cmascoll-thumb.jpgChris Sinckler

The contest which we find to be very intriguing is the match-up between the former DLP stable mates Chris Sinckler on the left (DLP) and Clyde Mascoll (BLP). The contest in our opinion will tell Barbados many things, the result has created a mouth watering anticipation for John Public for three reasons.

Reason

Clyde Mascoll has generated heated debate in the country regarding his public battle for the leadership of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) with David Thompson who eventually came out the winner. Much has been said about whether Mascoll was right or Thompson was wrong, some public commentators have been heard to say that the Democratic Labour Party orchestrated the demise of Clyde Mascoll. We were not privileged to have been a DLP insider at that time, so like you, we have to discern the truth from the pile of poop which is plentiful around this issue. Tom, Dick and Harry have had their say and soon we will all know how Barbadians really feel about Mascoll the politician. The question which we will all have answered when Prime Minister Owen Arthur finally announces the election date will be: Will Mascoll retain his credibility as a politician despite the switch from former Leader of the Opposition to a Junior Minister in the Owen Arthur cabinet?

Reason #2

It is no secret that Chris Sinckler was one of those who worked closely with David Thompson to recruit and groom Mascoll the politician. This time around, Sinckler who like Mascoll is from the St. Michael North West constituency will be seeking to dismantle the support which he helped to build for Mascoll from previous election campaigning. The interesting dynamic at work in this constituency will be to observe two young, intellectual candidates who can boast of having grassroot support in the constituency. So many of the candidates in recent elections have been those who have adopted constituencies. It will be refreshing to see two hometown boys who have some ‘dept’ slogging it out. There is no doubt that both parties see this match-up as being very important to create certain public perceptions. In the case of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) they would feel vindicated that the politics of inclusion would have worked. Clyde Mascoll the former Leader of the Opposition who was bloodied and wounded by David Thompson for the leadership of the DLP and who scuttled to King Arthur’s lair for solace and comfort. On the other side we have Chris Sinckler who has replaced Mascoll as Thompson’s political confidant and right hand man. If Thompson is the one who visits the Governor General to be sworn in as Prime Minister, he will want Chris Sinckler by his side.

Reason #3

The St. Michael North West constituency has been a volatile seat in recent elections. The relatively narrow margin of victory for Mascoll last time around may have to withstand a national swing against the government of up to 5% according to the latest CADRES poll. If we factor a further loss of support for Mascoll because of the Hardwoods controversy, if he wins the seat he would have proven to all and sundry that he is the better man to enter parliament.

History is very alert in anticipation of the upcoming general election. They are some who believe that Mascoll has prostituted himself simply to experience the taste of power and the prestige and and material benefits which goes with the job. They are others who say that Sinckler is the one who should take over the mandate which was given to Mascoll who contested on a DLP ticket. The edge which Mascoll has with a better known national profile becomes irrelevant on the ground in St. Michael North West where both are perhaps equally well known.

We should remember that to enter the Lower House one has to be first elected at the constituency level. Barbados Underground have never been afraid to state our position on the issues. It is our opinion Mascoll made a mistake by switching allegiance so easily given the high office which he occupied within the DLP. To have become bedfellows with a group of politicians who would have vilified him not too long ago just does not sit well with Barbadians. If Mascoll wins, yes he would have done well, but it would highlight in our eyes the state of our politics.Who was it that said a democracy is not perfect?

130 responses to “Clyde Mascoll & Chris Sinckler, Key Match-Up To Watch In The Upcoming General Election In St. Michael North West”

1. We know people who were present at 8ball on St. Stephen’s Hill when Mascoll made those statements which disappointed many within earshot. The statements provided great insight into how Mascoll felt about Thompson and the party at the time of crossing. People came away with the feeling that he was behaving very immaturely and was taking the fight between the two to a very personal level. What if Taitt had behaved in this manner after he was defeated by Mascoll? The truth is we have always had a soft spot for Mascoll. It is always good to see a boy from the ‘hood’ is using education to pull himself up.

It is sad to see the current slide!

2. Wishing in Vain Avatar

The post did not last long on the blp website I wonder why???

HARDWOOD AND MASSCOLL // Nov 2nd 2007 at 8:20 pm

Am I to assume that when I see as many as three posting my your operatives on one day it clearly says a lot to me about the levels of confusion and concern that is within you adminstration and your lack of organisation ( does this have anything to do with the fact that Mottley has withdrawn her services from the upcoming election campaign) maybe it does.
    However getting back to the matter at hand, it is a clear and distinct message that all is not well within the party and these are desperate methods of bombarding the people with hype and spin to achieve your purpose.
    Why not address the concerns of the masses about issues such as the overspending on the PRISON by US $ 80 million and the fraud that we have in DANOS, Hobson and the 3 S road works projects now recosted at three times the orignal cost and not a word from you Mr PM on the matters at hand, why not explain the people the mystery of that cheque for the $ 750,000.00, the mega expensive baths, the unfinished building at Newton, these are some of the things we want replies to.
    Rather than if Arthur can run things better than Thompson we know that both can run things and on the evidence it certainly appears that we need a more virile mind and not the tired one we have running things now.
    Please put that major upset behind you of that full page advertisment that showed up Farley to be a lazy unworthy representative of the people, and get the well cleaned and working but do not hark on Farley for too much longer after all he is spent force.
    Move on to a more meaningful purpose and try to start paying the gov’t workers on time even paying them would be a bonus, and maybe even try paying the PRISON staff so we do not encourage another fire at Dodds within its first year of operation.
    My first suggestion to you is to fire both Noel Lynch and Jerome Walcott and install workers to fill their post it is not to late at least it will appear as if you were actually trying to right the wrongs of these problem ministries, and also while at it stop paying lip service to the hospital and put some money into it and stop trying to run the island like a corporate affair.
    Please have a heart to those that need the help the most the sick and the suffering in our society.

