The pictures below are taken from a Barbadian blog named The Observations of a Simple Bajan. It is true what they say that a picture is worth a thousand words. The extraordinary occurrences which take place on our roads in Barbados would make the biggest head grow. The pictures below portray the chaos at the Top Rock roundabout every weekday morning. The breaking of the law, drivers exhibiting uncouth behaviour, accidents (people don’t bother to stop for those little scrapes any longer), you name it it happens at Top Rock.

Didn’t Commissioner Darwin Dottin implement Operation Road Order Maintenance some years ago? If we go by our observation there is never a police presence at Top Rock roundabout. A word of warning, it is only a matter of time!

Top Rock roundabout is a free-for-all every week day morning with ZRs making third lanes or taking the right lane but continuing onto St. Lawrence (”reverse” jambusting) instead of proceeding into the roundabout. And we know that once the precedent is set otherwise sensible persons follow suit.

005.jpg001.jpg006.jpg

Then there are the jambusters who take the left land coming from the highway and instead of going on to Maxwell proceed around the roundabout and look as if nothing is wrong.

002.jpg002.jpg003.jpg004.jpg

007.jpg

Do you really want to tell me that we no longer have any sense of law and order and that it is so much more important for some drivers to reach their destination that they have absolutely no consideration for others??

39 responses to “Confusion On The Highways Of Barbados ~ Call The Police Hotline Line Quick (467 2725)”

1. You know, whenever I see this kind of crazyness I think what an easy job it would be to be a traffic cop in Barbados.

The amount of citations that could be generated by just spending an hour there each morning makes me wonder why the police simply ignore it.

And on top of that, if we could have traffic tickets like in other countries the police force could turn into quite the money making enterprise. Maybe we’d be able to pay them a decent salary and not lose so many to Bermuda.

2. top rock rocks!! Avatar
    top rock rocks!!

I love Top Rock pun a morning

Great fun!

NEVER the same two mornings in a row

I look forward to it in fact

Gets me outa bed!

3. Something that you missed in this situation is people are coming down from Greame Hall Hill and passing out all the traffic in the left lane and then cutting back left. Just a couple weeks ago a woman did this to my mother and hit the front of her car resulting in over $7,000.00 in damages (funny thing is that the woman is yet to report the accident to her insurance) I guess she is too big-up in her big SUV. I’m hoping that the Police will wake up and do something before somebody gets killed there. As I told my mother the day it happens to me, a little right lock and a tap on the gas should just about put those big-up SUVs and idiot ZRs on their side and slide very nicely into the island there. But that would not be NISE would it LOL

4. Some of these PSVs are owned by policemen, so what do you expect?

5. YUM YUM I like it! Avatar
    YUM YUM I like it!

Top Rock typifies the schizophenic nature of Barbadian driving!

In one short stretch we have the whole panacea of annoying our driving features.
    * Ridiculous shortcutting – both over Graeme Hall Hill and through Dover, OR even shortcutting through the gas station!
    * Overly passive driving – nitwits letting 4 or 5 vehicles through from the Dover short-cut road OR waiting till the traffic is moving to let people across the road
    * Overly agressive driving – not letting people through who are driving sensibly
    * Cars and vans stopping without pulling over
    * Folks not comprehending the idea of round-about

MY HORN HAS BEEN BROKEN FOR SIX MONTHS

JUST AS WELL!!!!!!

I’ve seen days where there’s a police officer at Top Rock – it just slows everyone down as they seem to have no training in traffic control signals. One day I saw a tall policewomen and her hand signals were so languorous and uncertain that she almost got HERSELF run over!

The Top Rock experience shows the changing face of Barbados driving. Gradually, this laid back curtious motoring nation is one by one converting to the ‘rat race’ idealogy of mean nose to bumper road-ragers as seen in England and elsewhere!

That’s what you get if speed yourself towards ‘first world’ status!

6. Welcome to Italy!

7. YUM YUM I like it! Avatar
    YUM YUM I like it!

It could actually have parallels to Barbados society.

