Many Barbadians are not aware that the AUDITED FINANCIAL statements of GEMS (Hotels and Resorts Ltd) have been laid in the House for some time now

Source: BLP Column – Nation and Advocate today 19th October 2007

Yet not a single journalist, opposition politician or Senator, Independent or otherwise has reported this and exactly what debt the Barbadian taxpayer is saddled with.

To me, this demonstrates the current state of journalism in Barbados.

Adrian Loveridge

Pevious Article

GEMS GLOW?

29 responses to “Barbadians Do You Want To Discuss The Financial Statements Of Hotel And Resorts Ltd, AKA GEMS?”

1. The BLP column has hinted that the financials paint a rosy picture. Makes me wanna go hummmmmmmmmmmmm!

2. notesfromthemargin Avatar
    notesfromthemargin

Adrian,

“not a single journalist, opposition politician or Senator, Independent or otherwise…”

and then you only talk about journalism? 🙂

Marginal

3. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Marginal…

Of course, you are quite right.
    Is it unreasonable to expect an Opposition member of Parliament to make the facts regarding GEMS available to the public?

Apart from Mr Mascoll when he was with the DLP the only other member of the Lower House or Senate that has consistently called for full GEMS disclosure is Sir John Stanley Goddard.

Now that according to the BLP the HRL audited accounts have been laid in Parliament, how can a member of the public or a journalist get hold of a copy?

4. Can somebody explain this for me as it confuses the hell out of me since this blog was re-constructed.

What to hell is “Marginal”? What is its purpose and objective? I found myself on it and it seemed the regulars do not use it.

The only way I was able to find the “Regular” Underground was by accident when bringing up the article about the “Underground is not moving”. I go to that posting now to get the main website.

5. notesfromthemargin Avatar
    notesfromthemargin

Notes From The Margin is a completely separate blog with a very different focus from BFP or BU.

I do however frequent other blogs and comment regularly.

Marginal

6. Thank you but I find it very confusing. It almost seems like a duplication of service but you know better.

One more point and I wony bother you anymore.

I bring Google and they are Three Barbados Underground Headings. I tune in the first or top of the three. Then go to your article where the nuts wrote threatening you and bring that up and then access the comments from the people.

What I want to know is this. When the nut case article disappears from your blog. How do I go about just bringing up the regular Barbados Underground where we all have some fun like we are doing now.

Thanks

7. notesfromthemargin Avatar
    notesfromthemargin

I would say just book mark it

8. once the documents are laid in parliament there are public documents. you should be able to ask the clerk of parliament for a copy or failing that obtain a copy from your member of parliament. Failing all of this you should be able to inspect a copy of the accounts at the corporate registry .

9. notesfromthemargin Avatar
    notesfromthemargin

What they really need to do is post documents laid in Parliament online for download.

10. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Anon…

Thank you for the clarification but when I inspected the Hotels and Resorts Ltd file at the CAIPO, no audited accounts for ANY year were in the file.

Also if any Member of Parliament can get a copy of the accounts and according to the BLP column they have been laid in the House for sometime, WHY hasn’t there been some re-action?

Are you also saying any journalist can obtain a copy?

I agree with Marginal, they should be posted on the Government website or the website of Hotels and Resorts Ltd.

11. No Name Exposed Avatar

No Name is David Allamby who loves to get off the topic of BLP and focus on the writer, the blog, the color of the printing. Anything to get off topic. He is corrosive to this and other blogs. Don’t get sucked in.

12. No Named Exposed

Who is David Allamby, because I have never heard of him.

Some white people in Bim are funny the minute they are cornered they assume a different Blog name and act nutso because most of them seem to be “gutless”.

13. What a pathological, compulsive LIAR you are. EVERYBODY knows who you are.

14. No Name, Thistle, David or TD Allamby, what’s the difference.

He’s been warned off virtually every Bajan blog, but if he keeps himself in check he makes a lot of sensible points.

I must admit I had a feeling of deja vu when he went off on the human papiloma virus but everything was kept under a tight rein.

David…. your passion for your native country is obvious and welcome.

Your tendency to drift into obscenity is equally obvious and totally unwelcome.

Now you are aware of your fellow bloggers genuine impressions, and everyone is aware of your identity and past record, please continue, as you have on this blog, intelligently but with decorum.

Hope you are not offended by a word to the wise.

15. Idealist

May I ask you this with respect regardless of who I am. You could be Owen Arthur or you could be David Thompson or even Hazel Lashley.

You seem hung up on MY OBSCENTITIES. Why did you not preach to those who told Adrian Loveridge to kiss his mothers—– c—-. Why is my use of far less benign language offensive to you. Is that not hypocrisy?

This is what I cant understand. Why are a few on these blogs so high profile, while others who threaten peoples lives use the most vulgar of all languages are not lectured to as you are lecturing me. And I have no problem with your comments were they sincere and genuine but they are not.

But the question I pose is a valid one and why is it so important that my TRUE identity be known. Does anyone elase come in for that type of scrutiny. If they do I have certainly not noticed it. So the question begs to be asked why is it important that my true identity be known? Does not make sense.

Anonymous not the one who posts sensible comments but the moron why is he/she not singled out? Are these blogs operated using double standards? It would appear so to me.

Have I ever used the words f—–, c—– etc? like others on these blogs. Man give me a break with the hypocrisy.

The facts support that my comments hit nerves with some blacks, whites and politicians and they cannot take the heat so they resort to personal attacks and intimidation. This is what this is all about!

Pissed, sh—-t and stuff like that is heard all over Barbados 24/7. A columnist in the Nation News Jeannette Layne Clarke I believe only a week ago said the F—- word in Barbados is vogue. Are you telling me that with all of this going on you single out a few of my comments as vulgar. Man you mek me laugh!