3. We name but so few of these blp politicians as misfits but what about the others of them like Mottley who has tampered with so many ministries and completely screwed them up,Ronald Toppin almost invisible to the human eye he has said and done nothing to represent his people for years since his fiasco of the exercise at the fair trading commission,George Pain, since his declearation that he will be the next PM he too has had no voice,Hammy Lashley demoted and put out to pasture,Joe Edghill occasional mouthings anti the party in nature but generally as quiet as a church mouse,Rawle Eastmond with his diaboical forces speech and his not knowing what he has done to the PM because the PM not helped him in anyway for nine years, and can honestly go back to the electorate and request another 5 years of more of doing nothing for them, time for a change it has never been clearer to me the need for change than it is this time around!!!!
    Dishonesty, corruption and stealing abounds mastered and done so by no lesser a person than Owing See Thru Arthur and his cohorts, tell us about the cheque, tell us about DANOS 3 S, road works and VECO prison all projects that tripled in cost between conception and delivery,or even shed a word or two on HARDWOOD HOLDINGS INC,I know Mottley will not be willing to speak on this subject as she absolutely detest anything to do with HARDWOOD,maybe her house does not contain any HARDWOOD furniture at all maybe she lovers her Wicker furniture but what is sure she does not like ASSCOLL and his HARDWOOD.

4. Mascoll like he do good last night. The people of St.Michael North West like they still love the man in spite of everything and look like they gave him an early vote of confidence. Time will tell!

5. Such stupid comments Avatar
    Such stupid comments

Adrian

There is no dispute that Thompson wrote a letter to the party re his resignation. That in itself would give the impression that Thompson did the honourable thing. That was not the case. The letter to the party arrived long AFTER announcements etc. were made in press. So the resignation was a shock to the parety and the mose supporters who toiled with him for so many years. Additionally there was no motivation or motive for Thomspon to resign other that his own self- interest. Nobody was pushing him, no-one was challenging him and no-one was accusing him for the loss of the St. Thomas Bye-election. Thompson chose to serve self and not party and that is why Taitt and Sandiford said not to take him back.

I will address the issues surrounding alledged statements to Dereck Alleyne. But first it would be interesting to hear whay you thought Mascoll was unfaired? I would then invite you to trust your instincts and don’t persons with an agenda of presenting lies and scandal tpye nonsense to alter your instincts in anyway. I await your answer before I address the Alleyne issues etc.

Don’t you worry about the lions den there is more in there than just the lion.

6. Such stupid comments~interesting comments on your part. After reading your last comment we wondered what was wrong with Thompson evaluating his political stock and making a decision to try to preserve his career. Politicos from all sides would admit that Arthur’s dominance through his first two terms was very strong. No less than Barrow ran away when he was in Opposition and openly voiced disdain for the position.

7. Such stupid comments : So you are applying your own opinions on Thompson actions vis a vis the letter and resignation. We can interpret that as we see fit, but the facts remain that he wrote a letter. What you are now contending, that yes a letter was written but that no reason was given, also conflicts with what Chris Sinkler said. Chris immediately after stating that Thompson wrote a letter, said that Thompson was tired and needed a break, the obvious intent being, to suggest that the letter contained the reason and that the reason that Thompon preferred to give was as he stated. You cannot be correct in saying that no one blame Thompson for the St.Thomas by-election defeat. That’s my old constituency, and i know very well the role that Kellman played in making the same case, and the view of many pundits that it would have impacted Thompson political career as Leader. I joined with BU in asking what is wrong with that?
    So Thompy wrote a letter informing the party that he was leaving, that is fact, and we have differences of opinions on why he did it. Now both Thompson and Mascoll resigned from the DLP can we discuss the process and approach that both individuals used to so do? What Mascoll said or did not said to his COUSIN just the night before crossing over is critical here and NOW, so that we can take the facts of the Two men similar actions and see which one has been more professional, and mature.

……Please don’t implore to me to do anything, I will see this and all other things thru my senses and use my ability to reason, i will be guided by my conscience alone.

I will repeat again that i thought Mascoll was unfair ed at the time given the information available then. The new info coming from the DLP has to be dealt with by Mascoll, he hasn’t done so and I am not yet satisfied that i should change my position, but that can happened. It is difficult to maintain the position that he was unfair ed in light of information that he was courted by the BLP and that he was in glee with this, and this is believable as result of the confidence with which he is alleged to have made mention that his future is secured, and the swiftness with which he switch parties.

…..So i should say sorry. If Mascoll is looking for a way out of a difficult situation that he has place himself in, I will not be of any help. It is easily spinned but i would not be an aid to this current government continuing in power, Plus i like Chris Sinkler. 😀 sometimes deciding who to vote for can be that easy. 😀 and Chris makes it not chore but a likable activity, and all the other things that i hold to be necessary in order to get my vote, Chris seems a natural at them. 😀

I can’t help but think that the name “such stupid comments” reflects the condescending image that is now Mascoll, are you Mascoll? Anybody that takes it upon themselves to disparage the opinion making of everyday bajans the way this label when use does, I take umbrage against. 😀

Now will you give us your take on Macoll’s Derrick Alleyne comments? did he or did he not say it? Is Derrick Alleyne lying?

8. Such stupid comments Avatar
    Such stupid comments

David Wrote —

Such stupid comments~interesting comments on your part. After reading your last comment we wondered what was wrong with Thompson evaluating his political stock and making a decision to try to preserve his career. Politicos from all sides would admit that Arthur’s dominance through his first two terms was very strong. No less than Barrow ran away when he was in Opposition and opening voiced disdain for the position.

Your admission and conclusion is also very interesting, that is that Thompson ran from the political might and dominance of Owen Arthur… Let me re-emphasise…. you are telling us that the most experienced politician in the House from the DLP side David “the Coward” Thompson, ran from Owen Arthur during his period of ‘dominance’ and you ask what’s wrong with that.

How can any sensible Barbadian support a person who led the party to its worst defeat ie 26-2 and while being one of the two in the House resign in pursuit of his self-interest …. yet you asked what’ s wrong with that? …. and you would have the gall to accuse clyde mascoll of wrong doing when the party and team that he was leading openly and publicly said they have no confidence in him and he therefore chose to continue servicing his constituents using another vehicle. ….. According to you and your strange double standards…. all is wrong with that. Truly amazing. Tell Thompson he can run but he can’t hide… the day of reckoning is nigh.

