300_15.gif

Barbados experienced a nerve racking earth tremor moments ago. Stay tuned for more information! – see link for current status of tremor

Update:

3.18 PM– Initial reports indicate that some cell and land phones are out.

3.29 – Initial reports indicate that the earthquake/tremor has stretched as far as Antigua in the North and Guyana in the South

3.30 – The USGS website currently reporting the magnitude of the earthquake at 7.3

3.45 – Check this link as well for updates

3.51 – Early assessment of damage on the island indicate some houses have been damaged in St. George and St. Philip

Powerful Earthquake Hits Caribbean
22 minutes ago
ROSEAU, Dominica (AP) — A powerful earthquake rocked the eastern Caribbean on Thursday, the U.S. Geological Survey said. No damage was immediately reported.
The earthquake, with a magnitude of 7.3, was centered 23 miles southeast of Roseau, the capital of Dominica, where the shaking lasted for about 20 seconds. The quake was felt as far away as Puerto Rico.
The quake struck at 2 p.m. EST at a depth of 90 miles beneath the surface of the Earth, according to the geological survey’s Web site. – thanks to Adrian L

4.14 – Grantley Adams management gives all clear the the airport is OPEN

4.25 – Reports indicate that there is gridlock in Bridgetown . Police Force issues a warning to the public to avoid Bridgetown

4.55 A sense of calm and normalcy starting to return to the island

5.15- Several public pre-Independence events have been canceled including the Democratic Labour Party meeting in Independence Square previously scheduled for 6.30 PM

6.45 – See update on Trinidad & Tobago with reference to other islands

9.00 – Read about some of the experiences of Barbadians

70 responses to “Barbados Experiences Earth Tremor”

1. Velzo,

“I found it interesting that within minutes of the tremors, people on the streets were saying that this sign from above means that Barbados needs change. “We got to get rid of this government!””

………………………………………………………………..

Stupid Desperate Lies.

Get a life, you clown.

2. lol de bible suh in de last days there will be earthquakes in diverse places, rumours of war, war, famines and nations rising against nations, dis int got nuttin ta do wid buhbadus as a nation, wunna failing to see we living in de final days

loooka america falling, islamic nations joining forces with other allies, america gine tru some serious stuff now like de dollar fall, drought and ting so, dont be blinded people, every country got wicked people, god int mek buhbadus alone

nuttin ta do wid buhbadus want change, signs of the times

check dis link hay so look
    http://www.konig.org/wc105.htm

“…nation shall rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom: and there shall be famines, and pestilences, and earthquakes, in diverse places” (Matt. 24:7).

3. and buhbadus had quakes b4 fuh who tink we neva did, read up on wunna history like in 1953, and de great lisbon earthquake which shook many nations, and i mean many nations as far as de same puerto rico, bcaw ya dont hear bout um dont mean um neva happen

bermuda triangle is a perfect example with barbados, i bet wunna int know bout de US navy ship name de USS Cyclops under de command of Lieutenant Commander G. W. Worley, went missing widout a trace wid a crew of 306 sometime after March 4, 1918, after departing the island of Buhbadus.

and still we neva hear bout dis to dis date.

4. wow… yall on some paranormal shit… end of days, the judgement day, final days… woooowww… well heads up horses and mules livvin in doom therez a carrot only a few feet away.. open yall eyez and see right, the earth itself is a saftey hazzard, its just we is livin organismz ‘parasites rather’ of this planet. How will we live if any of this never happened? land would sink witout earthquakes, it would always be hot one place or cold the other witout the occasional ‘high wind’ be it “nor’ easters” hurricanes, floods only bathe the landz, lightnin is a form of energy conversion, avalanches and landslides are from gravity…. bla bla bla bla bla.. if u dont want heatwaves drought go live on another planet, it too cold? move to mars or venus, cant take hurricanes? the moon ther n no air aint ther. U believe in God? Praise him that u aint get exposed to the extremes of any of the above mentioned n never live to blog a bout it.

5. […] Hairoun, Saint Vincent Steve’s Dominica, Dominique. Uncle Sam’s Cabin, Dominique. Bardados Underground, Barbade Caribbean Lionese 1 2, Barbade Notes from the margin, Barbade Pullpush, Barbade NewCheese, […]

6. KaeOS u sound like a real poppit in trut, little do you know i have experienced all types of weather except tornadoes, well if dont believe there is a god, then sorry to say u too far gone, just a question for ya if u believe in de big bang theory, who created what ever started the big bang, as long as something exist, there must be a creator

common sense not rocket science, look fuh some and get sumting in ya head

Hard Driver, boy de bible said earthquakes in diverse places, it never said they will increase, do you know what diverse mean? in case u int know diverse means many places not increase or decrease activity

7. Kadri:

As you have look’d fuh some and got sumting in ya head, common sense invites the question “Who created the creator, and out of what?”

What’s your answer?

8. USGS reports a 5.4 magnitude quake at 8.11 a.m this morning, located between Martinique and Dominica at a depth of 101 miles..the same area as the 7.4 on November 29th.

Tremors felt in St. Lucia.

9. Interesting aspect of this discussion. God, the creator of all that we see and can’t see is said to be omniscient, omnipotent and any other oms you can come up with. I asked the pundits in another place this question.

How could or why would an omniscient, omnipotent entity create a flawed thing (man) supposedly in his own image? …and then try to hold his creation to standards which he must have known would not be met… and then condemn him to eternal damnation when he fails to reach or maintain those standards.

And he sure seems to have created a flawed planet, what with all the volcanoes, hurricanes, earthquakes, tornadoes, etc that have been killing off his other creation since time immemorial.

Perhaps the pundits here can put me right.

10. Must be going thru a series of after shocks I assume.

11. Inkwell,
    “Where ignorance is bliss it is folly to be wise… ” But I am not very wise – so let me jump in here…

There are lots of things that you don’t understand – this in itself does not make them ‘flawed’ – (how much do you know of the Gauss Seidel approach to solving multiple simultaneous equations?)

As someone who completely understands the Gauss Seidel method as well as the plan that the great creator has in place – and which is proceeding EXACTLY as perfectly designed – I am suggesting humbly to you that you consider the slight possibility that your lack of understanding may be a case of personal ignorance rather that ‘flawed’ design.

If you are really interested -(under a different thread) I would be happy to expand….

12. Thanks for the offer, Bush Tea, but I’m afraid my inferior intellect would not be able to fathom the teachings of one who has a complete understanding of the plan that the great creator has in place – and which is proceeding EXACTLY as perfectly designed.

I’d rather be afflicted with my ignorance than your arrogance. I was interested in a discussion, not a sermon.

There is a cryptic saying which I think you might adopt: “Those who think they know everything are very annoying to those of us who do.”

13. continue smartly Inkwell…

14. Why were school children told to evacuate schools today in the rain when the rumour appeared that an earthquake was COMING!!!

15. see earthquakes here as they occur
    http://www.iris.edu/seismon/

last 30 days
    http://www.iris.edu/seismon/last30.html

i int even know earthquakes occur everyday, more that 5 a day like its normal

16. […] have contracted a false sense of security as complacency has taken root. Barbados experienced an earthquake recently which measured 5.3 on the Richter Scale and there was bedlam which followed. When the […]

17. I am one of the few persons who didn’t experiece the tremor. I was travelling in a vehicle and didn’t feel a thing. I probably wouldn’t be here today if I did. My heart would’ve failed me. That much I know.

18. I remember this day like yesterday…..people jumping out their cars ..in the middle of the road …and running like hell…..a day i hope will never be repeated.

Leave a Reply to DmarleholeCancel reply