The drivers who are curtious and law abiding get pi**ed on by short-cutting law-breakers often in large SUVs with tinted windows (there’s the lack of transparency!). Yet there is no accountability, so slowly the order and the goodwill is breaking down as ‘good’ people see that there is no gain in their virtue!

The only answer currently is to drive defensively and try not to let the idiots grind you down.

Put a jolly CD on in the car and watch the dodgems ensue!

8. Get use to it guys and gals and with the easing of the “used” car regulations more will join the fun.

But there is a positive side to it that you people are overlooking. Do whunna remember to get a drivers licence in days gone by, you had yo deal with Rendevouz Hill and Suttle street.

I hear the “Testers” now will be using the Top Rock “Demolition” round about to see if you can get a licence! This will mean only the creme de la creme of drivers will be passed.

9. Think that’s bad try Norman Niles any weekday morning or afternoon

10. Jinx
    I’ve lived and worked in Italy, and driven there, too. The big difference is that there is an order in the way they drive. Everybody knows what to expect, and what other drivers are doing. It may look crazy, but it’s easy once you get used to it. Here, nobody knows what to expect. Left hand indicators are apparently a thing of the past, and now I’ve noticed that some drivers are not using the right hand indicators any more. Drivers here all drive like learners, or loonies. Defensive driving is the only way to feel safe, and even then a fool with a beer in his hand can kill you.

11. Concerned Bajan Avatar

Let us not forget driving down to the life of barbados roundabout. A long single line of law abiding citizens and then the Cows driving down the right lane and forcing their way infront the law abiding ppl. Maybe the roads need to be marked better by 3s idiots.

12. I hate to rain on your parade but Barbados driving habits is another reflection of the irresponsible decline and behaviour of to-days society. But take heart Barbados is now joining the league of Nations who all lament the same decline in Social conduct, consideration for others, the law etc.

But as we have seen on this blog in other arguments the individual who is ultimately responsible and who is the one that solely controls the situation blame others. They will not take responsibility!

I assure you that if the lines on the road are properly marked it will make little difference in deterring the actions of road hogs. The police can only do so much but the end result in bringing about change is solely in the hands and the responsibilty of those who are committing the vehicular/traffic offences. And are road hogs! And you are not going to convince them of that anytime soon! Trust me.

13. Bet’cha the flyovers help

14. I hope yuh rite but duh mite brek down or fall down like de structure at Brittons Hill. We will have to wait and see.

15. YUM YUM I like it! Avatar
    YUM YUM I like it!

ABC

The flyovers will help to get some people where they want to go faster – granted.

BUT it will likely cause even more acrimonious bottle necks as people have been flying along quite nicely all the way from St Philip then BANG! 40 minutes stuck in a bottle neck.

What is the point in that!

16. Sounds like the movie “One flew over the cucoos nest”. And at a cost of $180 million it might be best used as a shrine to the taxpayer commemorating “YOU WERE HAD”!

17. No Name

Dem flyovers gonna soar like de bird in de sky man!

18. YUM YUM I like it! Avatar
    YUM YUM I like it!

In a country with one of the highest obesity rates in the world, why is it that workers cannot walk from a convenient layby to their place of work?

Instead private cars stop right in the middle of the road (opposite the office door) to let the big blob out of the car!

Whilst everyone else waits behind patiently (or not so patiently!).

SO ANNOYING!

19. Opps! I miss a whole lot posting and I can see that ABC and Mosquito still of the believe that flyovers will solve the problem. Take a look at the pictures and you will see that these vehicles are heading in one direction, that is the Worthing area and right down to Bridgetown. This is the constant submission that I keep writing about.
    Let’s clear our eyes and reason. It is the veins leading to the urban area that is really causing the traffic problems. Let us take a look at all the bootleneck areas. On weekday mornings motorists will try to use the St. Lawrence area, if vehicles are moving slow, the next area will be the Wildey road, if traffic is backing up in that area, motorists will use Pine East Road, if that road is congested, the next road will be Two Mile Hill/Government Hill and you know traffic back up all by Sherbourne Centre. The next area will be the Belle Gully Road. Please note that all these roads lead to the city. Travel further on the highway and the next exit point is Hothersal leading to the Combermere School, This area has many veins leading to major highways that is frequented by motorists on mornings. The next exit point is the Warrens area, with massive built up due to vehicles going to the new Government Complex, Pricemart, and BS&T complex. These vehicles move at slow pace right down to Eagle Hall and right into Bridgetown. The other exit is by Chefette/Shell area leading to the Cave Hill Campus. Now you get the picture, Flyovers will not save the problem since the problem is not who get to Sandy Lane faster, but who will get into the city, park and reach work before 8:30 a.m.