9. Such stupid comments~we agree with Adrian H’s position and until we hear differently we will hold that position. We believe that our article has been fair to Mascoll and the reason for the current national debate on his crossing should signal to you that we need to debate the issue in a dispassionate way to ensure that the truth is told for those of us who are interested.

Depending on which part of the political divide we stand some will say that it was a high order strategy 🙂 by Thompson to move away from the leadership of the party. Was there a back room deal between Thompson and Mascoll? That was a tongue and cheek!

The TRUTH if we can borrow the word from Mascoll who has made it his own is that his parliamentary colleagues were the ones who kicked his ass to the curb,

10. Such stupid comments Avatar
    Such stupid comments

Adrian

A man convince against his will is of the same opinion still. However, no necessarily for you sake but for the sake of those willing to be objective and respectful of the fact let me say that your understanding of what happened in St. Thomas is not factual or accurate and indeed you have been lead into thinking that kellman was a villian when in fact he was set-up.

Kellman was appointed manager to the Campaign in St. Thomas by Thompson even though Thompson knew that Kellman had to attend a CPA meeting in Australia. Now these overseas meeting and indeed the delegation to attend these meetings are notdecided on in a last minute fashion, decision where made long ago, so Thompson would have been aware that Kellman had this engage ment at the time when he chsoe him to manage the bye-election so you must ask yourself why Thompson did that?

You said that Thomspon wrote a letter to the party and that appeased you, well mascoll wrote one too.

Oh contrary to your belief there are persons who support Mascoll. Mascoll is too busy catering to the needs of his constiuents. So don’t confuse me for Mascoll.

11. Such stupid comments Avatar
    Such stupid comments

David wrote

Depending on which part of the political divide some will say that it was a high order strategy by Thompson to move away from the leadership of the party. Was there a back room deal between Thompson and Mascoll? That was a tongue and cheek!

The TRUTH if we can borrow the word from Mascoll who has made it his own is that his parliamentary colleagues were the ones who kicked his ass to the curb,

Oh David, David, David if Mascoll parliamentary colleagues kicked his ass to the curb, why are you and Adrian and other so concern about him now. Is it because he has picked himself up and his on his feet again? is it because he is serving his country and constituency with distinction? Is it because you have nothing better to do but to try to destry him via the back door? What is it? Mascoll is now discussion number 1 in Barbados … not a word about Chris… is he persona non grata. Interesting.

12. Oh David, David, David if Mascoll parliamentary colleagues kicked his ass to the curb, why are you and Adrian and other so concern about him now. Is it because he has picked himself up and his on his feet again? is it because he is serving his country and constituency with distinction? Is it because you have nothing better to do but to try to destry him via the back door? What is it? Mascoll is now discussion number 1 in Barbados … not a word about Chris… is he persona non grata. Interesting.
    ————————————————-
    ha ha ha h I can almost hear Mascoll saying Oh David, David, David. 😀 ………. They say imitation is the best form of flattery. 😀

Put a cat in a room and throw a ball into the room, the cat would invariably run towards the Ball. Remove the cat and the Ball, and put a “thinking” Human being in there and throw the ball in once again, the Thinking Human being would invariable after looking at the ball try to determine from whence it came. A thinking person always want to know, Why am i discussing Mascoll? I would like to get to the truth, but i understand he is the fight for his political life. So you are right i have nothing better to do than being a “thinking human being”.

13. Such stupid comments // Nov 5th 2007 at 11:25 am Says:

Adrian; A man convince against his will is of the same opinion still.
    ———————————————————
    This only means that he is lying, that he is lying about being convince. I think from all said thus far and actions not yet explained, that this could point to Mascoll. Therefore when light hearted brings to the table his version of the truth surrounding Mascll’s actions and concludes from those stated actions that he is of the opinion that Mascall cannot be trusted, I as a thinking person, who is interested in fair play, and who has the innate drive to want know, feels compel to ask Mascoll for explanations. So yes we are talking about Mascoll. He should use this oppurtunity to deal with the unanswered questions, because at some point our reservations about was said about him will turn to percieved truth in the absense of rebuttals and or explanations for his actions.

14. Wishing in Vain Avatar

Lets waste no more time on DEADWOOD, HARDWOOD or ASSCOLL because he is a spent empty useless shell.
    However let us address the Pier Head project that Owing seems dead set to bully his way thru with ant guesses as to who his partner is on this same project???
    Two guesses would either be Danos 3 S or VECO the prison builders, both corrupt and proven so by the courts of the Alaska and the UK but the winner is VECO he has already instructed Tony Ellis from the BTII to move in this direction and set plans in motion, now tell me why in heavens name do we need or even want these crooks around our shores for any other reason to arrange more kickback to Bannister, Nicholls and Arthur.
    We need to get Arthur to tell the public what is his relationship with VECO, DANOS, HOBSON,NICHOLLS and BANNISTER and stop his lying and his dishonesty with public funds.

15. Such stupid comments Avatar
    Such stupid comments

You guys or gals can continue to run from the issues as wihing in vain is attempting to do. Adrian frankly I think your mind is already made up.. You don’t need rebuttals … You operate on what you call “perceived truth”.. Let me just tell you that when the time is ripe the “real truth” surrounding Mascoll leaving the DLP and joining the BLP will be told. I hope you will be able the recognise the truth when faced with it. At this time you are doing a great job at fooling yourself. In the fullnest of time………….

16. Concerned Bajan Avatar

Here we go again, all the people who pretend to know what’s going on continue to ask Bajans to wait to hear the truth. Typical Bajans yuh done know.

17. Concerned Bajan // Nov 5th 2007 at 3:26 pm

Here we go again, all the people who pretend to know what’s going on continue to ask Bajans to wait to hear the truth. Typical Bajans yuh done know.
    ————————————————————
    I am of the opinion that the only defense against the actions and statements attributed to Mascoll by “Light Hearted” is to deny them. They have to be all lies for Mascoll to maintain an ounce of creditibilty outside to the ever dwindling group of party diehards. You cannot lead anybody if you have a believability problem. But to deny them still brings with it the problem of an explanation. If these things are true then explaining the justification for them can return some measure of credibility if the explanation is recieved as ones made from conviction. If these things are lies explanations are still warranted.

