reply to BU CrapCancel reply