I ask in an earlier post, if 100 cars enter from the Garfield Sobers how many of them will reach the Chefette/Gas Station area?

20. Let us stop the Flyovers talk and deal with the major problem that can be solved immediately without wasting over $200 million. What about the traffic synchronisations equipment which was purchased by MPT? At least some of the cameras are installed, let us start working on the other areas.

21. Frankology~we give your B+ for trying 🙂

A question one of the BU household have for you is this: given the MAD driving we see our roads today, have we past the point of no return?

22. Frankology, you are correct in your wise observations. But think about this.

Why has Barbados allowed traffic congestion to lead them down the road to spending millions of taxpayers dollars on “solving” these problems when many are claiming they cannot afford to eat well?

Other countries of the world suffer traffic “Gridlock” BIG TIME that is a fact, nor is it new. And these countries try to address them, but “Gridlock” takes second place to empty bellys.

In other words responsible Governments address National issues by Priortizing.

23. When I speak, I do not settle for anything but an “A”.

David, my heart aches when I hear people talking about these flyovers going to be the saviour for our traffic congestion. When I speak, I do not settle for anything but an “A”. We don’t have an ABC highway problem, what we have is a urban traffic management problem. We have too many arteries in urban Barbados utilising two-way traffic. What we need to look at now, is to create a myriad of one-way traffic to coincide with a new traffic signal management system. I am using one of many analogies; we shall look at the Belleville area, which comprise eleven avenues that connect to Pine Road on the east and Belleville on the west both running in horizontal directions and just around 100 metres apart. Why not make Belleville a one-way road going south from Belmont Road. We can deal with many such areas where you can redirect traffic that existing from minor roads. I am willing to do a traffic plan that will be able to ease the urban traffic. I am sick of people saying that you have to be an engineer and using all types of ratios and percentages to explain why we are having so many traffic blocks. These so called technocrats need to get out early on mornings and observe the behaviour of the traveling public, follow the ZR’s and see the roads they are taking and get into a class-room atmosphere and trash out the pros and cons of our traffic congestion. Invite your critics and deal with the issues. Remember, your friends keep their mouth shut and let you fall, whilst your enemies let you know when you are wrong.

24. Frankolgy all of what you say make sense and I am by no way intending to criticize them or make you feel uncomfortable. Many should be implemented especially the one way streets suggestion.

But there are other ways to to try and deal with the problem of traffic congestion especially in our Barbados.

Why not consider better transit systems that move the masses making it unneccessary for them to use their cars. In large countries many can make the argument that they need their cars to drive to customers and to do business because the distances involved are considerable. This is not in my opinion true in Barbados for most!
    Most of the business sector is centralized.

Therefore to spend millions to accommodate the movement of traffic only in rush hour is nonsense, because most do not need their car after getting to work.

I think there are far more necessary services that require attention than “Gridlock”.

It was like the Caribbean hosting CWC it was an event the region could not afford and are now paying and will continue to pay for it for decades with little return for their money! Third world Nations have to come to grips with the fact that other Nations are tired of bailing them out of their many financial scandals with many of them involving corruption!

The Traffic situation and its solutions are going down a similar road of bumps with continued allegations of corruption with the massive over runs on contracts none more so than the ABC contract.

In the Caribbean such types of construction or most construction do not have the cost intensive environmental impediments as countries that experience winters, frost etc. This is a tropical environment that should make building/construction far cheaper.