Am CB do you get the distinct impression that the only defense Mascoll may have is to deny all the things that Chris and the DLP are now saying? How successfull would he be in so doing? Maybe this is why we are being implored by “such stupid comments” to wait until the time is ripe, which i translate to mean if Thompy, Chris and the DLP continue to let, i will be force to defend what might be difficult to defend. ……

Man here is a hint Mascoll. When giving your version of events on the platform speak with such conviction that you are moved to tears, yes cry on platform while you are telling of your time in the DLP. David Simmons did it in St.Thomas and elsewhere, and after being elected he has not needed to cry since. Surely you can pull this off, But Chris is such a good campainer. 😀 So tell Mascoll if he doesn’t cry he cannot win. 😀

18. Wishing in Vain Avatar

Such stupid comments run from the issues as wihing in vain is attempting to do !!
    (please cut and paste if you are unable to spell WISHING)
    You obviously perfect the art of stealing but neglect spelling!!!

It is you and your gang of criminals and crooks that are running from the issues my friend, we are clearly of the view that you, Owing and your lot are clearly the most corrupt politicians ever to face the Barbadian electorate.( and have the gall to declare you want another 15 years )
    So why is it you fail to reply to those concerns about the tripling of cost on the Prison the Highway the baths, the $ 750,000.00 cheque, the reasoning behind Owings urgency to push thru his scam for VECO to get the BOLT contract awarded to them?
    Or tell us all about ASSCOLL or you and your scam to rob the taxpayers of this island out of millions in this shell that is HARDWOOD HOLDINGS, A company run by a sexual abuser a molester, one who is leasing equipment for $ 25,000.00 but is saving the company money by leasing this equipment back to HARDWOOD HOLDINGS at $ 56,000.0 per month only you ASSCOLL could arrive at the wayward conclusion that this is a means saving money to HARDWOOD HOLDINGS.
    This only two of the number of issues facing the operation of HARDWOOD HOLDINGS.

19. ha ha ha ha listen to a HIGHLY SPIRITED Owen

http://www.vob929.com/audio/news/110501.rm

Arthur challenges Thompson to bring no-confidence motion
    11-05-2007 — STARCOM Network News

Prime Minister Owen Arthur is itching for the Opposition Leader to bring the no-confidence motion he has promised against Minister of State in the Finance Ministry, Clyde Mascoll.

In fact Mr. Arthur has told David Thompson that no report on the Hardwood issue will be produced as demanded, and he will have to follow through on his threat to bring the motion.
    Mr. Arthur was speaking at Ellerslie School where Minister, Clyde Mascoll was selected, unopposed to represent the Barbados Labour Party in the next General election.

20. Wishing in Vain Avatar

You really mean drunk Owing, or punch drunk from all the body blows he has taken from Mr Thomson recently!!

21. hello friends looks like you were able to finally pull clydee out of the hole he was hiding in. What a crowd last evening at the nomination. Scores of imported people clad in their red shirts and urging on their newly found son Clyde Mascoll. Of course if mascoll or any of the people there had actually canvassed the surrounding districts they would discover just how many supporters he really has out there.

But they need not cause mascoll says the seat is mine, i will win….it about strategizing. Of course you all must know that that really is code for spend big money like he did last time. Well he should have twice as much this time cause themerchant in town who owen arthur accused of buying votes for him (yes such stupid comments, i mean Leron Gibbs) is still backing him. You know that Owen sent the DPP and the police for him and they actual tried to charge the man for buying votes under the election offences act and mascoll his favourite son never got up in the no-confidence vote to defend his “friend” or is that god father; then of course he has the whole government behind him and hardwood the highway and more to draw support from. So mascoll is smarting cause he feels he cab buy his way to parliament again especially in the farm.

Wow. It will be most interesting. Now mr. politics of truth cant answer on the Alleyne thing cause guess what it is the Truth. He cant answer on the cuddling up to arthur one either cause he knows it is true. Surely such stupid comments will not admit that his friend mascoll received a big set of christmas hampers in 2005 from the PM’s best friend Hallam Nicholls who stopped his personal assistant cranston browne and him on the harbour road and told him call me i got the hampers for you. Causing Browne to ask him i did not know you knew hallam nicholls? which of course brought a smile to his face. Truth – Mascoll he would not recognised the thing if it hit him full in the face. Oh has he spoken yet to the fact that he took his wife’s resignaion letter to the nation before she even informed Thompson she was resigning? or is that a truth he cannot respond to.

Adrian please ask such stupid comments to ask mascoll what he said to thompson at the meeting at almond bay. If you think the 8 ball incident was bad wait till the election call we will all hear about the true clyde mascoll the face that such stupid comments dont want the world to know……but i do

22. Light Hearted and Such Stupid Comments here is what BU can do. Based on the accusation which are being thrown around it would be great if both of you could submit by email your individual perspectives to barbadosunderground@gmail.com on the Mascoll Affair.

We suggest that such stupid comments should submit first and Light Hearted can rebut. Do we have a deal?

I have a question on Mascol’s recent position that he is comfortable switching from D to B because he has always spoken the truth. Can someone please explain?

23. Wishing in Vain Avatar

I have a question on Mascol’s recent position that he is comfortable switching from D to B because he has always spoken the truth. Can someone please explain?
    It is unexplainable, but not a lot about ASSCOLL is logical or sensible one look at his dabbling in HARDWOOD HOUSING and that in itself speaks volumes for his honesty it speaks a lot more about his dishonesty and corruption than anything else.

24. Wishing in Vain Avatar

Trust me all the pomp and smoke and fireworks will not save them this time.
    The theatre event that was yesterday is all about PR

25. Wishing in Vain Avatar

mascoll done lose his seat unles his ballots get stuffed – nothing is impossible in todays wickedly corrupt barbados
    You may have said this in a light hearted manner but the reality is that there is a very real chance of election corruption taking place here in Barbados for the need of the blp to win has never been greater because of their need to conceal their corruption and their stealing.
    Doing this election fraud could take the form of non nationals being allowed to vote and I seriously worry about this aspect of the contamination of our election system or it could take the more sinister approach of ballot stuffing or just pure voter fustration remember they have made changes to voting locations.

