For those of us who are baby boomers we have to agree with the concern voiced by PM Arthur regarding the now very popular bashment culture. The penchant of many of our youth nowadays to embrace all things which exist in the Jamaican dub and dancehall culture has finally become a threat to our society. Let there be no doubt that this sub-culture is negatively affecting our society, we can look to the minibus sector and the influence it continues to have on our school children, just ask any headmistress of a school in Barbados. These are the children who represent the future of our country!

Ok folks a boring preamble but here is where a practical example might illustrate the current plight of youth – and we want to focus on the youth, our future – and where we might potentially be headed if we would anticipate the social degradation which has already set-in.

On the Easter weekend just finished one of the most popular fetes in Barbados was held at a location popularly called “Lavaground”, the place was “bursting”. BU understands that this popular dub joint is located in the heart of the City on Lower Roebuck Street. To reflect the success of how an event like this would translate the door prize was a “Motor Cycle” which BU understands retails for approximately $3,000.00. It is interesting to note that the patrons at the fete reflected a cross section of the social spectrum with a concentration in the 17 to 25 age groups. An eye witness account at the dub fete last weekend speaks to drugs being openly peddled and used, but here is the punch line! Roebuck Street is a parallel street to Coleridge Street where the Police Headquarters is located! Perhaps our Commissioner of Police may want to address this issue when he gets some time.

“hot wuk”. A description of the dance is a female fanning her “privates” with her hand with an expression on her face which suggests she is in the final throes of ecstasy of some sexual act. BU welcomes an explanation of the dance and its relationship to enjoying oneself. More importantly is the mentality of young Barbadians that would participate in this activity on a weekly basis. How is this contributing to the moral decay of Barbados? BU sincerely believes that the invasion of the bad elements of this Jamaican dancehall culture which is a product of an illiterate segment of the population must be stopped NOW. It may seem to some that we are blaming the youts but really it must be our leaders, the politicians, the church, the social groups, all of the responsible adults in the community who need to fight back, it can be done if we work as a collective.

The old people do have a saying that follow pattern kill cadogan!

32 responses to “Barbados Becoming A Changing Society: Prime Minister Arthur Concerned About Bashment Culture; But What Is He Doing About It? Maybe He Needs To Attend The Next Dub Fete At Lavaaground On Roebuck Street”

1. de girl in dat pic wud still tek some dicky doh..

2. I see from your comment that you have something to say? Would you or any of the young crew visiting want to share your views?

3. Thats the trouble… the ‘youts’ dont hold views, they are programmed by the poison from Jamaica.

4. What about young girls dressed half naked in Barbados on the streets in carnival season, before you make this inflammatory statements about a nations culture, do your research… and stop the madness

5. EDWIN YEARWOOD is coming to Toronto on June 21st for GIVE ME SOCA inside Palazzo Entertainment Complex – 99 Peelar Rd. Alongside KMC, HUNTER, D’Enforcas, Radioactive & A BIG SURPRISE GUEST ARTIST FROM JAMACIA. Call: 647-886-4110 for tickets

6. We published this blog in April 2007. Today we listened to the news that the Royal Barbados Police Force raided this night club and found drugs, guns and other weapons. They also stumbled on 14 illegal immigrants who have been handed to the Immigration Department for deportation.

It is taken so long to act. All of Barbados including th Police would have known about the goings on at this nightclub.

Why has it taken so long?

7. “an expression on her face which suggests she is in the final throes of ecstasy of some sexual act.”
    BU thank you for identifying that expression.
    I always thought it was meant to protray being burnt by something.
    I also thought the fanning of the hand was meant to protray being burnt too, e.g. by a hot pot cover. ;-|)

8. we keep lowering our standards, and our expectations bashment culture is more than jsut feting in that the vast majority of these young people cant levae thier behviour and attitude at the dancehall but want to bring it to work and school as well.

9. me: You are absolutely correct. I will never forget the first time I set foot in a nightclub in Negril. I was totally unprepared to see women on the dance floor simulating masturbation in a most disgusting way. In my naivitee, I asked someone if they were prostitutes looking for customers and the person laughed at me and said, “no, they are just regular customers”.
    Barbados needs to be very concerned about this type of behavior as “me” has already said, this behavior does not stop at the nightclub doors, it infiltrates every part of Jamaican life where standards of decency have virtually disappeared. I would never return to Jamaica as a tourist where I was constantly harrassed on the streets by men who would actually run their hands over your botsy as you passed by.
    Please do not let Barbados decend into this type of abasement.

10. Snake-in-the-grass Avatar
    Snake-in-the-grass

@ BU. You ask ~ “Prime Minister Arthur Concerned About Bashment Culture; But What Is He Doing About It?”

Say what? The proper question is What did he DO about it. ? ? ? Besides nothing.

It’s too late now! de horse out de stable.

You can not change a culture by passing a law or laws.

The ‘bashment culture’ crept in when
    discipline and accountability went along in the suitcases of our “Colonial masters” when they packed up and left these shores at the attainment of our ‘independence.’

