view_19256.jpgWe were happy to read Professor Michael Howard letter in the Nation of 21/08/2007 which demonstrates his willingness to enter the public domain to challenge the anointed successor to Owen Arthur on questionable and unproven economic theories. Clyde Mascoll’s latest pontification which appears to have been submerged in the overload of news about Hurricane Dean paints the need for Barbados to increase its population. We commend Irene Sandiford-Garner who in her usual articulate delivery on a talk show of last week challenged the position of the man dubbed “Malik wid teet”. The interesting point raised by Irene is the quiet way this creepy policy has been foisted on Barbados. Where has this policy position come from out of cmascoll.jpgthe blue?

Now back to Michael Howard’s letter. Although he has refused our request to respond to a previous BU article we still commend him again for using his expert knowledge to challenge the theory riddled Mascoll. Barbados is a country which is currently drowning in social and economic incohesion, yet Mascoll would have us believe that the solution to the problem is to create more pressure to our stressed infrastructure by adding more immigrant bodies to our 166 square mile land mass. Mr. Howard in his strongest attack to date on government policy, brands Mascoll a neo-liberal. BU agree with Professor Howard’s assessment and wonder how Mascoll could expect a mhoward.jpgsmall economy with an immature financial structure which depends so heavily on government as the major institutional investor to mobilize activity in the economy, would espouse such a theoretical view. Anyway we are not trained in economics so we defer to Professor Howard’s comments: I believe that his statement does not address a complex set of issues relating to population growth. Remember that our country is already one of the most densely populated countries in the world.”

Forgive us Mascoll if we appear to be simplistic in our understanding of your policy. We say “your” because we have not read or heard from Prime Minister Arthur that this is a government policy position. Then again it could be a case of action speaking louder than words. We have written exhaustively on the “open door policy of the Arthur administration. The Trinis, Chinese, Guyanese, Jamaicans, Africans and others are all flocking to Barbados the land of opportunity. Our transportation is inadequate, our school system is overcrowded, the inability of government to process garbage efficiently, poor physical development has given rise to flooding but equally as important is the unattractiveness of Barbados as it transforms from an island of fauna and flora to a “concrete” jungle. Last but not least has been their inability to deliver housing to the poor and destitute which has given rise to squatting in water zone and other critical areas areas. This current trend has deep implication for Barbados as a tourist destination. These are issues which Mascoll should be strategizing to fix!

This is the second intuitive and provocative public communication which Professor Howard has written to the Press. BU sense that Professor Howard, the wise Economist that he is, has yet again challenged Barbadians to understand the implication of the current government policies by the untested and impetuous political neophyte Clyde Mascoll.

Previous BU Story

Professor Michael Howard Lectures Prime Minister in Economics 101~All Barbadians Need To Understand The Downside Of The Current Economic Policies

50 responses to “Now It Is The Turn For Professor Michael Howard To Lecture Minister Of State Clyde Mascoll in Economics 101~All Barbadians Need To Understand The Downside Of The Current Economic Policies”

1. Knock! Knock!

Who’s there?

Irene.

POW! POW! POW! POW! POW!

2. Cliverton's Sister Avatar
    Cliverton’s Sister

BFP is a haven for RAPISTS and those who ABUSE WOMEN!

Nine long years my own brother CLIVERTON was RAPING me and now these wicked and corrupt people here want to DENY ME FREE SPEECH.

Shame on you low minded animals at Barbados Free Press!

I will not be silenced!

BFP is a HAVEN FOR RAPISTS!!!

3. Clivertons Sister

Utter garbage and do you think that so soon after the nonsense printed by the BLP and carried on BFP that anyome is going to believe that Cliverton raped his sister AND his brother? All crap that intelligent people pay no attention to.

The fact that this crap is now carried on a different blog is an obvious give away that it is all a fraud.

How can God fearing people live with themselves lying this way?