26. Such stupid comments Avatar
    Such stupid comments

Oh Lighthearted you of all people talking about Leron Gibbs. Look into the Executive Room of your party and read the plague that in there and then ask Undine Whittaker, Cleeton Coppin, Cranston Browne and all the other party beggars where they get the items for their food hampers from. As usual you are a bunch of ungrateful beggars.

Oh Mascoll’s nomination was successful from all counts. but you can’t take that can you? Wasn’t there some DLP meeting around that time? It doen’t appear from listening to you guys that there was one.

As the PM said Mascoll stuck in wunnah craw and he ain’t coming out till he choke yuh.

And Adrian, Politics is about timing and strategising.

Oh please tell us why Thompson ran from Owen by resigning, If he can’t handle Owen Arthur an ordinary Barbadian from Rose Hill, how will he handled the IMF, World Bank, issues surrounding the CSME etc. will he run too. In fact all pointer suggest that he is once again running from Owen that is why he cook up the Hardwood issue and have his goons in this scandal rag of a blog lapping it up. The bubble will burst.

Good day to you wihing in vain or is it *hiting in vain.

OOps I am sorry I could no resist that. I am having so much fun waiting for you to respond to the PNM victory in Trinidad against a 72% desire for change. …. I am waiting.

27. How does the PNM victory help Mascoll and the BLP?

Please tell us where Undine and others got their food hampers from.

…And can you tell us what Mascoll said to Thompy at the Almond bay meeting?

I guest i would have to wait until the time is ripe for you to respond to the many charges that Light Hearted has presented. My guess is you will not have a choice as i am sure that these charges and questionable actions that speaks to a lack of integrity on Mascoll part will be presented time and time again after the bell is rung. Tell Mascoll not to forget that he is not only running against Chris Sinkler, he is running against his own family Derrick Alleyne. He has is work cut out for him.

28. cook up the Hardwood

Not a cook up you idiot it is a real and living issue maybe you ought to have a look at the following website to educate your self as to the facts.
    http://www.dlpbarbados.org/cms/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=160&Itemid=2

http://www.dlpbarbados.org/cms/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=161&Itemid=2

Simply put you look and listen to the four websites above and if after anyone can still vote for that joker ASSCOLL then both that person and ASSCOLL are warped and sick persons.
    He has squirmed and wiggled his way to a point of financial comfort with the assistance of Owing and at the peril and disgust of Mottley and the rest of the party, do you or anyone else really believe that the rest of the party will sit back and allow him to walk over them on his march to financial satisfaction?
    No way will they allow him to do so, I suggest to you that the rest of the blp with maybe just maybe the exception of Owing are waiting and hoping for his demise at the poll there is no way that the rest of them will be satisfied with him overtaking their dreads of power.

More importantly the other facto of the election surely must be the tardiness and general apperance of a tired looking and performing Owing, tired is clearly manifested in his tired and lack lustre speech of Sunday where he adopted Mr David Thompson speech of the night before as part of his speech, what does that tell you? it tells me that here is a leader you has dried up of ideas and programs and one whos blindfolding of John Public is no longer working and as a result he is stuggling to change gears he has been stung by the revelations of that cheque the gross mismanagement of the affairs of the island, the corruption and dishonesty in gov’t which he has been a part of, the affairs of VECO, the PRISON, ROAD WORKS 3 S, DANOS and the KICKBACK AGREEMENT, the lack of pay for the civil servants,the baths,the CWC, the Alleyne affair, the Hammy Lashley affair, the Oval Fiasco all of these are causes for the weakness of Arthur.

He has overseen a structure where has allowed for wholesale corruption by he and his closest partners like Shorey, Wilkinson, Cox, Bannister, Nicholls and more recently ASSCOLL have been allowed a free hand to overcharge or be on the inside of deals only known to the PM.

A classic example why would the PM send a message out to a land owner asking what his selling price for the land is when told the price Owings ambassador tells the land owner the Gov’t will pay you double price for the land (cost of $ 8 million) if he agrees to pass back the overpayment of $ 4 million to he Owings account!!
    This is but one example of the nature and the extent and manner of their stealing in this gov’t it has reached a new high and will contiue to grow if it is not addressed and if they are not removed from office and power.

The Owing Arthur adminstartion has served its time in office the first two terms they did a good job but the flood gates opened wide this term and they have shown themselves to be the most dishonest bastards in politics, with an abundance of infighting and hatred among sitting members and they are being led by a dishonest drunkard who has served his time and is obviously devoid of new ideas that he is now resorting to rehash Mr Thompson’s speeches of the night before, you can do better than this Owing the question is do you still have the will or the reason to do it, my verdict is that he has exhausted his energy on doing his personal money making deals and has extended a lot of effort to keep them out of the public domain but they keep cropping up just like VECO and the Cheque and DANOS all did.

29. Such stupid comments Avatar
    Such stupid comments

Adrian

Undine and others got their food hampers from the same Leron Gibbs.

On the question of what mascoll said to the running coward at almond Bay, I don’t know I wasn’t there. If you know tell us, however I hope he cussed his ass.

By the way Mascoll has had more formidable opponents in the form of Owen Arthur on the outside combine with the David the loser’s undermining from the inside and he beat them both. He will do the same against lighter weight like Chris annother consistent loser and Alleyne the jester.

Hid you head in the sand relative to the PNM victory against a 72% desire for change but you and the others persons (of like mind and similar writng styles) must explain to the nation why Thompson ran from Owen Arthur in the period of Owen’s dominance. By the way Owen is still dominant by almost 2 to 1 in polls. No wonder Harold Hoyte, who initially supported his return to the leadership of the DLP now believes that he wants rebranding.

The truth is after 20 years in the House of Assembly Thompson is still frighten for Owen Arthur, no amount of rebranding can help him.