It will be a generation or more – 40 years or more – before any semblence of decency blooms again.

But wait – that’s only a guess…. Jesus said he would come again before the generation he was speaking to died… and he ‘en show up yet.

Don’t hold your breath.

11. @PiedPiper

So after you realized what was going on in the club, did you stay or leave?
    Strange. I’m always in Jamaica and have never gone to any of those clubs.

I have wonderful experiences there.
    I guess it’s all about choice.

12. Now that we are on this topic there are other night jaunts which the authorities are aware of that the same behaviour is engaged in by our youth. Many of these night clubs are frequented by the popular DJs who maintain their respectable day jobs with the radio stations.

In a previous blog we called on the radio stations, especially VOB to make a stand by being a good corporate citizen by firing these bad examples..

13. I love folks who post anonymously 🙂 I left the club as it wasn’t my cup of tea. It was not the only club I went to in Negril, in fact, I went to many, both indoor and outdoor venues and it was all the same only in varying degrees. I’m glad that you have had positive experiences in Jamaica and perhaps it is different in other parts of the country.

14. Snake-in-the-grass Avatar
    Snake-in-the-grass

@ Anonymous … you said April 12, 2007 at 6:26 am … “the ‘youts’ dont hold views, they are programmed by the poison from Jamaica”

HOWEVER the BU column “Changing Attitudes” September 28, 2008 · 29 says …. “the BU household was left to wonder: how can Barbadians change entrenched and irrelevant attitudes to survive in a changing world, and at the same time protect the core values which have led to the successful Barbados brand. Our high level of education gives our people an advantage to think for ourselves.”

Let me repeat that : Our high level of education gives our people an advantage to think for ourselves.”

Are we to understand then, the people at ‘bashment parties’ are not “our people?”

Or is there something wrong with the statement “Our high level of education gives our people an advantage to think for ourselves.” ? ? ?

There seems to be something here that’s not meshing.

BU HOUSEHOLD…. clarify this for me please.

Thank you.

15. “The ‘bashment culture’ crept in when
    discipline and accountability went along in the suitcases of our “Colonial masters” when they packed up and left these shores at the attainment of our ‘independence.’”

I cant believe someone just wrote that.

I guess the “colonial masters” should have stayed to make sure that us black subjects toe the line.

Have you been to the house of the “colonial masters” recently?

That you’d even refer to them as “colonial masters” is a sad indictment of your inferiority complex.

I really dont wanna start back using bad words here on BU.

Shupes.

16. @ PiedPiper

“I love folks who post anonymously :)”

I take it that PiedPiper is your real name!

If it isnt, that you are just as anonymous as most of us are.

17. I wonder how many of these fetes are put on by the 17 t0 25 age group?
    How many of them own or operate the clubs?
    Older adults are the ones promote this sub-culture in order to exploit the youth for financial gain.
    Major companies in Barbados sponsor events all over the country where similar activities take place.
    The most popular djs among the youth are the ones who play the most vulgar tunes from JA. These tunes are sometimes played on national radio, with a poor attempt at editing offensive parts done.
    98.1 is now just as bad as 95.3 especially in the mornings. Hurricances are usually destructive.

18. Barbados is in some serious trouble when the mothers of our future behave in the way they do now.
    Who will raise their children?
    What about the men, are you comfortable with your women exposing themselves in public for the gratification of other men.
    If they are not your women would you want one for a mate?

19. How in Gods name can Owen cry down bashment culture when he was the personification of it?

Where were the examples he was setting while in office.
    We always try to cry down the youth but has anyone really took a look at the older folks who should be setting an example?

20. The thing is unless a credible alternative is offered it will remain popular. What’s your alternative, singing hymns at church on Sunday?

21. Governments from the past have spent millions to promote this culture.

It even set up a New Cultural Foundation.

Why would Owen be surprised it has taken hold?

22. Leon there are many other forms of music and dance available to young people. Besides, it’s more about having some self respect for yourself or are we all to be reduced to behaving like animals? Why bring the Church into it? That’s the last place I would go for entertainment…..altho, wait a minute, if it was a good old-fashioned Baptist Church, which has produced some of the finest voices in the entertainment world, I might reconsider.

23. BU, I had to read ur article again and again to make certain it was n’t an old, item which I’d submitted to u and forgotten completely, about because for years I’ve been warning Barbadians about the negative influence of those people and following them sheep-like down the road to perdition, for which I’ve obtained much abuse from many sources!! I’m happy to c that u all now, at last, appear to b catching-up with me!! However, I fear that it’s too, late and that Barbados society will now pay the penalty, for all eternity!!

‘Well done’, Barbados!! Scheupsee!!!!

24. I would never return to Jamaica as a tourist where I was constantly harrassed on the streets by men who would actually run their hands over your botsy as you passed by.

And then u get the creeps moaning about how they’re harassed in Jamaica!! It seems THEY’RE NOT HARRASSED, ENOUGH!!