You know why I submitted the two articles this morning one of which you singled out. I did it hoping that it might help parents deal with or avoid a tragic situation with their daughters. The other was to enlighten men with prostate problems in Barbados that there was an option besides a biopsy with all of the side effects. Even those were not appreciated. They made more sense than half of the garbage many on these blogs talk.

You know something I have come to the conclusion that all of you in Barbados are getting what you deserve and me and Adrian Loveridge should keep out of it!

16. Ideallist:

I beg you, PLEASE, do NOT couple my name with that of any of the following: Patrick Porter, T.D. Allamby, Green Monkey, No Name … on and on ad infinitum. I am THISTLE and I am not to be confused with the above-mentioned. I do not get down in the gutter (a) because I don’t like it there and (b) because I do not follow the crowd. Finally, do I sound like Polonius (the greatest windbag in all literature) to you?? Give me a break!

17. No Name

As usual thin skinned, thin skinned , thin skinned

18. Thistle:

My apologies.

19. Has anyone tried to find out to what accounting period the financial statements of Hotels and Resorts Ltd. that have allegedly been laid in Parliament relates? Perhaps they do not reveal anything relevant to the issues about which the public of Barbados is concerned.

20. Mr. Linchh why would any alleged financial statements of Hotels and Resorts Ltd need to be kept a secret in the first place? Why does the Government not make a statement if nothing is amiss? Why should the client public be always the one made to take the initiative to get information that, is a given for citizens in truly “Democratic” jurisdictions of the Free world?

The same secrecy and confusion is going on about the alleged overrun on the ABC highway project. Why is that?

Honest straight forward Governments with nothing to hide do not act so secretively and in such a clandestine manner.

These are the salient and relevant points you should be focusing on.

However, and to be fair and onjective about this situation, it is not just about the BLP Government because the Opposition and the people of Barbados are equally to blame for allowing this BLP Government to hi-jack Democracy. And run Barbados like a banana republic.

21. This is for Adrian Loveridge, but I really do not care who wants to respond if they find it necessary.

Adrian I received a call late last night and what I have been told though not earth shattering or causes me any concern I thought I would share it with you.

The party calling informs me that the BLP in preparation for an election when it is called is focusing on the commenters of blogs and have recruited some able and well spoken persons to respond to damaging comments that are made against the BLP, with you mainly their target. But you are not alone, the objective is to take some of the sting out of attacks against the BLP from any source contributing to blogs. This makes a lot of sense.

Personally I was surprised at a couple of names that are allegedly involved.

I think it is an excellent strategy if true and it has the brilliance and genius of Al Gilkes written all over it.

In the event I get further information I will share. Just thought I would give you the heads up! I am sure like me you do not give two damns!

22. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

Thank you NoName..

I wondered why Al Gilkes would not return my call.
    Perhaps this is why?

Standby by for the latest revelation on the ‘AUDITED FINANCIAL statements of GEMS have been laid in the House for some time now’.

23. Greetings
    everyone,
    My name is Jason Lee , this is my first
    post. I didn’t find relevant
    thread to post this, and I am sorry, if I posted in the wrong place,
    moderators, please move this post accordingly.
    Not so long ago, I stumbled upon information about
    investment private clubs, that do not trade publicly. The yields, which people could
    receive by participating in such programs, seemed
    extremely high at
    first, but as I learned more reviews about them, I began to make a lot of money. Guess what, today, I consider
    myself to become the successful
    investor. To
    share my findings, I
    made available the blog, which
    shows detailed information
    about selected investment websites. To see my current picks, follow this URL.
    I would deeply appreciate
    user’s feedbacks.

24. Fuck off investblogger, you’re a cunt, and people like you should be put in a pair of oltime stocks, and left in public toilets to smell other people’s shit all day long. If you are ill from anything, I hope you die from it.

25. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Barbados Advocate 16th June 2008
    Page 7 Business Monday

“SOME $48 million in interest payments are owed Government by Hotels and Resorts Limited.
    This is according to the 2007 Report by the Auditor General which highlighted many areas of operations within the public service.
    The report said that the Government had loaned Hotels and Resorts Limited BDS$145.3 million in July 2002.
    The loan was made at the rate of 7.25 per cent over a period of 20 years in semi-annual installments payable on June 30 and December 31 each year. There was a moratorium on the interest.’

Was this loan discussed and approved in Parliament?

28 Hotels lost so far, how many more?

How can the private sector possibly compete with these trading conditions?

26. Adrian can’t you tell us when the PEOPLE will be able to read the GEMS financials? These sound bites which highlight the symptoms is not what is required after so long. The DLP government promised that when they gained office they would make information like the GEMS financials and the St. Joseph Report known. We are now being told that the St. Joseph Report can’t be found. The PEOPLE must be stupid.

So far the PEOPLE continue to wait.

27. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

David..

I am still not sure whether the GEMS fiscal records are the respondibility of the Ministry of Finance or Ministry of Tourism.

From the copies of previous Barbados Tourism Authority Board meetings, I can find no record of ANY board of the BTA approving or recommending ANY loans or moratorium on interest payments relating to Hotels and Resorts Ltd.

Perhaps someone close to Parliament could advise if this loan and moratorium on interest was approved by both houses and by Cabinet.
    It should be a matter of record.

28. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

David..

I am still not sure whether the GEMS fiscal records are the responsibility of the Ministry of Finance or Ministry of Tourism.

From the copies of previous Barbados Tourism Authority Board meetings, I can find no record of ANY board of the BTA approving or recommending ANY loans or moratorium on interest payments relating to Hotels and Resorts Ltd.

Perhaps someone close to Parliament could advise if this loan and moratorium on interest was approved by both houses and by Cabinet.
    It should be a matter of record.

Leave a Reply to notesfromthemarginCancel reply