Watch Alison Hinds video “Roll It Gal”

Read what a leading newspaper in England wrote about Alison Hinds and her popular hit song “Roll It Gal” with the Notting Hill Carnival on the upcoming calender.

BU congratulate Alison Hinds for her perseverance!

Previous BU Alison Video 

Barbados Crop Over 2007 & Alison Hinds, Sweetness Fuh Days!

39 responses to “Barbadian Alison Hinds Following In The Wake Of Rhianna~Making Waves In The International Market With Her Mega Hit "Roll It Gal"”

1. Roll it gal is old news now. When is she going to come with something new and better?

2. It was a hit all over the place, BUT ….I agree with u Anonymous. It’s time for a new song……

3. I understan she comming wid a new album shortly.

4. I admit to being surprised by the Telegraph’s aritcle. I did n’t now that they knew that soca even existed.

However, don’t let’s fool ourselves. Alison is yesterday’s news. There’s a universe of difference between her song and Rihanna’s ‘Unbrella’.

Rihanna is the present and the future. Left to me, I’d bury soca tomorrow, for good!

5. and suppose Alison becomes the one to put soca on the map? man give the homie some support all music will have backing.

6. those comments were some of the silliest i’ve seen on this site…roll it gal may be old to us but to the european market where millions dont hear soca everyday…i mean jeez…well done alison !! old and new ? what an idiot !

7. those comments were some of the silliest i’ve seen on this site…roll it gal may be old to us but to the european market where millions dont hear soca everyday…i mean jeez…well done alison !! old and new ? what an idiot !

8. Clearly, you find the concepts of old and new difficult to understand. They do exist, I assure you. Anyway, outside of the caribbean, nobody’s interested in soca. Get real, idiot!

9. YUM YUM I like it Avatar
    YUM YUM I like it

Bimbo (deliberate and apt mis-spelling)

At least Alison Hinds is not a Beyonce copy-cat with a phoney US accent!

I think Alison Hinds represents Bim better than Miss Plastic doll.

10. Bimbro is the one who is the Bimbo! All music generes had to start somewhere. There was a time when rap was not big, or reggae, etc.

man relax and support we girl.

11. YUM YUM I like it Avatar
    YUM YUM I like it

Bumpah

That was the joke!

Gads!

12. YUM YUM I like it // Aug 24th 2007 at 12:34 pm

Bimbo (deliberate and apt mis-spelling)

At least Alison Hinds is not a Beyonce copy-cat with a phoney US accent!

I think Alison Hinds represents Bim better than Miss Plastic doll.

Can’t bother with the insults, guys. Insult all you want if that’s what turns you on but I know who I and the world prefer, AND IT’S NOT ALISON!

Just ask yourselves which of them is the international, commercial success. I don’t think I need to say more!

13. As for plastic doll – don’t they all get transformed to looking more appealing for the international market! God, look at what Oprah looks like these days. Have you seen such a freak! Even on a general level – when last have you seen a normal-looking black woman, anyway! They all look a bit freakish to me mostly because they can’t stand their normal curly hair and can’t wait to go in for the hot-comb! Have black people got a problem – they’re the only ones who don’t think so!

14. well said bimbro i agree with u fully

15. Yum Yum I like it Avatar
    Yum Yum I like it

Bimbro

The thing about being scared of curly hair makes sense, well said!

I just think its a pity, as I think African girls are best natural, rather than with this stiff straightened gluey hair which even hurricane Dean could not blow out of place!!

I was once on a train in London and there were two girl friends on the train, one Indian and the other black. The black girl had relaxed hair which was dead straight and was wearing hazel contact lenses and the Indian girl had her hair permed with Bright blue contact lenses – (and that was just above the neck!!) They were both beautiful, but why the need to change yourself into something you’re NOT, when what you already are IS PRETTY DAMNED FINE!

I don’t know! I guess I have no problem with the whole ‘mucking about with your hair’ thing, so long as it is for variety and is not seen as the norm. My biggest problem with it is:

IT TAKES THEM SO DARNED LONG TO GET READY!!!!!!!!!!!!!