25. Technician // September 30, 2008 at 8:37 pm

How in Gods name can Owen cry down bashment culture when he was the personification of it?

Listen, Tech!! I never c Owen do d splits, yet!! so doan level dat charge at e!!

26. This behaviour is entrenched in the ghetto parties of Jamaica. Checkout the videos on this link and see the type of dancing that is going on there and then visit any dub fete and see it taking place. Our youth are just copying most things coming out of Jamaica.
    http://www.dancehallreggae.com/

27. Fair Play, ur reiterating what I’ve been bemoaning to Bajans for years and taking much abuse for so doing!! Congratulations on at last, realising the deterioration which is occuring to Barbadian, society!! However, I regret that uv all come to ur senses, as usual, FAR TOO, LATE!!

28. Bimbro, good to see you again. Indeed Barbadians are unashamed pragmatist all. Until the researched is done, the results in, and the evidence laid, the reality of their observations do not exist. cheers 🙂

29. How in Gods name can Owen cry down bashment culture when he was the personification of it?
    ………………………………………………………
    I know I am going to get licks,but here goes. Owen is far from from being a bashment lover, I never heard about he attending such entertainment. Probably, the closest bashment connection will be Mia and her closeness to Edwin, but here again, Edwin is not the real ‘bashment’ entertainer. Now, to the corn mashing, the present PM is closer to the bashment culture, as you know his marketing effort for party support encompassed these said youts. Take for example the musical presentations with the likes of “Lil Rick” during the elections. Prime Minister Thompson ensure that he attends not only bashment cultures, but is a consummate Reggae lover. I have no problem in any PM embracing any culture in gaining National Support, that is what you call politics, but you must not be personal biased. Now in all fairness BU, do tell me….. Which of the two PM are closer to the Bashment Culture. I say the present leader. Let’s hear the real debate.

30. Hi Adrian, just keeping the kinfolk on their toes, as usual!!

Laaaadddddddddddddd!!!!

31. TmW

You caused me to think. What is it about Owen or David that would either tolerate or not tolerate a bashment culture?

I guess that Owen would never be caught at a dub, but we have had reports of David attending them.

Yet under the BLP, the ZRs and minibus culture was a bashment zone that Owen could not get curtailed. In one, the DLP managed to curb it and stop it from reaching the schools on mornings.

Let us look deeper. They say that Owen would call people in the middle of the night and cuss them. I feel that is bashment. Sometimes when you do something and want to legitimise it, you find that you allow other things to happen which fall into the same principle. So if you punish these other things it would mean that you would have to punish the very thing you are doing; so you do nothing.

I think it is a climate. For example, when Mr. Adams first introduced the PSV licences, it was with the idea that they should see it as a business and the licenses as an asset.

This gave owners a license to go out there and make money how they can; compete. So the minibus competed fiercely by creating a culture that would attract young impressionable souls and in the interim also the older population; they would follow.

How now can you seek to control that PSV culture, when you set them out there like vultures, issuing lots of licenses at exhorbitant rates to raise funds, but in the meantime flooding the sector so that men feel that they have to cut one another’s throats in order to make a dollar.

This is what allowed prevented them from being owner driven as was the first idea. Even though it said so on the license, some owners never even drove one and probably never had a hackney license.

So ZRs and minibusses became an investment which created jobs for a lot of youngsters that would ordinarily be among the “voluntary idle”. What further encouraged the culture was pulling Transport Board busses off the short routes.

Not only did this policy allow the ZRs to monopolies the routes, it cared nothing for the pensioners who would ordinarily use the Government busses, thereby short-changing the elderly and offering the general public no alternative to the ZR culture.

Let us now look at what the DLP has done. Just by a change in policy towards the provision of transportation, that culture is being put in its place. I wonder if I need say anymore…

One thing I would say that this is a measure of the substance of policies. The question to put when implementing a policy should be, will it achieve what is intended without adverse impacts.

32. The ‘Bashment’ culture is not only in Jamaica, Barbados, and other Islands, for this is just another variation of the abject, abased, ‘Immoral’ behaviour that’s ALL over the world; just look at ‘Girls gone Wild’ in the States, every country has its own version of the ‘sinful’ nature of mankind, and getting worst every day, a sign of the ‘Times’ we are living in.

The ‘rich’ are no better, only that they hide in their fancy homes in comfort, engaging in the same debased immorality, regardless of colour, as ‘SIN’ has NO colour, whereas, the poor people have to express theirs in other ways, ‘dub’ fetes and so on.

One cannot legislate morality, it has to come from surrender of ones heart, to the Lordship of Christ, who then gives us true ‘liberty’ and freedom. The choice is an individual one, person by person.

The utter corruption, greed, and selfishness of mankind, in one particular manifestation, is now being witnessed in ‘Wall Street’ not in anyway concerned for helping the poor.

As God states in His Word: “The heart is deceitful above all things, And desperately wicked; who can know it?” (Jer. 17:9).

Leave a Reply to BimbroCancel reply