I hear people in Barbados talking about high labour cost in the sugar industry. What high cost of labour? This is nonsense compared to wages paid in comparable economies.

When a Foreigner or wealthy Bajan builds a $ 2, $3 or $5 million dollar house/condo do you realize the massive profit the builder makes?

There is no building codes, no material standards, no mininum wage and labour rates are way out of line for the cost estimate of the structure/s.

I think Bajans need to open their eyes and not allow BS to baffle brains!

25. Yes we can look at better transit system. But we are going to meet resistant from various quarters. Barbadians are a proud people, we must be seen driving our own vehicles from our homes (big or small) and tranversing the highway for everybody to see. We will park our vehicles as close as possible to our work place, so our business associates and the whole of Bridgetown to see you have a car while you allow your car keys to jingle like a school bell. The majority of Barbadians are going to resist a “park and ride system” because the liberty to move instantly will be hampered since their vehicle will be $1.50 away park a few metres from home.

26. I hear you but when gas gets to $1.30 Canadian per litre as is being forecasted on last nights overseas news God help us proud Barbadians.

I think it was Adrian Loveridge who yesterday wrote advocating a grocery store here in Barbados follow the lead of a store in the UK and make energy saving bulbs available to us as a promotion.

Maybe it is the cars and the expense of operating them that is behind and is the main cause for Barbadians feeling the cost of living is high.
    The reference to the bulbs is to show that “conservation” has to be practiced not only in the uses of cars but electricity, water and a host of other things that we can control!

27. You need to see the ABc highway from Simpson Motors to Bussa on any weekday morning.

Single lane of traffic and people in their SUV’s driving in the vacant lane (which is out of bounds) then forcing their way into traffic.

I took out my cell phone to take pictures of the repeat offenders because I see the same vehicles every morning and I know their car numbers.

I want one them to do it to me because I know my insurance is paid and I will let them hit my car.

I always wonder where are all these motorcycle policeman I see riding around aimlessly.

28. By the way, Minister at large, the Hon. Glyne Clarke is back. We await his ministerial statement regarding the Impact Study, the real cost of the highway, since the scope of work was known up June 2006, the placement of overpasses, submission of financial position by the contractor, Insurance coverage by the contractor and finally, what will be the final cost based on the BOLT agreement.

29. In a country with one of the highest obesity rates in the world, why is it that workers cannot walk from a convenient layby to their place of work?

Instead private cars stop right in the middle of the road (opposite the office door) to let the big blob out of the car! ‘

Interesting observation in the light of other posters claims of ’empty bellies’ and ‘cant afford to eat.’ Is it one or t’other?

30. Frankology

Have you ever been to Redmonds village?
    There is one set of traffic lights yet traffic is always backed up there.

The Free flow of the ABC is an essential first step in any traffic mangement project.

31. These so called technocrats need to get out early on mornings and observe the behaviour of the traveling public, follow the ZR’s and see the roads they are taking and get into a class-room atmosphere and trash out the pros and cons of our traffic congestion. ‘

A fool hardy suggestion if I may say so and one more likely to lead to accidents. Following ZRs right. They get where they are going through fast and dangerous driving than by any spectacular knowledge of road routes.

32. Peltdownman

If you have driven behind a public service vehicle, you will realize that not only do right hand indicators still work, they never stop working; of course you overtake them at your own risk.

To everyone else: Top Rock? The Worst. Maybe?
    I invite you to take the trek from Warrens to Wildey via the Norman Niles roundabout any morning or evening. I genuinely believe that law-abiding drivers are sometimes forced to do crazy things in order to survive this journey.

I guess the worst offence is the diagonal cut from the outside lane of the roundabout across the face of all traffic until the intruder’s front right tyre touches the curb around the roundabout. At the point the crazy driver has won the battle by proving that they have lost their mind. It must be seen to be believed.
    BG

33. Oh Mosquito, How on earth can you compare the ABC with Redmans Road by the Gas Station. You have two major arteries leading to Simpson Motors. The major movement of vehicles are coming from the north via Highway 2A, the other road comes from as far down as Highway One coming over Holders Hill, passing thru Hoytes Village and on to Redmans. When all these vehicles reach Redmans Village obviously, you will have some sort of back-up, surely not the madness like the exits from the Highway going towards the city. Oh, you are on the wrong track, you cannot solve the traffic problems from the rural area, you must deal with the urban and city traffic management first.