16. I think instead of bashing each other, we should encourage one another and uplift someone who has the courage to step out and put Barbados on the map. About time someone has the nerve to take a stand. May God help them to move in the right direction. All the best to Rihanna and also to upcoming Alison Hinds. Stop bashing and start loving.

17. knowledge // Sep 1st 2007 at 12:52 am

I think instead of bashing each other, we should encourage one another and uplift someone who has the courage to step out and put Barbados on the map. About time someone has the nerve to take a stand. May God help them to move in the right direction. All the best to Rihanna and also to upcoming Alison Hinds. Stop bashing and start loving.

This is typical Barbadian hogwash for doing nothing or being complacent. The moment you criticise somebody you’re ‘putting them down’ etc. Why can’t you people also see criticism as a spur to doing better and hopefully, the person will succeed and enjoy even greater acclaim and win even greater attention for Bim! Sometimes I’ve got to wonder if Bajans have got their heads screwed on properly. I live in Europe and have done for many years. I think I know what music will be widely, accepted over here and which would n’t be and IT’S NOT ALLISON HIND’S – AT LEAST NOT FOR LONG!

18. YUM YUM I like it! Avatar
    YUM YUM I like it!

Bimbro has a point. And, how I wish it was not so!

Unfortunately, it is not really the listening public who decide what THEY want to hear.

For many years it has been the music industry themselves that steer this ship, according to what THEY think is the demand.

This industry has a vested interest in creating maybe a dozen HUGE acts via promotional hype. After all, the economies of scale and profit margins are optimal in this way. This journey to fame and fortune takes these chosen ‘artists’ through a carefully controlled process, which polishes, sanitises and takes away, in essence anything earthy, rough or real. Image is all important and substance is secondary! Many ‘artists’ have been through this machine. Some disappear into obscurity after their usefulness is done, whereas others hang around for years on the margins, clinging on with their finger nails (i.e. Madonna!).

So, you see that in general the music industry stifles diversity. It can’t cope with all these little genres of minority interest. Like all manufacturers, it wants to flood the market with BIG WELL KNOWN BRANDS.

BUT, that is changing, or so I hope, with the advent of MP3 and the availability of music over the internet. The big record companies are losing control of the game!

Look at the ‘Arctic Monkeys’ whose first hit ‘You look good on the dance floor’ was only available as an MP3 download. They went from being unknowns through the power of they internet and through genuine talent and hard work.

There is hope for Alison Hinds in this ever changing music world where the consuming public can be wiser, freer and more discerning. As for poor Rihanna, I fear she is so deeply trapped in the music industry sausage machine that theres little hope…of finding any real meat or substance there!

Rant over!

19. Geez Bimbro…you mean you left BFP to come here and start your bashing on BU too?
    No one really cares what you think of Soca but I for one dont think you speak for the rest of the world.
    To All who dont know BimBro,he hates ALL Jamaicans…there goes reggae,he HATES ALL Pakistani,Indians,Muslims,Soca.
    Does not like many black people,have a problem with black achievements….and the list goes on.
    Go check the old post on BFP if you doubt me.
    Yet still he resides in an apartment complex in England surrounded by all he hates…….hahaha.
    Sad thing is Bimbro …you can’t get out of this life alive.

20. Anon, you give a ‘wonderful’ portrayal of what Barbadians are like. I prefer to stick to the topic.

Continue with your prurience. You do Barbados and Barbadians proud, I guess! Enjoy sniffing around people’s dirty laundry do you?

Note From BU
    Bimbro we received your email of complaint and reread the line in Anon’s post which offended you. Our interpretation suggested the writer was using colorful language. Carry on smartly!

21. To complain like a spoiled child is exactly becoming of you.
    I am a Bajan to the bone and I love my country .I live here and endure it every day.To see the posts of people like you who always try to bash young people in every thing they do is sickening.
    When the young Jamaican pilot circumnavigated the world ,you had nothing good to say because he is Jamaican.When Rihanna made it big ,you critisised her ..for what?You dont even know her real name.
    If you have nothing else to do other than cry down people,then say nothing.you run crying to David that I offended you ,why not post and tell me where I have offended you?
    Nevertheless …I leave you in the hands of the Pakistani neighbor who hangs his carpet in front of your window….maybe he is the one who will finally knock some sense into you.