4. Proud Poor Bajan Woman Avatar
    Proud Poor Bajan Woman

On 17 August 2007, Barbados Free Press offered me $1,000 to post a false statement about Mia Mottley on their blog.

barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com

These people are nasty and wicked.

I may be poor but I REFUSED to take the money.

5. Proud Poor Bajan Woman // Aug 22nd 2007 at 9:08 pm

On 17 August 2007, Barbados Free Press offered me $1,000 to post a false statement about Mia Mottley on their blog.

barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com

These people are nasty and wicked.

I may be poor but I REFUSED to take the money.
    —————————————————–
    Nonsense, BFP knows that i would do if for free. The whole of Barbados knows about Mia nothing false, nothing surprising. 😀

6. Hello! David, are you there? A cesspool of filth has opened up on here. BFP got rid of them. Wake up!

7. Proud Poor Bajan Woman Avatar
    Proud Poor Bajan Woman

Reporter,

Check your facts.

I was on that site and I saw the original post before the BFP people DELETED it and REPOSTED it.

It was the SISTER who said that Cliverton raped her.

Then the post was deleted and BFP posted it under their own new headline stating that it was Cliverton’s BROTHER who was raped.

Just like she claimed in the ORIGINAL post, where she said they threatened to post false information about her on their blog.

It’s a DAMN SHAME when women in Barbados are TARGETTED and ABUSED by the same so-called “Barbados Free Press” which is nothing but a bunch of HATERS, LIARS and a CYBER HAVEN FOR SHELTERING RAPISTS.

They offered me $1,000 to post a false story about Mia Mottley. Those dirty dogs.

8. No false stories on Mottley here, she is the source of many transgender stories all on her own doing remember don’t biMe Mama.
    Robert you need to expose the source of the IP for this blasted idiot.

9. either Bu or BFP must be doing serious damage to this country’s government.
    These comments are become very criminal.
    Be careful Mr.Dottin and his merry men may be knocking at your door. Remember Mr.Dottin is a strong BLP supporter

10. Proud Poor Bajan Woman Avatar
    Proud Poor Bajan Woman

Adrian,

Look, I respect myself as a woman and also as a person.

I’m NOT going to join any bunch of desperate cowards and liars hiding on the internet to spread lies about Mia Mottley or anybody else. I won’t do it for free and I won’t do it for money.

BFP didn’t just want me to post the story on the internet, they wanted me to pose for photos too… they said they would hide my face and it would be presented anonymously as some sort of undercover expose. They asked me all sort of questions, mostly about Mia Mottley but what worried me even more was that that also asked a lot about two well known women in the DLP. I honestly wonder if they were trying to target a woman, ANY woman, so long as she was involved in politics, just in order to big up themselves and say look who we caught!

I am not the only person they asked. I was with two other girls I know but afterwards we talked about it and decided not to mess around with that sort of wickedness. There were other girls there too that I don’t know, and most of them looked real wild, like they would do ANYTHING for money.

What really annoys me is that these are people in Bajan society who go around living big and doing wicknessness but hiding on the internet and calling themselves “Barbados FREE Press” as if they have any morals. They are the ones who are most corrupt in Barbados. Corrupt and nasty.

11. Proud Poor Bajan Woman Avatar
    Proud Poor Bajan Woman

Wishing in Vain,

As for you. You should be more worried about people exposing a dirty sleazeball like you.

No decent woman should even touch you.

12. Wait a minute. What is going on here? Where is this slime oozing from? Really can’t take this stuff. Many of these posting have Jay’s signature and it doesn’t surprise me one bit.
    Jay, are you there?

13. Wishing in Vain Avatar

If this is an example of the desperation levels that the BLP have declined to my advice to BU and BFP KEEP THE GOOD WORK UP they running around like chickens with their heads cut off.
    Well we already know this to be the case but they are fairly riled up and spewing crap from the innermost part (and lowest part) of their insidesbut doing so verbally must be leaving them with a revolting taste in their mouths !!!!