He will go down in history as the man who served himself politically country or party will little success.

He therefore can be best describe as born to lose.

Let him run… but day will run till night catch it.

30. Wishing in Vain Avatar

The idiot obviously failed to read Harold Hoyte’s article this past weekend, it always amuses me how selective these blp clowns are and just how dishonest in all senses of the word they have proven to be.
    Have a read of Sunday’s Nation and tell me if you and your party really have anything to laugh about.
    He tore your leader to shreds like a dog with a stuffed toy.
    I just love how desperate these clowns are that they now seek to take refuge in an election result that took place in Trinidad yesterday, what they seem to neglect is that there is no third party to split the vote in Barbados is will purely be a vote of no confidence in the blp for their misuse of public funds, corruption and dishonesty in office.
    They will be voted on by their dishonest actions in 3S, DANOS, VECO, PRISON, THE CHEQUE, THE BATHS these are the lasting memories of the good things that Owing and company have done to Barbados.
    Meanwhile Owing’s, Nicholl’s and Bannister’s accounts in offshore destinations are brimming full.

31. WIV you should not be so quick to dismiss Such Stupid Comments. There are some question marks around David Thompson’s leadership and his ability to marshall his party in the battle with Arthur which must come. The undecided/wont say voters are grappling with whether to throw caution to the wind and give him a chance anyway because there is major dissatisfaction with the BLP which comes from being in power so long and a perception that cost of living, projects overruns and other things are just getting out of hand.

We feel that the success for Thompson must come from turning the corner of being credible in the minds of the electorate and one way he can achieve that is to crush Mascoll. He has issued a challenge on the Hardwoods issue and let us assure you that if he fails to deliver on Hardwoods he is doomed.

NB. Such Stupid Comments we see that you have ignored our request? It’s Ok because we expected such a response.

32. I don’t know if i can agree with you that Thompy still running form Arthur. What is your opinion of Thompson accusation to Arthur about recieving a hefty check in his personal account, and how do you view Arthur’s sweaty fumbling response? Should i not make anything of Arthurs long asbsence since that episode and his seemily unwillingness to grace parliament since march? Who is really running? some of things that Thompson on the political platform has said about Owen doesn’t fit the image of a scared person.

….But it is interesting that you can speak about several things that makes others look bad but profess ignorance when questions are pointed at your man. Ok you were not present at Almond bay, but i guess you were there when Undine and others recieved their hampers from Mr. Gibbs. right?
    …as for Harold Hoyte i do not place much emphasis on anything he says. Here of late he has been doing a lot of prophsying and his record looks no better than that of Jippy Doyle. As for his ” Thompy needs rebranding” I think Waldo Ramsey does justice to such nonsense.

…I just got thre reading as man as ten articles dealing with the subject of Alcohol abuse all penned within the last year. Then i listen to Owen Arthur at your man nomination for the Northwest and by all accounts Owen was drunk as a scunk. Do you agree with Mia’s plea from the floor of parliament last year that that from the head in this country to the lowliest worker should be accountable under the law? If you do, you think that the Head of this country should also set and example re. alcohol consumption and public displays of drunkardness?

What are your thoughts on the following?
    http://breadfruitlime.freeforums.org/viewtopic.php?p=2383#2383

in particular Joe Harper’s concern about where we should focuse our concerns about alcohol abuse.

33. Such stupid comments Avatar
    Such stupid comments

David, I have no desire to submit anything to anybody via email at this time. I can see the desperation in people like Wishing in Vain and so must tread cautiously.

WIV what about the account held by David Thompson and Harcourt Lewis in Miami known as the Auditorium Account. Since you know so much about overseas account balances please tell us what is the balance of this account.

WIV you are an extremely dishonest debator. But i supposed you have been well trained. How come Harold Hoyte Article is valid when it suits you and invalid otherwise, you too have a credibility issue but then you are WISHING IN VAIN.

Thompson keep running Owen is coming, the gloves are off. Run Thompson Run.

34. Wishing in Vain Avatar

I think if we were rational and honest with ourselves and we opened our minds we would be seeing that the unlike the propaganda that is spread by those from within the blp that were we to listen to the content and the delivery of those candidates running for the DLP we would very quickly see that there is some very good clean honest talent available to the DLP and this talent does not need Mr. Thompson to prop them up as so many of them in the blp need to have Owing do to them.
    Look at the whole bunch of the blp group many have either being already fired or sitting on the backbenches drawing a salary and none of them can take the liberty to comment on any issue irregardless of the importance of the issue case in point the Paradise affair.
    The DLP’s slate of candidates if given the chance will prove themselves are capable and able persons why would we hesitate to give Dr Ester Byer a chance surely even in her worst effort she would be able to surpass Mottley in any ministry she was given to run, lets us not get carried away with the family name here but lets us focus on the performance aspect of her time in office and if we look at Culture she gets a failing grade, if we look at her service in Education she has been a dismal failure here as well wasting millions of taxpayers dollars in Edutech and still failing it, as DPM useless, as the one responsible for security for CWC was an even bigger disaster so tell me really what is her claim to fame I know of a couple of issues that she is recognized for none of these are positive or uplifting.
    Really the slate of candidates of the DLP can stand on their own two feet in terms of quality and ability, I was present and heard the maiden speech of Mr. James Paul and trust me he was brilliant and clear and sincere in what he said and also Mrs. Irene Sandiford Garner she is a very good candidate with a brain on her shoulders.
    I was very impressed by the quality and substance of their speeches and I think that person for person the quality of those on offer by the DLP is by far better than the rehashed unemployables that the blp has to offer.
    Let us not forget the Rommel Marshall’s, the Rawle Eastmonds, the Hammy Lashleys, the George Edghill’s, the George Payne’s, the Liz Thompson’s all of blp want to be’s have either been already fired and rehired or simply put out to pasture, so what then is the point of voting for Marshall, Edghill, Payne or Eastmond or for that matter any of them in this category if by their own admission they have nothing to do with Owing and in exchange he has nothing to do with them.
    You will be voting for a non functional representative, is there any point in doing so???
    I have no doubt the Mr Thompson will bring the NO CONFIDENCE MOTION I agree he has to for some strange reason I seem to believe that he to is itching to bring it to the house because then he will get to reveal the next part of his findings to the public, he many not win the vote but he will get his chance to tell the people about the corruption that is HARDWOOD HOUSING without the fear of being taken before the courts of Barbados, he has done a great job in exposing Asscoll for what he is and will continue to do what he has to do to destroy each and every scam that exist in this blp regime.