22. You’re talking nonsense as usual. I’m not surprised that you live in Bim. You’ve no idea of what’s going on in the rest of the world. Please show me where I’ve criticised Rihanna, as I’m one of her biggest fans and have been praising her since day 1.

Please go back to bed. I in got time for de childish nonsense!

23. Thanks, David. You’ve obviously, a better understanding of Bajanese than I do. However, I don’t think it’d be allowd in the UK. It’s a matter of standards!

24. If you think living in an apartment complex in England gives you the authority on world events and opinions and living in Bim makes me a novice on world issues …more power to you.
    I would bet you any day that some of us Bajans travel more than you and are highly educated in world affairs.The closest you probably ever come to world events is your yard as you are surrounded with a wide cross section of nationalities……hmm maybe this is your point all along.The sad thing is that all your previous posts are there for anyone to read on BFP,therefore I have no lies to tell,anyone can go there and judge for themselves as I have over time.
    Think I have said all that is needed on the matter….I will enjoy some car racing at Bushy Park now …I suggest you go get a life and stop thinking that we Bajans are ignorant.

25. I hope Anon was not among the thirteen spectators who have been injured at Bushy Park today.

26. Thisle: What happened at bushy park today? I hope nothing serious, because barbados does not need anymore sadness. Please let us know.

27. BU understand that a truck was left in gear with the handbrake up. it rolled down a hill but a person in the passenger seat was able to steer it away from danger.

28. Anon: I think you speak for alot of us. May I say no more. Thanks Anon. 🙂

29. Thank you David for that quick response.

30. Well, you’re certainly ignorant about what I said about Rihanna and many other things. I think I still have the right to decide who I like and who I don’t. Please go back to sleep!

31. Thistle:

Funny enough …a chain of events prevented me from going to Bushy Park after all…mabe it was fate,who knows.
    Anyway thanks for the concern brother.

Knowledge:
    You are most welcome,we may live on a 166 island in the Atlantic but many of us have seen and know what is going on in the world today.Actually ,we were liming on the beach today and a visitor from Europe was amazed at the wide range of topics (international,regional and local) being debated under a coconut tree with a pint and a half of Mount Gay by us locals.

Bimbro:
    You have the right to decide who you like or dislike.What you DON’T HAVE is the right to speak for anyone else but yourself.

32. Bimbro:
    You have the right to decide who you like or dislike.What you DON’T HAVE is the right to speak for anyone else but yourself.

Well I’m glad that you acknowledge me that right, anyway. So when did I purport to speak on the behalf or anyone other than myself? Barbadians make me laugh!

I had n’t planned to say any more on this but something else occured to me: As for the the Pakastani neighbour to whom you referred – he’s a drugs-dealer and all of his clients who I’ve seen so far have been these same Jamaicans who you’re so keen to defend. So he can’t teach me anything except how to destroy people’s lives. I wonder if you’d be so keen to defend them if they were carrying out their filthy practices in Bim. It never ceases to amaze me the Barbadians who don’t live here yet seem to think they’re more familiar with life over here than I am.

And what, by the way, is wrong with living in an apartment! On second thoughts, don’t answer that. I’ve no desire to prolong this thing!

Please, Sir. I don’t wish to make this any more vitriolic than it needs to be – but please do me the courtesy of accepting that I know more about life over here and my personal circumstances than you do.

Good day.

33. YUM YUM I like it! Avatar
    YUM YUM I like it!

Anon and Bimbro

I have been ducking in out of this little tiff you two guys have been having (I assume that your are male as I can’t imagine any female getting involved in this sort of futile ‘ad hominem’ nonsense).

This discourse expresses an interesting phenomenon in Barbados society – read on!