14. YUM YUM I like it! Avatar
    YUM YUM I like it!

Ok then, Cliverton’s sister, what is his real name?

Cliverton is an alias.

15. YUM YUM I like it! Avatar
    YUM YUM I like it!

Time for these idiots to start arguing about issues, politics etc.. and not persional attacks and slanders.

16. You people are sick and despicable, especially that fool Waiting in Vain.

You would rape your own SISTERS and cast a blind eye while coming to this place day after day to preach your stinking hypocrisy and deceit.

To Cliverton’s sister, girl, be strong and know that there are women out here who SUPPORT YOU 100%. This entire blog is not comprised of corrupt lying vultures.

They may delete my comment… but they will have to search for it first. I suggest that help be sought from some of those international women’s groups or from FEMALE BLOGGERS to that the nasty stain and disgrace of how BFP has been trying to SUPPRESS YOUR STORY can be exposed for the world to see.

Fight!

Sheela.

17. To all those BU readers who have expressed disappointment that we have allowed the Spammer to spout their filth please understand that this is the Internet where there is the good,, the bad and the ugly. We think that the action of the Spammer is good because it shows that the bajan blogs are taking root. We could delete the posts but then it would mean that we get into censoring and we are a strong advocate of free speech. In Barbados we have become very comfortable with censorship and we want our blog experience to be a departure from the prevailing culture practiced in our traditional media. The best way to ignore the Spammers is to put them on ignore. You read and move on. In the event it becomes extreme where the reading of BU becomes affected we will cross that bridge when we need to.

Let us continue to write, read and discuss the issues!

18. Wishing in Vain Avatar

David however there are comments to which I appear to be associated and I would like to have them removed I think that it is disgusting for the idiot to use names of those that make regular contributions on here for their own vile and sick reasons.

Wishing in Vain~we have edited the name to Spammer on those IP’s we know not to be you. We can’t promise you that we do for all but we will try 🙂

19. Wishing in Vain Avatar

I thank you very much for taking action to rectify the matter.
    Somehow if it were left to me I would have removed that nonsense form the site entirely because if they feel that they will get their crap posted they will continue to put garbage on the blog however if the see or get nothing out of their effort in will dry up sooner rather than later.
    Just my feelings I think to allow it to stand is a mistake, this nonsense about freedom of the blog has many angles but surely one must have the freedom to edit the garbage as we have been exposed to.

20. David

Why would you leave that stuff on after such a brilliant article on Professor Howard?

Any one wanting to comment on the post and seeing that garbage above will be turned off and click off.

21. I agree with Anonymous. Democracy is one thing, but allowing people to walk all over you is quite another.

22. I, too was sorry not to read more on Professor Howard’s comments, but I agree with David. We’ve had enough of censorship, and the internet is supposed to be the new way. Of course the posts are stupid, and most of all, ignorant, but that’s a good thing, because it shows the posters up for what they really are. The ignorance comes from obviously not knowing the readership of BU and BFP, which for the large part will take it for what it is – garbage.

23. Bajans make me laugh. You say it is a good article but you focus on a few stupid commnets. Why would those low mental comments stop anyone from commenting on the article if it is suppose to be good?

24. I am really disappointed in Mascoll of late. I can clearly remember a statement he made as leader of the Opposition, where he reminded all politicians in Barbados that we are a social democracy, and that they all (members of the political class) were social democrats, and that there is no getting away from it. Yet in recent times in parliament he is heard to have said that he does not believe in socialism, or capitalism, he believes in pragmatism. The glaring flip flop and his new found adherence to all things pragmatic has soured my taste for him. Like Owen Arthur he has now become a faithful and willing servant of pragmatism, and i need not warn Barbadians of what to expect from a pragmatic leader and representative. The realities of a pragmatic person at work is that proof/evidence and facts must always be available in order for them to act. So telling a pragmatic that you are concern about immigration, about high land and house cost, the inconsistencies in health care, will fall on deaf ears if you cannot prove what you are saying, and as you should know, proof, evidence and facts highlighting the decline of any of the afore mention things means that you must suffer first in order for them to act. Do you want people like these managing your affairs?

25. BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

Introducing… the new and improved… Barbados Free Press Blog!

FOUR LOVE IN WUNNA BACKSIDE!!!

26. No worries. A yardfowl’s thought process is even shorter that his/her 5 year life span. These current ones are living a bit longer than expected and have gotten accustom to it. The time to remind them is nearing and their are scared to death, for they have forgotten to plan for the eventuality.

What draws people to the BFP is the open reporting on things in Barbados that are otherwise kept under carpet or in the closet, away from demanding eyes. These are the same things that you would need to produce on your site to drive readership away from here. Unfortunately you have a vested interest in maintaining the cloak of secrectcy that the BFP has expose. Ooopps sorry somebody usally has to think things through for a yardfowl.

27. Adrian,

Don’t fool yourself.

Don’t flatter yourself.

Don’t delude yourself.

Barbados has a population of 280,000.

Do yourself a favour some day and COUNT the total number of unique names you see posting comments on BFP.

28. Shouldn’t there be a difference between contributors and readership?

To help you think this through. The nationnews papers declares to it’s potential advertising clients that it has a sustain readership of 34,000. You read that news paper, do you contribute to it circulation as in publishing any of it’s stories? How many of the 34,000 do? I hope for your sake that the number of persons posting here are the sum total of BFP readership. Unfortunately i know otherswise even if i am at this point only willing to state that my own fun forum registers on average 5,000 unique ip addresses from Barbados a month. And that i have personally sent links of the BFP to the 10,000 email addresses of persons who i think are Barbadians, Many of whom i believe are on the rock. If you know anything about the plurality system better knowns as the first past the post system, all it takes is a small shift in voting patterns to result in a big win or lost for a poltical party. The BFP may have more sway than you are willing to let on. But i have a feeling you are none wiser.

29. The 10,000 email addresses where harvest over the years from multiple sources, most of which were chain emails of all sorts that had mutliple person email list nested and double nested, MSN and yahoo chat forums.

30. Blogs are just the beginning of opening up discussion on things Barbadian and things politically Barbadian. Internet radio and TV will soon follow. None can stop this train, least of all a yardfowl, for we can sustain this unward march against any obsticles and do so beyond a 5 yr period which is the defualt life span of a yardfowl, and the envornment that sustains them. The whole political yardfowl eco system is subject withering, falling away, and renewal every 5 yrs. 😀

31. And another thing…

The BARBADOS LABOUR PARTY is a real political force in Barbados.

The DEMOCRATIC LABOUR PARTY is a real political force in Barbados.

A tiny handful of COWARDS who hide and post anonymous crap on the internet is NOT a real political force in Barbados.

If the BLP puts out a notice that they will meet in Independence Square tomorrow night, HUNDREDS of people will show up.

If the DLP puts out a notice that they will meet in Independence Square tomorrow night, HUNDREDS of people will show up.

If the BFP puts out a notice that they will meet in Independence Square tomorrow, NOBODY will show up, not even the BFP.

32. Adrian,

YOU SAID: “Blogs are just the beginning of opening up discussion on things Barbadian and things politically Barbadian.”

Get a brain. In case you never noticed, you brainwashed fool, freedom of political expression has ALWAYS been a fact of life in Barbados. What you idiots really want to do, is CONTROL and MUZZLE those who support political parties which you monkeys don’t belong to.

The real yardfowls are on Barbados Free Press, cackling to themselves all day long and believing in their own lunacy.

33. If the blogs were not making an impact then why…?

The politcal parties know that much is at stake this election and the blogs could be a decider because they can print stories which the advocate or nation cant.

34. Adrian (The REAL Adrian),

If you mean what I think you mean, you and I maybe the only ones who realise that a string of dialog is going on from one man chatting with himself, using two different names! Check it out. Oh God, bring me a Banks quick.