34. I only use an analogy of following a ZR to get over my point of technocrats getting off they bums and using practical case studies to rectify our traffic problems. Everyday, these experts should start one mile away from the highway and follow the traffic leading to the city. With all the notes from various areas, deal with the pros and cons and stop wasting our taxpayers monies and stop the lame excuses. Start the traffic management from within the nucleus of our problems.

35. All of these discussions come back to how most things are handled in Barbados and which most turn out to be corrupt, cost intensive, environmentally destructve etc.

When major projects are undertaken like the Greenland Dump, Fly overs, sewage treatment plants and the installation of sewers, large Developments like golf courses and other such undertakings. They all need expert, well qualified and experienced people and firms in the various sciences to advise, do feasibility studies, long term impact and environmental studies and a host of other issues. Who in Barbados or how many companies are really and truly qualified to do this? How many will do it in the manner the Government and other Big Up developers want them to do it by closing their eyes to serious long term issues the project could have on Barbados and the MAJORITY of its people? Has anyone seen a Major General Contractor sued in Barbados for poor engineering or work? Very few if any!

Projects like these are usually handled by Government bureaucrats or Owen talking to some prominent Barbadian or Foreigner who suggests they know exactly who can do the job. And some mickey mouse outfit usually but not always from the UK is brought in and from there everybody’s pocket is lined and the job is a mish mash of confusion.

I know studies were done for Greenland but did anyone listen? does anyone know how qualified the engineers were etc. This is a MAJOR problem with Barbados contracts. And it is not helped when they are being done in a jurisdiction where the Government has to disclose nothing about it when the shit hits the fan. Or in a jurisdiction where there is no building codes, material standards and much of this work is done without the involvement and expertise of Civil and qualified engineers. What can you expect when building is done in such a hap hazzard and careless way?

Foreign and corrupt contractors look at it as a Bonanza to teef, increase the original estimate for little or no reason etc. It is like letting go kids in a candy shop! Another thing is Barbados has no severe weather like winters, frost etc that adds to the cost of contracts. It is a relatively benign environment!

We do not even know the state of our inland environmental health and less about the reefs . And we don’t want to. Barbados because of indiscriminate and un-planned development is now seeing unprecedented levels of flooding with rain. And the people are being told it is Global warming. Rubbish! Many of these areas were never prone to flooding before. As a matter of fact back in the 40, 50 and 60’s flooding was rare. To my knowledge the first serious flood Barbados had that took some lives occurred back in the 50’s when the Constitution River flooded. Now if I go out and have a healthy urination in St. Peter or St. James I risk flooding the area.

These things have to be addressed seriously and quickly if it is not already too late.

What about all of the outside aged old WC’s (S—–t pits) how many were replaced with proper sewers or septic systems. And those that were what was done with the old pit to make sure leeching was kept to a minimum. What controls are on septic systems to see that they are properly maintained and pumped?

36. A roadhog:
    A Bajan in a car.
    The more hoggish ones are those that are still paying the bank for a vehicle they can’t afford.

37. Too many cars, carrying one person only, driving from one side of the island to the next along the ABC highway is a problem.

I should be able to take a bus from Oistins to Speighstown that travels along the highway using the new extra lane, which should be reserved for buses and vehicles carrying at six or more passengers.

Consideration shoul be given to escorting transport board buses through rush hour taffic as is currently done for the prison bus. 🙂

38. I agree with the Oistins to Speightstown express bus with stops only after exiting the Warrens area. I disagree with police escorting Transport Buses during rush hour. The ZR drivers will be requesting the same service.

39. I can't drive 55 (kph!) Avatar
    I can’t drive 55 (kph!)

I found a video f people running red lights here in barbados on YouTube!

Leave a Reply to YUM YUM I like it!Cancel reply