The corresponent Bimbo comes across as one of those overseas Bajans who will do quite well financially. He is eloquent and smart, and builds a good career abroad, investing in buying his own home etc… Yet he always has the desire to return to his homeland, his beloved Barbados (and who blames him!). At 55 he sells his overseas property and returns to Bim, still with two passports, but hoping to retire and live comfortably in a plot in St. Philip which he bought when he was 40 and has gathered weeds ever since (and rats). So, Bimbro returns with the attitude so common amongst ‘returning nationals’, that of arrogance and superiority. He drives about in his massive Jeep with his nose in the air like a lord. He finds his countrymen (who he dreamed about rejoining) vulgar, ignorant and primitive, and socialises mainly with expats. He treats the Guyanese who are building his house with distrust and contempt. He talks frequently of how good things were abroad and returns there whenever major health issues arise or to shop (“As things are so expensive in Barbados”) . He will pass Anon in the street and beep in frustration as he does some little bit of Bajan driving. Anon will stupes and say “who is that jumped-up jackass!”

This society is full of resentment, and for what!

You may work your whole life to get material things but you’ll never change that sort of stinking attitude!

Anon, just leave Bimbro to his sweet little delusion.

34. I wish that I could see the point of such completely, pointless and irrelevant speculation!

35. YUM YUM I like it! Avatar
    YUM YUM I like it!

Dear Bimbro

The story above is designed to be neither speculative nor prophetic.

It is simply meant to illustrate that people who travel, study abroad or live abroad for extended periods do not necessarily return to these shores as better people, even though THEY might hold this misapprehension.

Keep grounded man, and you will be OK.

From

The Ghost of Christmas Future (WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO………..)

36. ‘Thanks’ for your comments, Yum. This item started as a serious story which is how I should have liked it to continue. Your latest contribution reminds me of the comment which Rihanna is alleged to have made, today.

Anyway, if it’s any consolation, I’ve been singing the lady’s praises for weeks now so I don’t expect she would see that as crap. It also gives the lie to ‘Anon’s’ remarks above concerning what I’m supposed to have said about Rihanna. I’m still awaiting proof from Anon, which I’m sure he would not be able to provide. Show us the links! But, perhaps, it IS further evidence of what Rihanna’s alleged to have said!

To, partly, concur with Rihnna, I’ve noticed that Bajans do tend to outburst with a lot of crap but then when presented with the cold, hard facts and they see what an ass they’ve made of themselves, then slink away quietly, tail between their legs and hope that no one will have noticed their abscence – as per my comments above about my Pakistani, drug-dealer neighbour and his JAMAICAN, drugs-peddling friends! So far nothing but silence and disappearance from ‘Anon’!

Bajans! Maybe Rihanna’s abolutely, right!

37. All reports coming out of carnival in UK last week suggest that Alison was received very well. She does not need to have a following like Michael Jackson, the world market for music is big…just a little slice of the cake will do.

38. Bimbro:

Never think for a minute that my silence is any indication of surrender to your comments.
    I have directed anyone who cares to check to your posts at BFP.There you will find all the information needed to make whatever assumptions you want.
    You constantly paint everyone with a broad brush which highlights your ignorance.
    You blame all Muslims,Pakistanis,Guyanese,Bajans,Indians for the crimes committed by a small part of their respective country men.

To further quote you….Anyway, outside of the caribbean, nobody’s interested in soca. Get real, idiot!
    Also…..Left to me, I’d bury soca tomorrow, for good.
    Oh and let us not forget this…….but I know who I and the world prefer, AND IT’S NOT ALISON!

These are your words,not mine…after reading such ignorance,how can I ever take you seriously?
    On that note ,here is where I will now be silent as I am tired of your nonsense both on BFP and now here on BU.

39. Oh and let us not forget this…….but I know who I and the world prefer, AND IT’S NOT ALISON!

So please tell me how that’s a criticism of Rihanna. I’m glad you’ve decided to shut-up ’cause you’ve just been talking nonsence and lies!

Goodgye!

Leave a Reply to BimbroCancel reply