35. LARRY,

Bring one fuh me too!

36. Barbadians don’t have to physically show up anywhere to be reliably informed on anything. What freedom of expression? The number of libel suites and the even higher number of libel threats that are issued daily against VOB and traded amongst the political class during the silly season, all with one intent that of shutting up shutting down unfavourable discussions that may effect the political livelyhood of some so called big man or woman tells a different story to your beliefs about freedom of speech, such is but a figment of your imagination. Calls for the discontinuation of the calling programs, abusing journalist at will for daring to ask questions. I know of what you would refuse to say or tell.

37. ConfusdedBajan // Aug 23rd 2007 at 4:11 pm

If the blogs were not making an impact then why…?

The politcal parties know that much is at stake this election and the blogs could be a decider because they can print stories which the advocate or nation cant.
    ———————————————————-
    Political party membership is on the decline, so said a Peter Wickham Cadres poll. Political diehardism is and and has always been the santuary for fools, and those looking for handouts. Words attributed to Ernest Deighton Mottley by Richard Cheltemham in the presense of Mia Mottley in a tribute ceremony, Laid to rest any doubt of what has characterize this man’s contribution to politics and what is the definitions of political membership and party politics in Barbados. It is a nasty drunken envoirnment built of a client Master relationship where you literally exchange your vote/support at the polls for goods and services. Ask Liz Thompson who is todate the best known practioner of the best demonstrated practices of Ernest Mottley cornbeef and bicuits politics.

38. ConfusdedBajan,

You are so confused that you can’t even spell confused… and that must be real confused.

YOU SAID: “If the blogs were not making an impact then why…?”

Why what?

The problem with you people is that you can’t separate reality from your own delusions.

Like I said earlier, if the BFP or any of these bloggers announced that they were holding a political meeting in Independence Square tomorrow night, nobody would come.

Blogs are good for spreading gossip, lies and smear campaigns among little groups of small-minded people, but outside of that they don’t command the power, respect and recognition of our established political parties.

The inescapable problem for yardfowls such as those at BFP is this… nobody is going to vote for someone who hides their identity.

And the people at BFP don’t help themselves with their idiotic childish behaviour either.

39. We know differently. The Deputy Prime Minister voice concern about the rise in popularity of blogs, the call-in program and the internet in general. She gave voice to the view that potential marginalization of parliament by these entities, is real. We have seen and continue to witness in real free societies like the UK, Canada, and the US the effects and influences that blogs and other concepts on the internet medium continues to garner, while close societies like Venenzuela, Cuba, and China are doing all they can to effectively stifle and shutdown these avenues of communication. It isn’t a mere coincdence that this GoB is solidfying relationships with these closed socialist societies. Your view coincides with the views of your DPM whom you are party members with. You can’t stop this train. Incidently Venezuela, Cuba, and China are homes to Great national political parties. 😀

40. Like I said,sad but as predicted the discussion has been taken away from the Michael Howard article.

There must be a limit to all this,full blown censorship is NOT the answer,but balance must be struck.

41. BTW i put a few post on the labourparty.wordpress.com for some one cuss and carry on about. 😀

Oh Folks lets us take a tour of their blog, it’s dying for visitation, similar to their conversations with the people series of meetings. 😀

42. But Anon. What is there to discuss, Michael Howards exposition of Mascoll? The average Barbadian is against this Government’s approach to open borders, Mascoll comments where designed to confuse the average Barbadian with economic jargon, and Micheal Howard has expose it. We knew it was bogus all along, we just got an academic verification of a layman views.

43. Get used to it Anon,

The shenanigans of the last few days are but a dress rehearsal for the campaign proper.

Unless the blogmeisters get a grip on the postings, all blogs will be as corrupted as the candidates.

I suggest a seperate members forum, where the comments of regular registered password protected IPs can post , free from the political attempts at changing the agenda or doppelganging the handles to cause mayhem.