35. Such stupid comments Avatar
    Such stupid comments

Adrian stop wasting my time with nonsense. Like Arthur said I am busy. What drukened foolishness are you now talking. ….While you are talking about drunks tell us how thompson broke his leg. I suppose at that time he wasn’t able to run.

But he running now. On your marks, get set, RUN THOMPSON RUN

36. Wishing in Vain Avatar

I can see the desperation in people like Wishing in Vain and so must tread cautiously.

The only desperate ones are you and your gangs of thieves my friends, you have done a number on the taxpayers of this land your real issue now is to try to conceal your deeds and that is your problem.
    I am comfortable in the knowledge that time is longer than twine and you will be brought to justice sooner rather than later.

37. Wishing in Vain Avatar

Funny how quickly you run when confronted by David but then again just your style as always tell lies and mistruths and run thereafter.
    Sad that your leader was so drunk on Sunday he could not get the words delivered clearly.
    It is disgraceful when the leader is better known as a thief, drunk and womaniser than anything else, nothing too moral about him there is there?

38. Such stupid comments // Nov 6th 2007 at 4:02 pm

Adrian stop wasting my time with nonsense. Like Arthur said I am busy. What drukened foolishness are you now talking. ….While you are talking about drunks tell us how thompson broke his leg. I suppose at that time he wasn’t able to run.

But he running now. On your marks, get set, RUN THOMPSON RUN
    ———————————————————
    What are you really saying?

Wasn’t Owen Arthur drunk at Mascoll’s nomination?

He was but there should be no concern?

Should Joe Harper, Karen Best, and others be concern about alcohol consumption? Or to be at this time would bring to much unwanted attention to Owen’s abuse problem? What really are you saying SSC? 😀

Thompson fell as he attempted to disembark from a truck. Do you have information that he mis-step as a result of to much liquor? 😀

39. Such stupid comments Avatar
    Such stupid comments

Wishing in Vain, or is it Hoping despite, I am still awaiting the accounts balances from overseas. David, whether it is David Thompson or David whoever can’t determine for me how I make my contribution to this blog. If you care to you can go right ahead and do your thing I will respond appropriately.

It is interesting that, according to you, there has been wide spread corruption in Government, yet the Opposition lead by your loser ah mean leader Thompson has not been able to convince anyone or provide proof of such. The 15th Meeting of the PAC was called recently, what has Thompson got to show? I’ll answer for you because you can’t and won’t …… absolutely nothing.

Twenty years of unbroken time not service in the House of Assembly — What has Thompson got to show? …… absolutely nothing.

Twenty years as the representative of the people of St. John. What has Thompson got to show? …… absolutely nothing.

Was the Minister of Finance and leader of the DLP after the Sandiford abortion. What has Thompson got to show? …… absolutely nothing.

Was the President of the DLP who according to him gave up his law practice to focus on getting the party reelected to office. What has Thompson got to show? …… absolutely nothing. OOPs sorry … a 26-2 defeat.

He ran from Owen Arthur during OWEN’S period of dominance; returned after Mascoll took a valiant fight to OWEN and after his return what does he have to show? …… absolutely nothing.

Was the only Leader of the DLP who had to borrow money to run an election and afterwards what does he have to show? …… absolutely nothing

Tell the people not to buy shares in the Barbados National Bank and what does he have to show? …….…… absolutely nothing …. OPPs sorry again, the Shares that He bought.

He can continue to run but the people of Barbados are catching up with him and they are beginning to see him for what he is …. A Weak, Spiteful Coward whose only vision is to destroy, whose mission is to amass wealth and whose purpose is to bring about the ultimate demise of Errol Barrow’s DLP. Cuh dear.

40. Such stupid comments Avatar
    Such stupid comments

Adrian Hinds

I would have hoped that by now you would have recognized that I have unmasked you for the fraud that you are. All this pretense that you thought Mascoll was unfaired was just a feeble attempt to try to urgent some legitimacy as a so-called independent contributor. You can drop that pretense now and continue to wish in vain.

If Arthur was drunk on Sunday night and he delivered such a potent, coherent message can you imagine what he would do if he were sober.

Oh yes let me remind you of this comment:

David // Nov 5th 2007 at 9:27 am
    Such stupid comments~interesting comments on your part. After reading your last comment we wondered what was wrong with Thompson evaluating his political stock and making a decision to try to preserve his career. Politicos from all sides would admit that Arthur’s dominance through his first two terms was very strong. No less than Barrow ran away when he was in Opposition and openly voiced disdain for the position.

Let me also comment that Thompson is no Errol Barrow. He is a coward who is no man enough to stand up to dominant personality. Who in their right mind would want him to lead their country. …. Oh I know …. Wishing in Vain.

41. Does David speak to Mascoll? Probably not. The one thing I know David Thompson not to be is a hypocrite.

Owen called Mascoll a shoplifter for stealing chickens from a supermarket and backyards in St. Peter, that he stole the public Workers Credit Union’s money, and was worse than a retarded child. He made Mascoll and his wife knock down a whole patio for building it without Town & Country Planing permission.

Mascoll is a xxxxx who wants to get rich quick not by his wits and ability but by cutting corners. Plain and simple

Post edited.

