The following email was received from a BU Reader.

Dear Sir:
Airport Security is being operated by a fly by night operator, a person that has never operated in this field of business before, amazingly he gets awarded a major contract for the airport as a proving ground. While we are on the subject of being ripped off and corruption etc I have a few questions to ask with regards to the awarding of the contract for the security at Grantley Adams International Airport.
This contract has been awarded to a Mr Ishi Huque for the security of the entire airport this was coordinated with the help of Glyne Clarke of wuk for wuk fame and Glyne Murray two elite members of the ruling party.
Let me put it to you that he has never before operated or run a Security Business in his life before, but he manages to land the contract for something as important as the airport security contract. Why would one of the other professional security companies not get a look in at this contract I ask? My feeling is that this is one of those cases of I will scratch your back if you scratch mine.
He is a loyal supporter of the party and lives in St.George you put two and two together and see how it adds up, the airport has many more cases of party loyals getting hooked up in work at this location, think for a minute and tell me who has the duty free shops contract for the same airport???
Haloute just happened to be the best bid for the restaurant I am sure.
Regards,
JD

11 responses to “Airport Security Being Operated By A Fly-By Night Operator”

1. Wishing in Vain Avatar

Did the former manager of the airport Colin Brewer award contracts to his own company for the operation of the duty free shops at the airport?

2. colin brewer awarded many shops to himself as far as i heard it was 6 shops

3. did you forget bernie weatherhead or it just happen he is a major contributor to owen arthur campaign funds

4. Wishing in Vain Avatar

Why are these things appearing as they are?
    So much corruption is taking place in this little island, one thing after the other.
    It almost appears that you have to well connected to a politician to get thru in this island nowadays, sad but true.
    How else would someone with no previous security background get a contract like this in the first place, friends helping friends I would suggest.
    The question must be what quality security is bing provided at the airport?
    Does it meet the Minimum standards or does it fall below this level of incompetence ?

5. During the ’94 election campaign, the BLP went up and down this island lambasting the DLP for the deal made with a certain company regarding the Kola syrup issue.
    Looking back and comparing that issue with what goes on today I wonder what the ppl will say? That seems like something less than chicken feed.

6. This gov’t is noted for scams and to give any firm which is worth its salt, it would not be possible to receive the massive kickbacks allegedly taking place. That level can only be reached with fly by night firms.

7. The Promise of the Darkness Avatar
    The Promise of the Darkness

Ode to Barbados Underground

They will come.

They will come in the darkness of night.

They will come.

Black men in dark clothing, with guns and sirens blazing.

They will come.

They will smash your doors and seize your computers.

They will come.

They will drag you out of your house at 2:00 am.

They will come.

They will take you deep into the bowels of the station and beat you mercilessly.

They will come.

Cruel men. Cruel men. Cruel men.

But in all things be thankful.

For when WE come…

We won’t touch you. We won’t beat you.

We only come to watch.

For when WE come…

We will come silently.

We will come to kill your children.

BFP&E

8. Cuz as usual… um is who ya know and not what ya know….

9. Can someone tell us if the GAIA would have a tendering process?

How did Chefette get the contract to service the airport?

How did Huque get the contract to provide security services?

How did Brewer get the contract to provide shops at the airport as Chairman of the Board at the time? Wouldn’t that be considered a conflict of interest?

We are aware of some other well known people in Barbados who have contracts at the airport, what is the approval process which they had to go through?

10. Wishing in Vain Avatar

Seeing that the airport is under the control of Noeless Lynch does it surprise you that these things are allowed to happen, remember he has a multi million dollar home to pay for hence his obvious corruptio and dishonesty, I see that he took $ 60,000.00 in settlement fron VOB I wonder if he plans to donate it to charity?
    He is to be asked about the award of these dubious awards but do not expect a reply and if you do manage a reply it may not be an honest one anyway.

Leave a Reply to Wishing in VainCancel reply