All can read, but only members can post and then only at the peril of being disqualified for abusing the accepted tenets of blogging.

The ordinary blog can carry on as usual, respecting the values of free speech and allowing totally free access.

If something along these lines is not adopted before the election is called both BU and BFP will be flooded, neutered and abandoned during the most crucial period of their short existence.

44. BU continue to be amazed that at how contributors continue to be distracted by one or two Barbados Labour Party operatives. What have these people done other than to write a few empty comments? We have written about the orderly society which Barbadians treasure. We have news for Barbadians these are changing times and the stakes have risen. If you are prepared to get frustrated at this early stage then there is no hope. If we are forced to do it we can moderate all comments but that is a last resort! We wish to assure all of our supporters and we have not been able to read all the emails, BU will stay true to its tag line, “bringing the news to the people”. BU and BFP cannot do it without the support of Barbadians who are prepared to endure the challenges on the horizon if we are to achieve a new order.

45. David: My point is that it is within any malicious group’s capability to deluge your blog 24/7 with spam.

You have only experienced a sample.

You may consider spam as free speech and I can respect that, but have no respect for it.

The ” challenges” as you call them will utterly defeat the raison d’etre of BU.

If Bajans lose faith in the independent blogs’ ability to offer an unbiased fora free from political pollution they will not bother to log on.

Comment after comment of filth automatically generated by both party’s yardfowls is not, I suspect, what your online community will continue to support.

The rules are changing, and you should be prepared.

The choice is yours, I can only offer my observations.

Idealist~your feedback is appreciated and we have already said that if the spamming reaches a point where it detracts from the blog we will cross that bridge. We are here for the long haul.

46. David // Aug 23rd 2007 at 5:55 pm

BU continue to be amazed that at how contributors continue to be distracted by one or two Barbados Labour Party operatives. What have these people done other than to write a few empty comments? We have written about the orderly society which Barbadians treasure. We have news for Barbadians these are changing times and the stakes have risen. If you are prepared to get frustrated at this early stage then there is no hope. If we are forced to do it we can moderate all comments but that is a last resort! We wish to assure all of our supporters and we have not been able to read all the emails, BU will stay true to its tag line, “bringing the news to the people”. BU and BFP cannot do it without the support of Barbadians who are prepared to endure the challenges on the horizon if we are to achieve a new order.
    ———————————————————–
    I do not concider my responses to them as such. I love bringing facts of past occurances to bare on comments of convenience. You see there is long history of making statements of the day with no worrry or concern about therr conflicts with past statements and positions, because rarely did Barbadians remind them of such and call on them to account for the differences. So you find that they cannot now respond and usually they will go away silently fearfull of the glare the new media and the new dispenstion of recalling past comments.

47. Thank you David, I am assured you recognise the problem but all I ask is you have made effective preparations for what I foresee happening.

I don’t know the remedies WordPress can offer, but trust they have come under your consideration.

48. Idealist, you’ve hit the nail on the head, and it is also my hope that BU and BFP continue to stay a ahead of their detractors. It is clearer now than before that the time of reckoning is soon near.

It (elections) cannot be stalled any longer, largely in part because of blogs like these, their misdeeds are made public. CWC2007’s promises and delusions of grandeur in oil wealth have not taken root as expected. It would appear that the focus has now changed to discredit these blogs as credible sources of information at all costs!.

The 9-day wonder phase has passed, and BU and BFP have continued to highlight their wrongdoings, having destroyed their only line of defense, a complicit media.

Based on the comments seen here, it is clear that the leaders, and their yardfowls still underestimate the intelligence of a sizeable majority of the electorate. Not all voters can be wooed with empty promises, alcohol and gutter talk. If anything the contributions on both BU and BFP should show that a large number of educated Barbadians are passionate about critical issues that affect them and their future.

49. […] Now It Is The Turn For Professor Michael Howard To Lecture Minister Of State Clyde Mascoll in Econom… […]

Leave a Reply to YUM YUM I like it!Cancel reply