42. Well folks it is becoming clear that SSC is unwilling to respond the clearly tabled list of events that if true will deny Mascoll from honestly wearing a cloak made of integrity. In the absence of an attempt to deal with them, and responses that seek to cast attention away from Mascoll unto Thompson suggest to me that there may some truth to “Light Hearted” account of Mascoll actions.
    ….While Mascoll broke no law when he resigned from the DLP and joined the BLP, many people including me continue to frown on this event, the time and way it occurred. The world is full of Mascolls who com mitts acts that are perfectly with the law, or more precisely that no law prohibits, but acts that a great many of the citizens of the world finds to be morally wrong. Citizens with morals, and Politicians without can never be a good mix, and the citizen should never think that such a politician can consistently represent their interest, Legal yes but what is right will most likely be determine by self interest. A self interested politician isn’t the kind of person that is likely to look after your local needs. I could be wrong but if i have a choice to make, I will be guided by my reasoning.

43. Such stupid comments // Nov 7th 2007 at 9:42 am

Adrian Hinds

I would have hoped that by now you would have recognized that I have unmasked you for the fraud that you are. All this pretense that you thought Mascoll was unfaired was just a feeble attempt to try to urgent some legitimacy as a so-called independent contributor. You can drop that pretense now and continue to wish in vain.
    ———————————————————-
    …….I thought Mascoll was unfaired in light of the information available at the time.

Light hearted has presented some information that was not available to me before, and i have given you an opportunity to respond, and you decided that you will not. How i opinion-ate is not up to you to control, to put away and cash in by withholding responses to accusations, claiming to respond in the fullness of time. You have no such luxury with me, thou servant of the people. It is not the other way around, I will not be used as you see fit. I warned you that any delay and or refusal to deal with what Light Hearted contends to be the truth of Mascolls actions will be interpreted by me as the unlikable truth that probably cannot be denied. In other words, no response means will mean yes to me, that you are force to accept these accounts to be the truth, not of the variety you would like, but the truth never the less.

——————————————————-
    If Arthur was drunk on Sunday night and he delivered such a potent, coherent message can you imagine what he would do if he were sober.

Oh yes let me remind you of this comment:
    —————————-
    ha ha ha I like your “IF” statement. If Arthur was drunk? A conundrum that you cannot deal with,….. how do I speak to his alleged coherency while under the influence, yet not acknowledging that he was under the influence of alcohol. The IF statement, that those who understand the way around our defamation laws will employ, and can be further proof that as long as you and Mascoll are satisfied that you have broken no laws it is to hell with morals or what is just plain right.

….On the topic of alcoholism, I think it is safe to say that the days of bragging about being able hold one’s liquor are over, in the least it should be over for a man at Arthur’s age. It is undisputed that he was under influence of alcohol at Mascoll’s nomination, and it is a fact that into days Barbados alcohol consumption is of a national concern, this is a conflict that Barbadians have to deal with. I agree with you, although you may not have intend it, that Arthur is at his best after imbibing, and that his alcohol consumption is greatest during the election season. It is in place to capture every public display of his drunkenness during this season so that Joe Harper, Karen Best, Pastor Roach and other Barbadians who are truly concern about alcohol abuse can see the depth and height to which alcohol dependency goes. Owen Arthur is not a casual drinker, he is a classic drunkard. 😀

44. This statement was just posted on the DLP blog:

MASSCOLL IS THE BIGGEST “B”

36 mins ago by dlpbarbados.

The Barbados Labour party bussed into 400 persons to support the 35 from the constituency of St. Michael North West to support the candidature of the TURNCOAT Clyde Mascoll. As usual the place was hot with the combined hot air speeches and the sabre rattling of Owen Arthur. After all the chest thumping and hand shaking one went away with the view that the majority of BLP politicians are not comfortable with the TURNCOAT. He talks down to them. He sees many of them as not his intellectual equal. His every word and act is to show them how good he really is. The HARDWOOD AFFAIR really shows his colleagues that he is a bit of a DIM WIT unable to do anything really right.

He messed up within the DLP. The story has not fully been told. He defected to the Barbados Labour Party and Now calls himself credible. How in heavens name can one individual be so many things? That is very possible with CLyde Masscoll. He can be both fish and foul at the same time. This is a man who limited his scruples as he looks out for himself. No wonder the BLP have not really embraced him . He will be like a fish outside of water. May the electorate give him his just reward.

45. Such stupid comments Avatar
    Such stupid comments

Oh loss a few rats now coming out the barrel. We now have foul-mouth Velzo. He is now good support for double standard Adrian. All I sought to do to you “Mr. Guided by my reasoning” — that is different by being guided by reason — is to show you that the standards by which you judge Mascoll should be applied to all other persons including your coward Thompson. Then and only then can you be seen as being objective.

Citizens with morals, and Politicians without can never be a good mix,
    …………………………………
    Neither can politician with morals and citizens like you be a good mix, no wonder you are so entwined with Thompson. Run Thompson Run —- Yuh Coward.

46. Am SSC i am more objective that your current knowledge of my contributions on the internet will allow. It is a question of which comes first. Do i have to point to posting on several forums and blogs going back several years, to demonstrate that i am not a friend to any politician, and can never be? or is it you who needs to first demonstrate that Light hearted is either down-right lieing or incorrect in the least about what he attributes to Mascoll? I can prove my impartiallity very easy and there are many here who can attest to the approach i have taken over the years. So it is over to you. Light hearted has made Mascoll out to be the most dishonest person in Barbados, and i would think that on two fronts you need to respond to these things first then ask your questions of Thompson.
    1: Light Hearted gave dates timelines, and detail comments about Mascoll actions
    2: Mascoll is in the business of perception, his current lot in life owes a lot to having the right perception of himself in peoples minds, and he must protect and perserver that perception. He is currently not on the job in that regard. 😀

47. Perhaps, such-stupid-comments-Clyde-Mascoll, when Owen Arthur said those things about you he wasnt drunk!!

48. Well Adrian, you have now been brought full circle. And by Clyde Mascoll – who you used to defend himself! SSC is Clyde and its such an apt description.

I recall when I used to tell you that you were anti-DLP – and you probably still are. Who knows?

49. Such stupid comments Avatar
    Such stupid comments

Adrian for my sake please spell out the specific charges against Clyde that were not answered.

50. Such stupid comments Avatar
    Such stupid comments

Velzo has nothing really to contribute so I will not be wasting time addressing him. Just to say that Clyde Mascoll stuck in yuh craw.

Leave a Reply to Adrian HindsCancel reply